Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Author Share December 20, 2009 FYI, I checked with the Axio forum, 4L of Toyota CVT oil(white can) is only S$50 from stockist. Change of CVT oil uses 4L and full flushing will require 8L. So when the lady quoted S$144 for the CVT oil, I got nothing much to say except I got nothing more to add. Sorry for the demoralising post but thatz what was conveyed to me over the phone by the lady from RV. that's why mr mong can afford to drive a lexus. by the way, his brake fluid DOT 3 is selling at $10 a bottle. greed is never ending. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 (edited) You're obviously unhappy about Riverview. Maybe they did something bad to you before. Whatever it is, it seems to be personal from your tone of posts and your replies. Maybe those of us who've serviced at Riverview before and are happy are indeed biased. Of course, when we're happy with something, we'll naturally give a good review. But YOUR bias seems to be far far more extreme, to the point that you intentionally started a thread under the guise of soliciting feedback about the workshop, then proceeding to dismiss all positive feedback and adding in your own negative opinions. "Don't believe everything you read on the internet" - right back at you mr picanto. Go settle your differences with Vincent like a man and quit hiding behind the computer poisoning the market while posing as a genuine discerning customer like a coward. Pui. Edit: People are doing a business, not a charity. The comment about him driving a lexus in the context of this thread and your previous comments stinks to high heaven of sour grapes. With all that negativity in you, it's a miracle you manage to sleep at night. Edited December 20, 2009 by Requiemdk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Author Share December 20, 2009 there is also negative feedback from adrianli. if you think RV is good, then go ahead and give them your business. its a free society. PUI...PUI...PUI..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 of course they will decide themselves, just curious whats your purpose of creating this thread. for your personal gains? bro dafansu, its me, tigershark frm VOGS... long time no see, last time meet u was donkey yrs back... btw, FYI, this picanto dun need to gain anything from his action, he is famous to stir things up. no point argue with this chap. He like to anyhow cannon here and there. search thru his post and u will know what i meant.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 2 yellow cards :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Author Share December 20, 2009 bro dafansu, its me, tigershark frm VOGS... long time no see, last time meet u was donkey yrs back... btw, FYI, this picanto dun need to gain anything from his action, he is famous to stir things up. no point argue with this chap. He like to anyhow cannon here and there. search thru his post and u will know what i meant.. i got substance one. i am not stopping anyone who is going RV. its you that create problems. everyone is entitled to his own opinions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 (edited) there is also negative feedback from adrianli. if you think RV is good, then go ahead and give them your business. its a free society. PUI...PUI...PUI..... So by all means, give your honest feedback and see how it stacks against the positive feedback from others. What you are doing is discounting the positive feedback as rubbish while trumpeting your own negative feedback. It's a free society, be free responsibly. Your actions and your hidden agenda speak very poorly of your own character. This is not a thread to solicit feedback but to further your own agenda of sliming a workshop that has considerable support and a few naysayers. And FYI, yes I am giving them my business thank you very much. One anecdote about the losers in our society: While making payment at RV once, their nets machine was spoilt and we had to pay by credit card. This customer there wasn't happy at all kept scolding the lady there, saying things like "my other car is a Jaguar and will never come to this place for servicing", "you'd better get the machine fixed otherwise my Honda also won't be serviced here" and "I will tell other people on the internet about the poor quality of your equipment here". Of all things, he had the cheek to look at me as if to seek my support for his pathetic case. The lady was kind enough to still try to make small talk with him and never showed any displeasure while he continued his barking until the moment he stepped out of the office. Money sure doesn't buy class. Edit: I see now what Genie was talking about. Sh!tlisted. People like this are a complete waste of bandwidth. Edited December 20, 2009 by Requiemdk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Author Share December 20, 2009 So by all means, give your honest feedback and see how it stacks against the positive feedback from