City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Wait, so first we open the doors wide for these FTs to come, then we need to find ways to survive in our own country because of that. Then in the first place why are the doors even open for them? we as a country do not have natural resources after a certain time we need to move to other countries to invest including moving our locals as FT in their country if we close up then we can at the end chiak sai ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Can you quit using the word Sinkie? Is he FT? He keeps refering to us a sinkie leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 i think cannot say the FTs here have no talent . Like my work place where every worker has at least a bachelor degree, some doctorate, there are many foreigners who hold higher position than local singaporeans, and they earned it the hard way. some of them are malaysian and hongkongers, i hate to admit it but they are better than some locals, myself included. you cannot think that all FTs are road sweepers or table cleaners, there are different levels of working FTs. I think we need talent (local or foreign), to complement and/or enhance our competencies, that cannot be denied.. we also need labourers to do the jobs that locals shun, that cannot be denied.. what's wrong is, the screening process, assuming there is one, is to ensure that we are getting what we should be getting, rather than letting in every tom dick and harry. if there is a screening process, then it should be reviewed (which I think the govt is doing based on the most recent comments).. if there wasn't a screening process, then someone ought to be shot.. the easiest and lazy way out to meet the two goals of talent plus labourers above is to open the flood gates and expect the "free market" to even itself out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 By accepting all these FTs, we are helping all other countries solve their unemployment problems while allowing our own citizens go unemployed. this is not true according to the government we do not have enough brains even DBS have to source outside people for their CEO what about our Temasek finally they realise that it is not good having FTs running the two but they cannot see the ground because they are too busy trying to the economy in motion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 I think we need talent (local or foreign), to complement and/or enhance our competencies, that cannot be denied.. we also need labourers to do the jobs that locals shun, that cannot be denied.. what's wrong is, the screening process, assuming there is one, is to ensure that we are getting what we should be getting, rather than letting in every tom dick and harry. if there is a screening process, then it should be reviewed (which I think the govt is doing based on the most recent comments).. if there wasn't a screening process, then someone ought to be shot.. the easiest and lazy way out to meet the two goals of talent plus labourers above is to open the flood gates and expect the "free market" to even itself out it is true like my friend said if you stay in a rental 1 room and executive condo, the people scape changes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 we as a country do not have natural resources after a certain time we need to move to other countries to invest including moving our locals as FT in their country if we close up then we can at the end chiak sai I think nobody in their sane minds is asking for us to close up completely.. we cannot..we need to allow competition even in the labour market but I think what irks many of us is the ease of some "talents" sneaking in couple of months ago, it was reported that "Singaporeans" productivity has dropped..how true is that..a workforce bloated with "FTs" whose productivity has dropped cannot just be blamed on Singaporeans.. in real experience, I have seen "foreign talents" working in our manufacturing sectors just wasting time, doing tons of OT (they dun have other life outside) and generally producing little..that's where "our" productivity went Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 we as a country do not have natural resources after a certain time we need to move to other countries to invest including moving our locals as FT in their country if we close up then we can at the end chiak sai Ah i see. So we open our doors for them so that they will open their doors to us. So they come here as FT and we go there as FT. So everyone is FT, hahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Is he FT? He keeps refering to us a sinkie leh who knows every thread he enters, he is able to change it into a post about sinkies he is quite talented Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 The FT term has become blurred between the 2 Ts - Trash and Talent. To the gov, all foreigners belong to the later, even if they are just construction workers. So do we really need a talent to help us sweep the roads and wash toilets? Or just any trash will do? Foreigners doing a poly diploma here coming out work as a technician/assistant engineer, working on par together with our local graduates doing same job and fire fighting. Considered a talent also? They get employed because of cheap labour. And not forgetting, the employers need not pay the full CPF contributions in the 1st 2 years when they get their PRs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeshunda100 Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 u go to a countryclub, u flash ur membership card u can access to their only to member places. if u r not a member at best u can go to their toliet to pai liu oonly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 u go to a countryclub, u flash ur membership card u can access to their only to member places. if u r not a member at best u can go to their toliet to pai liu oonly sorry, it must be late in the day but...wa liak bo qui? catch no ball bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 I think nobody in their sane minds is asking for us to close up completely.. we cannot..we need to allow competition even in the labour market but I think what irks many of us is the ease of some "talents" sneaking in couple of months ago, it was reported that "Singaporeans" productivity has dropped..how true is that..a workforce bloated with "FTs" whose productivity has dropped cannot just be blamed on Singaporeans.. in real experience, I have seen "foreign talents" working in our manufacturing sectors just wasting time, doing tons of OT (they dun have other life outside) and generally producing little..that's where "our" productivity went Most will do OT during their 1st year to repay the loans paid to the agents for bringing them here. Nothing much they can contribute, just making their presence felt to claim the OTs. If their pay remains the same and the exchange rate of the Yuen drops, majority would be packing their bags and going back to the motherland. See how those PRCs pledge their loyality to their motherland even when they've got their PRs here. The value of our pledge no longer holds any significance. Pri/sec sch kids just recite it for the sake of being forced to recite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 with a bigger work force, you get a bigger economy pie. and which singaporean wants to work as a construction worker anyway ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 I have seen their OT pay is even more than their basic..2-3k is very possible per month I am talking about the 12-hr shift kind of work, work 4 days, rest 3 days.. typically, they will report for OT and rest one day but during work time itself, you can spot them "resting" away.. as one bro says, work is easy, money rolls in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Wait, so first we open the doors wide for these FTs to come, then we need to find ways to survive in our own country because of that. Then in the first place why are the doors even open for them? It is contridicting. Same in the past where we are encouraged to give birth to 1 or 2 child but now encourage give birth more or attract FT to become help us increase the population rate. Who to blame? the ppls or the time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 with a bigger work force, you get a bigger economy pie. and which singaporean wants to work as a construction worker anyway ? that I agree but sometimes I need to ask, where are our young singaporeans?? where are they working at? actually, it's an inter-related problem as well..as bro Tonyhawk has quite succinctly discussed in another thread..about education.. when you have a whole generation of dipl holders and uni grads, who will do your construction jobs..who will wipe the tables.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Talent? I dunno what they mean by talent till now. Is it better den sporean consider a talent? Imo the talent in spore is not consider really a talent coz real talent will not come here and work. We got nothing to offer them imo. For instance spore football, those ang moh is a talent to the FAS, what abt cristiano ronaldo, kaka, rooney, drogba? They muz be god liao if those ang moh in spore is talent. If we can import roandlo, kaka, rooney here to play in sleague, den its really call import of talent to improve spore sport. Too bad spore got nothing to offer to them. Same goes to the rest of the industry, real talent will not come here. Face the fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 It is contridicting. Same in the past where we are encouraged to give birth to 1 or 2 child but now encourage give birth more or attract FT to become help us increase the population rate. Who to blame? the ppls or the time? actually the decisions we make are not always so straight forward..not all are 100% wins..some will be adversely affected and some will not benefit.. as they say, hindsight is 100% foresight however, what would be appreciated would be our well-paid leaders and talents to step up, and correct what they perceive as wrong.. if there has been a mistake, correct it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...