Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/you/articl...w-way-life.html

Found this article very interesting. While this thread is about diet and losing weight to reduce the risk of heart disease, diabetese, ect , we shouldn't forget that the number 1 killer is still cancer.

It is interesting that the article supports the view that sugar feeds cancer cells. On the other hand, it is clear that not all carbs are bad; especially from certain fruits and vegetables. Seems that wholewheat bread and pasta has anti cancer properties. There is a list of food which may cause and prevent cancer, which I reproduce below:

Inflammation aggravators (which can lead to cancer)

Traditional Western diet

White bread and pasta

Red meat, raised industrially

Oils rich in omega-6 fatty acids (corn, sunflower, safflower, soy)

Dairy products from industrially raised livestock (especially full fat)

Eggs from industrial farming hens fed corn and soy beans)

Unmanaged stress, anger and depression

Less than 20 minutes of physical activity a day

Cigarette smoke, atmospheric pollution, domestic pollutants

Inflammation reducers

Mediterranean, Indian and Asian cuisine

Wholewheat bread and pasta

Organic meat from animals fed on grass or with flaxmeal, eaten at most three times a week

Olive oil

Dairy products mainly from animals fed on grass

Eggs of hens raised in a natural environment or fed flaxmeal

Laughter, lightheartedness, serenity

A 50-minute walk three times a week or 30 minutes six times a week

Clean environment

There is also a list of anti cancer superfoods, which are mainly green tea, certain vegs and fruits. Stress and the environment seems to play a major role also.

Sorry I can't reproduce the article here as it has lots of formatting and images. Worth a read from an author who is a medical doctor but used to believe in symptomatic treatment of diseases with medicine until he got stricken by cancer himself and is now advocating a more holistic form of cancer prevention and cure.

For yoghurt lovers, I came across the only yoghurt in Singapore that's made with WHOLE, full fat milk today.

It's at Carrefour. Under their own brand, they have 2 types. One made from whole milk and one made from skim milk.

The green colored tub is the one that's made from whole milk.

While you're there, grab some of their house brand canned sardines in extra virgin olive oil (green colour). They're cheap (2 for $4+) and the quality is significantly higher than the Ayam Brand ones found at Cold Storage. The ang moh fish is bigger and fresher and the olive oil they use definitely tastes better. Ayam Brand ones are smaller and very dry in comparison.

Edited by Chickenbackside

Bro, are those CBS? Where do you buy them? Yum yum [nosebleed]

Yes...those r cbs, marinated with a little curry power, salt, pepper.

FairPrice lor...got the leads from MO...hehehe.

How's the taste of Carrefour's full fat yoghurt(similar to geek style)?

For yoghurt lovers, I came across the only yoghurt in Singapore that's made with WHOLE, full fat milk today.

It's at Carrefour. Under their own brand, they have 2 types. One made from whole milk and one made from skim milk.

Yes...those r cbs, marinated with a little curry power, salt, pepper.

FairPrice lor...got the leads from MO...hehehe.

Do you have a special way of cleaning the CBS? Got bones wan right?

Or just wash, season and cook........... wonder if it taste like the japanese type of BBQ backside at Shin.

Slit from the bottom in half, remove all bones...i also remove the yellow oil gland cos i dun like the taste of it.

Do you have a special way of cleaning the CBS? Got bones wan right?

Or just wash, season and cook........... wonder if it taste like the japanese type of BBQ backside at Shin.

How's the taste of Carrefour's full fat yoghurt(similar to geek style)?

Compared with Farmers Union Greek Yoghurt, it tastes a lot less sour and a whole lot more fragrant, as you would expect with all the fat intact. You can't eat as much of it compared with the Farmers Union stuff. 1 bowl is pretty filling due to the full fat content.

However, the texture is pretty lumpy. Doesn't bother me, but might be a problem for some.

Overall, its much more enjoyable to me.

Compared with Farmers Union Greek Yoghurt, it tastes a lot less sour and a whole lot more fragrant, as you would expect with all the fat intact. You can't eat as much of it compared with the Farmers Union stuff. 1 bowl is pretty filling due to the full fat content.

However, the texture is pretty lumpy. Doesn't bother me, but might be a problem for some.

Overall, its much more enjoyable to me.

Higher fat content than Greek yoghurt?

Had lots of roasted pork belly and fried pig knuckles for lunch and dinner + some lettuces. Yum yum filled to the brim now, munching some macadamias while typing this [laugh]

On the topic of yogurts, went to cold storage recently to find some good ones. Yeah noticed this farmers union greek style but i checked the contents label there's considerable carbs + sugar so decided to hold back in buying first. Is that okay? Also saw this brand call FAGE or something like that iirc, also greek style but no mention of carbs and sugars in the label. Hmm reckon?

The brand that you can find at Cold Storage and NTUC is called Country Farm Organics Virgin Coconut Oil. It has a strong coconut flavour.

I have not tried other brands, but apparently you can buy the very refined ones that are odourless.

Dunno about those you have posted as I have not tried them.

My usual online US supplements store has it...

http://www.vitacost.com/NSI-Extra-Virgin-C...ut-Oil-54-fl-oz

It's selling at US$19.99 for 54 fl oz

Looks cheap but the postage to SG is US$20 alone [:(]

While you're there, grab some of their house brand canned sardines in extra virgin olive oil (green colour). They're cheap (2 for $4+) and the quality is significantly higher than the Ayam Brand ones found at Cold Storage. The ang moh fish is bigger and fresher and the olive oil they use definitely tastes better. Ayam Brand ones are smaller and very dry in comparison.

Hmm...didn't pay attention to their house brand when I was there a couple of weeks ago

Just loaded up on the usual Greek Yoghurt

Will take a closer look the next time