S7834g Clutched December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Mileage driven road tax Traffic jams are infuriating wherever you are, but in the Netherlands, they are the source of particular angst. Not only is the densely populated country home to Europe's most congested metropolitan region ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Hopefully, our government won't get hold of this article. But with the growing earth pupulation, its only a matter of time Europeans countries become like Singapore, when the main mode of transport are public buses & trains, & most people lived in Apartments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikethm Clutched December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 This is so much fairer than our pro business policies. I doubt that the PAP will replace the current COE+Engine capacity based Road Tax+ERP with a milage based tax which is fairer. Such a policy will impact adversely on the interest groups which dominate the PAP. Ministers and MPs are often leaders of business entities which chalk up huge milage and doing away with a system where others pay a bigger chunk of the vehicle tax would be unthinkable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 (edited) This is an old idea, and it has been proposed here (I'm sure it's been mentioned on this site as well, I remember making a post about it). And don't think the gahmen doesn't know this. *IF* they decide to do away with all the other consumption taxes e.g. road tax, petrol taxes and ERP, and maybe even the purchase taxes (import taxes and COE), and decide to charge solely by usage, then I'm all for it. I'll buy a Ferrari and use it only for trackdays and take BMW (bus, MRT, walk) the rest of the time. Of course, the gahmen will want to have their cake and eat it too, which means this GPS-based tax will be additive to all the existing taxes, not a replacement. In that case, no thanks. Edited December 24, 2009 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Before you even read this news, our gov would probably gotten news of it long long time ago. I believe this Mileage driven Road Tax thingy is already under the plannings of LT@. It is rumoured that LT@ is evaluating this system already. More "good times" to come..... P@P boleh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 i support their effort becos "All the revenue will go toward improving road and rail infrastructure." whereas in sinkie, it goes to everywhere except towards the improvement of ordinary sinkies and drivers. however, we have to ask the purpose of the charges. if to ease congestion, then size of engine does not matter. it is purely the time and place of travel, which erp is good but still does not solve anything becos the revenue did not go toward improving road and rail infrastructure. if it is to curb emission, then size of engine also does not matter. it should be based on amount of emission. if it is purely about being green, then heck, ban engine cars and introduce back horse carriages. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woonyang Clutched December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Before you even read this news, our gov would probably gotten news of it long long time ago. I believe this Mileage driven Road Tax thingy is already under the plannings of LT@. It is rumoured that LT@ is evaluating this system already. More "good times" to come..... P@P boleh! yes probably in the pipeline. they don't need to google to think of this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Amsterdam has designated lanes/paths for cyclists... we have nothing here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Amsterdam has designated lanes/paths for cyclists... we have nothing here. We have dedicated bus lane.... What's more to make it worst, even with their dedicated bus lanes, buses still eat into second lane thus causing more congestion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 From my perspective, this is the total opposite to the ERP. ERP discourages you to take the most popular routes to ease congestion on those roads, which presumably would get you there the fastest by time and distance and hence are most popular. The Dutch system encourages you to take the shortest and therefore presumably most popular routes so as to keep the mileage driven road tax to the minimum. There are 2 possible outcomes: - The shortest routes becomes the most congested; - People who try to avoid such congestion by going by longer routes get penalized. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 (edited) Holland has a nice weather to ride a bicyle. Here, even walking will cause you to sweat and perspire like a pig. Edited December 24, 2009 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 This is an old idea, and it has been proposed here (I'm sure it's been mentioned on this site as well, I remember making a post about it). And don't think the gahmen doesn't know this. *IF* they decide to do away with all the other consumption taxes e.g. road tax, petrol taxes and ERP, and maybe even the purchase taxes (import taxes and COE), and decide to charge solely by usage, then I'm all for it. I'll buy a Ferrari and use it only for trackdays and take BMW (bus, MRT, walk) the rest of the time. Of course, the gahmen will want to have their cake and eat it too, which means this GPS-based tax will be additive to all the existing taxes, not a replacement. In that case, no thanks. You are right. You did mention in before Anyway Good news is that they're planning to abolish road tax. Bad news is that they plan to extend the OPC like system to all cars here. They'll be combining it with an ERP system in which we're taxed further if we go to certain areas. Once this happens, no more red plates and no more normal cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 This morning I drove to Orchard via CTE during ERP timings. The traffic was heavy but I was making good progress - 30 to 40 km/h most of the time without getting stuck much. I can only remember coming to a complete halt for about 2 seconds once, but otherwise still able to move. Even for KPE which I used everyday when going to work, when ERP is in operation the traffic was heavy, but still bearable. At least I can filter out to ECP (City) direction easily enough. It's normally time that is just before ERP start that's more congested because everybody want to beat the system. So frankly I can't say ERP doesn't work at all, and I also do not hate ERP that much. Now putting on flame proof suit.... (No... I'm not pro P@P either) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 I would hate it. Geniune lovers of driving would suffer because of this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Holland has a nice weather to ride a bicyle. Here, even walking will cause you to sweat and perspire like a pig. The Netherlands has an average max summer temperature of 20 deg Celsius. Thats summer! Go figure. Talk about the dutch, maybe its go to show this clip. Just when you thought girls in bikini is the last thing you see on a freezing winter day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 I would hate it. Geniune lovers of driving would suffer because of this. Not really, if they did it properly, genuine lovers of motoring should rejoice. Just imagine being able to immediately afford the exotic of your dreams and driving it every alternate weekend up North for a no-holds-barred trackday. Convoy with your MCF/SGTrackies/Tractionclub khakis for safety. Good times, man. But, no, they won't do it properly, in all likelihood. And car ownership (the basic cost of having a car sitting in your driveway 24/7) will still remain exorbitant, and this usage tax will only be an additional burden. This would be a lose-lose for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 You are right. You did mention in before Nice to have a stalker. Just kidding, I'm flattered that you bother to remember all the rubbish I post here. Anyway Good news is that they're planning to abolish road tax. Bad news is that they plan to extend the OPC like system to all cars here. They'll be combining it with an ERP system in which we're taxed further if we go to certain areas. Once this happens, no more red plates and no more normal cars. If they make the basic car ownership cost equivalent to what current OPC owners enjoy, then it's still not enough to let me realise my dream. They really should do more to lower basic car ownership cost (and consequently, tax more for usage). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 One Euro = S$2. 6.7 euro cents per kilometer = S$0.134 per kilometer. Each year we travel average 25,000km. So the tax will be S$3350. Not expensive in Singapore context what! "euro cents per kilometer in 2012, with the tax going up every year until 2018, when it is expected to top out at an average of 6.7 cents per kilometer" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...