Blackyv Turbocharged December 16, 2009 Author Share December 16, 2009 3 times, all 3 ties claim insurance?? nope, 1st time no give chance since it's a taxi ... (but the damage is damn chialat) 2nd time, very minor, didnt claim... after some massaging on bumper it looks ok.., i keep the $180 cash and didnt even send for repair since it's not obviuos.. 3rd time, thinking of settling it without claiming but after viewing it more in detail, quite chialat ..so, claiming since other party dont wanna pay that much........ i personally prefer settle in private and not feeding those blood sucker insurer and workshop...but....sometimes, really no choice.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 16, 2009 Author Share December 16, 2009 Try it a few times yourself Getting hit in the rear, even though u can claim $$ is extremely inconvenient. If can avoid, avoid. yalor... especially driving the loan car, quite stressful leh due to high excess (now $2500 already).. if park in carkpark and kena hit-n-run, damn sui... nothing beat driving own car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 16, 2009 Author Share December 16, 2009 Based on the 3 incident, I don't see how to fault you. As a driver, during sudden braking, our responsibility is not to hit the front car. How close the rear car is on our behind should not deter us from stopping in time not to hit the front car. We are 100% not at fault if we are the first car (not counting those anyhow brake) as per BOLA http://www.gia.org.sg/pdfs/Barometer%20of%...%20Jun%2008.pdf Of course if we have enough space, we should start braking early so that the rear car can have more time to react. But basically, IMHO, it is good to check the rear mirror when braking. It might be safer just to change lane if one huge trailer/truck is following us too fast too close The only thing I can think of is you didn't turn on your headlights during the 2 incidents when it rained i felt offended on that assumption!!!!>....!!!!!................ i HATE those kuku driver drive without headlight on... i dare to swear, so far, not even once i forgot to switch on my headlight at night..!!!... dont curse me hor...........i dont wanna break that record!!... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Time to change your car and insurance agent liao. 5 years ago, i changed my car insurance from AIA to NTUC and then within 6 months, my car kenna 3 times: 1. Car hit by a coach from the side -> 5 weeks in workshop and total change of parts of my car; 2. Car hit by lorry at the side when my car is stationary waiting to turn out from junction -> 1 weeks in workshop; 3. Car hit by big truck when it did reversing, my car was already off engine -> 1 weeks in workshop. Apart from 1, point 2 and 3 all are claimed. After the 3rd time kenna, i sold my car and change another one. till now, not a single accident yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 16, 2009 Author Share December 16, 2009 Time to change your car and insurance agent liao. 5 years ago, i changed my car insurance from AIA to NTUC and then within 6 months, my car kenna 3 times: 1. Car hit by a coach from the side -> 5 weeks in workshop and total change of parts of my car; 2. Car hit by lorry at the side when my car is stationary waiting to turn out from junction -> 1 weeks in workshop; 3. Car hit by big truck when it did reversing, my car was already off engine -> 1 weeks in workshop. Apart from 1, point 2 and 3 all are claimed. After the 3rd time kenna, i sold my car and change another one. till now, not a single accident yet. wah!!... ur previous car is a "large" magnet with huge stomach...coach...lorry....truck.... [sweatdrop] even the workshop boss told me this afternoon--> "i think this color not for u".... surprisingly, that's what my fs master told me 2 years ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhao2008 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 After unfortunate accident, i also thinking of changing car. I now dun mind the top-up value. still have 7yrs loan to go... Sian List of cars to consider - 2nd integra - kia koup - 2nd tuscani - rx8 - polo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 not meant to be offensive lah bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 Sometimes suay is suay. There was one year I kenna hit 3 times too. Lets see them pin this on me since the car was parked on all three occasions Can still pin on you. you dont know where to park huh or your parking not good?? (joking) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 call the other party insurance...ask them faster close the case....else any monetary and time lost....you will through lawyer send a letter and ask them to compensate...ask them for a cut off date... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 think came out in the papers before... some chap kena 3 or 4 accidents in a 12 months period then although not his fault, his insurance refuse to insure him... cause he is considered "high risk" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 I suggest you should review your driving style. Every car behave differently, you need to change your driving style to suit the handling of your car. Normally if kena bang behind too many times, it's because of these: 1) You follow too closely and could not gauge correctly between your car speed and braking speed. So when the car infront of you brake, you need to brake hard and that causes the car behind to also slam. 2) You didn't manage to anticipate hazard and space in front. Hazard could be a car that is about to stop because he suddenly switch into your lane and force to stop because he didn't have enough space. You ended up also braking behind him and that causes another car to slam behind you. 3) You brake hard too early even though there is a good length of distance between you and the car in front. However, the car behind knows that you still have some distance in front and didn't expect you to brake so early. (3) is a very common problem. For (2), it always happen in expressways. 1) If he can brake in time, he is not following too closely. 2) If can brake in time means that he had already anticipate the hazard and space leh so not his fault. 3) point 3 might seems like he is at fault but then again he is providing a safety distant aka buffer clearance aka defensive driving. The car behind should be focusing on stoping without banging into his car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NissanGTR35 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 i felt offended on that assumption!!!!>....!!!!!................ i HATE those kuku driver drive without headlight on... i dare to swear, so far, not even once i forgot to switch on my headlight at night..!!!... dont curse me hor...........i dont wanna break that record!!... S--t! I always forget to turn on headlights cause I didnt realise that the roads are dark. Singapore street lights are bright enough even if the head lights are not on. Need to say sorry to everyone if they are affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Author Share December 17, 2009 not meant to be offensive lah bro. joking lar bro.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Author Share December 17, 2009 ok, btw, can't believe one can be that suay.... my loan car is an altis and this morning realized the right wing mirror cover (just the cover) missing.... didnt know when it happen but im sure it was there when i collect the car... just realise it after i reach my work place... since i walked toward the car from rear this morning , not sure was it there or already gone yesterday or stolen in carpark.....anyway, i have to find a replacement asap..... any bro/sis know where to buy the cover and how much?...or anyone scrapping their car and dont mind to sell me that cover?... it's an altis, silver color and without signal light type.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 and just now, 7:14pm was drizzling and slow moving anyway on SLE toward tpe...maybe 40-50 and sometimes drop to 30.....around woodland area.... front car brake, then i brake and car behind didnt brake in time and kiss me............ how can that be my fault?... my kumho ku31 fault??........ Ooo, hows Ku31 in your opinion? Seems like a gd tire. Planning to get that as my next tire. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Author Share December 17, 2009 Ooo, hows Ku31 in your opinion? Seems like a gd tire. Planning to get that as my next tire. =) let's put it this way.. i've never loose a track with my driving style no matter how hard i step on the brake so far..... i will stay with it even for my next change......... and it's damn lasting...wear off very slow... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhao2008 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 TS, i think i'm better off, full set of bumpers, front n rear for xmas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Author Share December 17, 2009 TS, i think i'm better off, full set of bumpers, front n rear for xmas. i rather keep my old "component" for xmas and not involve in it.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...