RIVERVIEW

Picanto

Based on my personal experience, I have to agree that Vincent gives honest advice and is not the sort that will ask you to part with ur money on stuffs that he feels is unnecessary.

I have gone to RV a few times - had a major 40k km servicing for my old Altis and a month back on my current ride.

Vincent dispenses good and prof service and is very knowledgeble about car maintenance; very importantly he wouldnt recommend things that cost you extra $. For eg when I had my altis he advised me not to spend unnecessary $ on grounding as new and modern cars are equiped but earthing is more useful for older cars.

He used to sell crank pulley but no more for a very good reason.

You can consider and even try RV and then give your feedback after you've done so. In case you're swayed by the negative remarks here and the RV supporters come in and flame people who are "taking away" RV's business.

Hmmm...actually you may be right. I've already bought my own engine oil and if RVs labour charges are high (besides thier $15 - $20 corkage charge)because of the BYO, then perhaps it may be prudent to look elsewhere. I'm not that rich so if can save, might as well save lor...

I have gone to RV a few times - had a major 40k km servicing for my old Altis and a month back on my current ride.

Vincent dispenses good and prof service and is very knowledgeble about car maintenance; very importantly he wouldnt recommend things that cost you extra $. For eg when I had my altis he advised me not to spend unnecessary $ on grounding as new and modern cars are equiped but earthing is more useful for older cars.

maybe sales of crank pulley not that good or the profit margin not high?

Hmmm...actually you may be right. I've already bought my own engine oil and if RVs labour charges are high (besides thier $15 - $20 corkage charge)because of the BYO, then perhaps it may be prudent to look elsewhere. I'm not that rich so if can save, might as well save lor...

yea, might as well use that $15-$20 to pump petrol. moreover i am sure there are WS that do not charge corkage fee.

rather, the structural failure of the alutec crank pulley, as what one here has experienced...

maybe sales of crank pulley not that good or the profit margin not high?

You can consider and even try RV and then give your feedback after you've done so. In case you're swayed by the negative remarks here and the RV supporters come in and flame people who are "taking away" RV's business.

Haha! Don't worry lah, I've been there as described in an earlier post, and found their service to be quite good given that they were extremely busy at the time. I was just thinking, since I've already purchased the engine oil, if I can get a reasonably good service done elsewhere for less, why not?

i got substance one. i am not stopping anyone who is going RV. its you that create problems. everyone is entitled to his own opinions.

Hi Picanto,

Since you said you have got substance, then you should come down to see me about your unhappiness so that i can help you to release off the frustration as it is really unkind of you to insinuate in certain of your threads that i am an unscrupulous businessman. This antics of yours must come to an end or you will look ridiculous among the forumers. I am not going to engage you over here as it will not help to solve anything at all. All i did was to turn your business away as it is not viable to us and i am sure it is no crime on my part. You cannot arm twist me with your proposition if i do not agree to the transaction. You should stop behaving like a child. Do see me as i believe in solving problem face to face. Cheers and hope to see you soon!

Mong

Hi Picanto,

Since you said you have got substance, then you should come down to see me about your unhappiness so that i can help you to release off the frustration as it is really unkind of you to insinuate in certain of your threads that i am an unscrupulous businessman. This antics of yours must come to an end or you will look ridiculous among the forumers. I am not going to engage you over here as it will not help to solve anything at all. All i did was to turn your business away as it is not viable to us and i am sure it is no crime on my part. You cannot arm twist me with your proposition if i do not agree to the transaction. You should stop behaving like a child. Do see me as i believe in solving problem face to face. Cheers and hope to see you soon!

Mong

Mong

let the forumers decide for themselves. i am not here to say bad things about RV. if your service is good, then you will cotinue with your good business. only one or 2 forumers gave "not so good" feedbacks which i think if you take the time to read through, can help RV improve further.

cheers [wave]

Edited by Picanto

there is also negative feedback from adrianli. if you think RV is good, then go ahead and give them your business. its a free society.

PUI...PUI...PUI.....

Sorry hor, I dont wana be associated with u. Please do not mention my name.

I am just relating my experience when making my own enquiry on Fri, 18th Dec 2009. I have nothing against RV.

Mong

let the forumers decide for themselves. i am not here to say bad things about RV. if your service is good, then you will cotinue with your good business. only one or 2 forumers gave "not so good" feedbacks which i think if you take the time to read through, can help RV improve further.

cheers [wave]

My Dear Picanto,

You had been saying bad things about RV and even attacking me personally and now you are telling everyone thru this post that you are not here to say bad things about RV. Are you taking all of us as fools? Young man, you are treading on dangerous ground. Better grow up and wise up. You cannot be that lucky always. As i said earlier on, come see me to ease all the lousy feeling you have about RV and me and i will prove to you i am not as unreasonable as you are. I am waiting patiently for your appearance.