others. What you are doing is discounting the positive feedback as rubbish while trumpeting your own negative feedback. It's a free society, be free responsibly. Your actions and your hidden agenda speak very poorly of your own character. This is not a thread to solicit feedback but to further your own agenda of sliming a workshop that has considerable support and a few naysayers. And FYI, yes I am giving them my business thank you very much. One anecdote about the losers in our society: While making payment at RV once, their nets machine was spoilt and we had to pay by credit card. This customer there wasn't happy at all kept scolding the lady there, saying things like "my other car is a Jaguar and will never come to this place for servicing", "you'd better get the machine fixed otherwise my Honda also won't be serviced here" and "I will tell other people on the internet about the poor quality of your equipment here". Of all things, he had the cheek to look at me as if to seek my support for his pathetic case. The lady was kind enough to still try to make small talk with him and never showed any displeasure while he continued his barking until the moment he stepped out of the office. Money sure doesn't buy class. let the people judge for themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 really shake head.. people provide positive feedback and experience about the workshop, then all the skeptical comments from forumers who have not visited them before... seriously, i support Vincent.. Those who are in VOGS will know.. likewise the old birds... =) Hmmm...Yeah, RV's good reputation started off with VOGS and other such smaller car forums. I remember 'cos I was a former Vogster as well! They used to be a more or less smalish business, with humble, warm and friendly people in the workshop. Now, they are almost like a corporation with a semi-monopoly of the entire 4th floor of the building!! Still respect them for providing the best service they can manage at the time lah! Was there last Friday to fix-up some problems with my cars' electronics and as usual, they were full! But shortly after, they managed to find me a slot at one of their satellite workshops who promptly did the re-wiring job at $30. IMO, this is still a reasonable price lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 Here is my unbias experience. I am neither supporter/customer or against Riverview. My car is due for 40K servicing and I am sourcing for a place to do my servicing. Since I heard so much abt Riverview, decided to give them a call to try. First, I called Vincent, since his name is mentioned so many times. He answered and apologised that he is driving and told me to call his workshop and speak to Manly. So I called the workshop and asked for Manly but the lady who answered my call said he was busy. I told her I would like to enquire on 40K servicing and she said she can help me. Before calling, I already checked their website and for my Toyota Axio, it should be S$280 w/o GST. The lady asked me what car, I said Toyota Axio. She replied S$300, I repeat again Toyota Axio is 1.5L. She repeat again S$300 w/o GST. Hur??? Why website and ur pricing different??? Dont want to argue with her. Then I asked her abt the CVT oil which is different from the standard. She checked and told me its S$144 w/o GST. Their standard oil is S$35 w/o GST so it will be S$300 - S$35 + S$144 = S$409 w/o GST. http://www.riverviewauto.com.sg/ServCompre.htm I called Hanip, everything in + the CVT oil is S$300 nett. NO GST at all. Went to Stamford, same thing, evrything in + the CVT oil is S$318 nett. I can only say, I will not be going to Riverview for my 40K servicing. My own Thomson Caltex workshop offer me S$100+, all filter + fluid I BYO. Had similar but mine was after servicing done then realise different price. Sent my bro's car there for change of timing belt and asked to quote nett price which means include gst. Was told XXX amount. Requested them to contact me first before doing anything should there be any additional charges. Did not receive any call except to inform me car is ready. Upon collection, was told there is another $60-80 for some parts which was not included in the earlier quote. LL pay the money out of my own pocket as I had already told my bro the earlier quote. That was the last time I went RV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 With so many customers, RV must have provided bad experiences, albiet unintentionally, to a few good men. However, the general consensus looks to be positive about this workshop. Hence the rise in their busines and I must say if the boss drives a lexus, he damn well deserves it! With such good business, I'm sure he could afford something much more expensive. Driving a lexus would be considered a form of humility on his part! Anyway, I've bought my own engine oil and am looking for a workshop to do a good servicing on my car. Does RV allow this sorta thing? And roughly how much will it cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 how many mL, this bottle of brake fluid u're talking abt? that's why mr mong can afford to drive a lexus. by the way, his brake fluid DOT 3 is selling at $10 a bottle. greed is never ending. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 (edited) Yes, RV allows you to BYO materials for servicing, but as I had mentioned earlier, do expect to pay some 'corkage' charges when you're there (roughly $15 - 20 more if you hadn't BYO - may or may not increase, depending on the quantity of item u brought along). When I brought my own brake pads to be changed, I was charged $65 for the labor (brake fluid bleeding + tyre rotation). Was satisfied with the job as the mech took my car for a test drive after that and discovered one side of the new pads was bua-ing the rotor and creating an eee noise when brakes were applied. What spoilt the experience was that the mech speculated that the pads were chiong ones and made of inferior materials, that's why it was like that after installation. Recommended action was to skim the rotors ($90), but it was up to me to decide. Felt a little pressured, but I felt it was unnecessary becos it was the first set of brake pads being changed and it was too early for the rotors to require skimming. In the end, the mech jacked up the car, took out the brake pad in question, sand-papered it a bit and re-installed it. Problem solved, no more noise. Went home and did the proper bedding in of brake pads myself and the noise didn't recur. Maybe I am too sensitive, but I don't like it when you're accused of buying chiong-ed stuff. The mech assumed that before trying to solve the issue. Although the issue was solved eventually, it left a bad taste in my mouth. FYI, the brake pads were OEM Nissin, bought from Min Ghee stockist. With so many customers, RV must have provided bad experiences, albiet unintentionally, to a few good men. However, the general consensus looks to be positive about this workshop. Hence the rise in their busines and I must say if the boss drives a lexus, he damn well deserves it! With such good business, I'm sure he could afford something much more expensive. Driving a lexus would be considered a form of humility on his part! Anyway, I've bought my own engine oil and am looking for a workshop to do a good servicing on my car. Does RV allow this sorta thing? And roughly how much will it cost? Edited December 20, 2009 by Mits_jc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Author Share December 20, 2009 how many mL, this bottle of brake fluid u're talking abt? it 354 ml per bottle. i know they got to earn so i will not say its worth it or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Author Share December 20, 2009 With so many customers, RV must have provided bad experiences, albiet unintentionally, to a few good men. However, the general consensus looks to be positive about this workshop. Hence the rise in their busines and I must say if the boss drives a lexus, he damn well deserves it! With such good business, I'm sure he could afford something much more expensive. Driving a lexus would be considered a form of humility on his part! Anyway, I've bought my own engine oil and am looking for a workshop to do a good servicing on my car. Does RV allow this sorta thing? And roughly how much will it cost? if you are the BYO type, then i feel you should not go RV. (reason already stated by another forumer) if you are not the BYO type, maybe can consider RV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 Thanks for the info and feeback! Don't mind paying the corkage charge as it's only fair. As for their "choing" remark, blame it on their lack of "soft skill" training! Afterall, how many mechs have a "people/customer oriented" nature? In fact, they have to be "task oriented" in order to be pros at what they do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff49er Clutched December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 I have gone to RV a few times - had a major 40k km servicing for my old Altis and a month back on my current ride. Vincent dispenses good and prof service and is very knowledgeble about car maintenance; very importantly he wouldnt recommend things that cost you extra $. For eg when I had my altis he advised me not to spend unnecessary $ on grounding as new and modern cars are equiped but earthing is more useful for older cars. He used to sell crank pulley but no more for a very good reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 if you are the BYO type, then i feel you should not go RV. (reason already stated by another forumer) if you are not the BYO type, maybe can consider RV. Hmmm...actually you may be right. I've already bought my own engine oil and if RVs labour charges are high (besides thier $15 - $20 corkage charge)because of the BYO, then perhaps it may be prudent to look elsewhere. I'm not that rich so if can save, might as well save lor... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...