Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

I need to convert.

Fasting blood glucose: 99mg/dL -- high end of normal (75-99)

Triglycerides: 60mg/dL -- pretty good, sign of low carb eating

HDL ("good" cholesterol): 43mg/dL -- low, double this would be good how to double it ??

LDL ("bad" cholesterol):169mg/dL -- high defined by western medicine, irrelevant to me unless it is measured directly and separated into specific LDL particle sizes. - how do i control it lower ?

Triglycerides/HDL: 1.39 -- good, anything below 2 is good, the lower the less risk of atherosclerosis. Strive to get it down to 0.5 or less. - How to lower it ?

I'm no doc. But I would not touch a statin drug (the medicine that your doc wants to put you on). It has never been proven to do anything for women, and the side effects are potentially horrific.

Crystal,

This high fat diet will increase both LDL and HDL. So, overtime your HDL will increase (hopefully), but so will your LDL. Your Trigly numbers already reflects the positive effects of a low carb diet. The problem with the doctors is that they will focus on the LDL numbers and total Cholesterol numbers. So, they will tell you that your LDL is too high as the current lipid test in Singapore does not distinguish between big particle LDL (which is good) from small particle LDL (which is bad).

So, I think you will need to accept the fact that once you adopt this high fat diet, you will be taking a path away from the mainstream. That's why the advice to focus on Trigly/HDL numbers, which unfortunately is not adopted in the mainstream medicine. So, in short, you will have to ignore your doctor's advice! Caveat is that this may cause problems for you if you had to go for a medical check up for life insurance and employment purposes.

Things you could do to improve HDL is to increase your level of exercise; eat more nuts (almonds, macadamia, walnut), fish oil, etc. Search the net, there is plenty of advice on this. Once your HDL increases, the Trig/HDL ratio will automatically be lower.

Go through the thread Crystal. Everything you asked and even why has been addressed many many times in the thread already.

If you can't let go of your reliance on western trained medical doctors, there is no choice but to listen to them and eat a low fat high carb diet, take drugs for the rest of your life and remain fat and sick.

If you are brave and step away from the mainstream, good health is much easier to attain.

How to raise HDL? Eat as little carbs as possible and more fat.

How to achieve a better triglyceride to HDL ratio? Eat as little fat as possible and more fat.

Cholesterol is just cholesterol. It isca transport mechanism. When your body senses you're not eating enough, it produces more. When there is enough, it makes less.

So, think logically. Blaming cholesterol for anything is just plain stupidity. Your body is not dumb. Every minute of the day, it is doing things that keep you alive and well.

Everytime you see a fire, you see firemen. Then you blame firemen for causing the fire, and you kill every fireman you see. That is what doctors are trained to do.

I know it is very difficult to step away from the view that doctors don't always know the right thing. I myself was the biggest skeptic. When my friend whom I haven't seen in years told me how he lost 50kg (by eating 75% fat), I honestly thought he was pulling my leg. It took him a whole 10 mins to convince me he wasn't joking.

The greatest thing you can do is empower yourself with knowledge. If you go through the thread, you will realize a lot of people come and go. Only a few stay and those who stay have some things in common:

1) they make the effort to read and educate themselves. I don't need to convince them because the evidence is plain and simple to see

2) they are successful because they are empowered by knowledge. Just like the knowledge of gravity prevents you from jumpn off the 12th floor, th knowledge of basic human biochemistry prevents you from eating and movin wrongly

So empower yourself with the knowledge so that you don't ever have to wonder why you're doing this. That is what I did, that is what skunk did, that is what Xtrocious did, that's what MO did, that's what topgun did, that is what triproton did...and many more.

The knowledge is all right here in these 200+ pages...

I think you meant to say "another way to increase fat intake", haha.

Yup, coconut oil is expensive. Used to buy it at NTUC Finest, but they stopped carrying it. It was $30+ for a small bottle. These days, I just eat fresh coconut and coconut cream.

Hi bro CBS

As i was reading the thread again , i read abt this coconut oil , btw is the smell strong ? can tahan?

Coz i thought of buying from here :

http://www.iherb.com/Now-Foods-Virgin-Coco...91-ml/7090?at=0

Hi bro CBS

As i was reading the thread again , i read abt this coconut oil , btw is the smell strong ? can tahan?

Coz i thought of buying from here :

http://www.iherb.com/Now-Foods-Virgin-Coco...91-ml/7090?at=0

The brand that you can find at Cold Storage and NTUC is called Country Farm Organics Virgin Coconut Oil. It has a strong coconut flavour.

I have not tried other brands, but apparently you can buy the very refined ones that are odourless.

Dunno about those you have posted as I have not tried them.

The brand that you can find at Cold Storage and NTUC is called Country Farm Organics Virgin Coconut Oil. It has a strong coconut flavour.

I have not tried other brands, but apparently you can buy the very refined ones that are odourless.

Dunno about those you have posted as I have not tried them.

Call me paranoid, but I'm afraid of anything that has the word 'refined' in them. Any process that changes it's original natural state cannot be 'too good' in my mind.

Having the smell removed or taste changed, extending 'freshness', have longer shell life, etc...

Hmmm... [confused][scholar]

You lst life abu neh neh, lom cham pass. [laugh] [laugh]

Yup. That's the right approach.

If really cannot tahan the smell, I'd rather not eat it than to buy a version that has the smell removed.

Luckily, I looooove the smell!

Eyh, how, tried it yet? If you did, I gather you made it thru. Not yet, then what you waiting for? :D :D

Call me paranoid, but I'm afraid of anything that has the word 'refined' in them. Any process that changes it's original natural state cannot be 'too good' in my mind.

Having the smell removed or taste changed, extending 'freshness', have longer shell life, etc...

Hmmm... [confused][scholar]

No kuah for me, my favorite that I would make for family and friends was the

Ondeh ondeh, fresh right out of teh pot and into the arms of fresh grated white coconut. *Ahhhhhhh....sedap*

Lopez, pulut inti, and kuah talam. Wah.....so long never make all these kuah kuah man.

Think one fine day got to do and teach my kids, the women now all cannot cook to save their bras and panties! [laugh] [laugh]

no lah, no urge to rush out to makan either, numb already. I'd love to cook traditional Mee Rubus and Nonya Dry Mee Siam,

been so long since I did just that. Narr.....save the energy cooking my dinner.

Shiok man the smell.

Reminds me of nonya kueh...

*ahem,ahem* you NONYA ah? Saya baba ah? [laugh] Trade recipes leh? [laugh] [laugh]

Kidding lah.

Of course. My mom is expert at making nonya kueh. Almost everything has coconut in it, except maybe the cakes. But the kuehs confirm got coconut.

*ahem,ahem* you NONYA ah? Saya baba ah? [laugh] Trade recipes leh? [laugh] [laugh]

Kidding lah.

Of course. My mom is expert at making nonya kueh. Almost everything has coconut in it, except maybe the cakes. But the kuehs confirm got coconut.