Mong

bro dafansu, its me, tigershark frm VOGS... long time no see, last time meet u was donkey yrs back...

btw, FYI, this picanto dun need to gain anything from his action, he is famous to stir things up. no point argue with this chap. He like to anyhow cannon here and there. search thru his post and u will know what i meant..

tigershark, you remember me or not? I am weixiang_06, the rather infamous one in mycarforum... hahah.. i used to be in VOGS till our old webhosting server got problem... ^^ i am a supporter of RV too...

my pattern very simple one, if something is good, i will support one..

tigershark, you remember me or not? I am weixiang_06, the rather infamous one in mycarforum... hahah.. i used to be in VOGS till our old webhosting server got problem... ^^ i am a supporter of RV too...

my pattern very simple one, if something is good, i will support one..

alot of regulars here :D[cool]

Yes, RV allows you to BYO materials for servicing, but as I had mentioned earlier, do expect to pay some 'corkage' charges when you're there (roughly $15 - 20 more if you hadn't BYO - may or may not increase, depending on the quantity of item u brought along).

When I brought my own brake pads to be changed, I was charged $65 for the labor (brake fluid bleeding + tyre rotation). Was satisfied with the job as the mech took my car for a test drive after that and discovered one side of the new pads was bua-ing the rotor and creating an eee noise when brakes were applied.

What spoilt the experience was that the mech speculated that the pads were chiong ones and made of inferior materials, that's why it was like that after installation. Recommended action was to skim the rotors ($90), but it was up to me to decide. Felt a little pressured, but I felt it was unnecessary becos it was the first set of brake pads being changed and it was too early for the rotors to require skimming.

In the end, the mech jacked up the car, took out the brake pad in question, sand-papered it a bit and re-installed it. Problem solved, no more noise. Went home and did the proper bedding in of brake pads myself and the noise didn't recur.

Maybe I am too sensitive, but I don't like it when you're accused of buying chiong-ed stuff. The mech assumed that before trying to solve the issue. Although the issue was solved eventually, it left a bad taste in my mouth.

FYI, the brake pads were OEM Nissin, bought from Min Ghee stockist.

well, you can't blame them for that... as in i am sure they might come across many other owners who might have bought chionged ones... perhaps the mech was too quick to judge ^^ overview, its still a nice place.

Thanks for the info and feeback! [thumbsup] Don't mind paying the corkage charge as it's only fair. As for their "choing" remark, blame it on their lack of "soft skill" training! Afterall, how many mechs have a "people/customer oriented" nature? In fact, they have to be "task oriented" in order to be pros at what they do [nod]

correct, that's why their mechs are good at technical aspects... as in that's what they are trained for, isn't it. ^^ as in you dun really come across that many mechanics that can double up as customer service? i would rather want them to be professionals at what they are doing...

but actually, i have spoken to quite a number of their mechanics before.. as in very experienced ones, to the less experienced ones.. they are all very nice and easy going when you take time to speak to them.. ^^ of coz, i really go down to their level

Edited by Ivan_06

Haha... he said that to me also, I am a die hard fan of his.. Weixiang_06 here... ^^

Edited by Ivan_06

My Dear Picanto,

You had been saying bad things about RV and even attacking me personally and now you are telling everyone thru this post that you are not here to say bad things about RV. Are you taking all of us as fools? Young man, you are treading on dangerous ground. Better grow up and wise up. You cannot be that lucky always. As i said earlier on, come see me to ease all the lousy feeling you have about RV and me and i will prove to you i am not as unreasonable as you are. I am waiting patiently for your appearance.

Mong

Dun worry Vincent, all of us who have been your regulars know and likewise the rest will be able to understand. ^^ Think Picanto is most likely to be a computer hero.. ^^

correct, that's why their mechs are good at technical aspects... as in that's what they are trained for, isn't it. ^^ as in you dun really come across that many mechanics that can double up as customer service? i would rather want them to be professionals at what they are doing...

but actually, i have spoken to quite a number of their mechanics before.. as in very experienced ones, to the less experienced ones.. they are all very nice and easy going when you take time to speak to them.. ^^ of coz, i really go down to their level

Hahaha! But don't say "down" to their level lar bro :ph34r: ! [laugh] If me, to be able to even speak with them at their level is like a level "up" for me liao loh! I know nothing about mechanical stuff...

errr. that's how i try to learn about the mechanical stuff.. lol ^^... seeing vincent's reply.. geez.. i see the gist of the whole thing.. seems like some bad blood from that of Picanto..