Triproton Neutral Newbie October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 wow , thats gd ! i really envy her , i dunknow why my weight didnt drop after e last 2 kgs only. i cant really tell i lose weight in inches or not too ..... coz my clothing still fits ,maybe a slight lose only .... my progress is too slow liao ..... Crystal, Everyone's body is different and react differently to food, etc. But, losing 2kgs over a couple of months is pretty slow on a low carb diet. Usually, people will lose about 1-2kg almost immediately after a low carb diet as the body retains less water. For, me, my weight can vary up to +-2kg depending on water retention, especially after and before exercise. Do you do any exercise? You may need to boost up your metabolism, especially the fat metabolism. In my own experience, I lost the most weight just doing cardio (>15kg). Maybe you like to try to increase your exercise levels and see whether it makes any difference to your weight loss. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 yes, genetics play a part....my whole family is very lean except me...probably from a damaged metabolism from alcohol n psychotropic medication...but luckily i reversed it with this diet hehe. Nope, he's still very lean, still got 6 packs....but then he's still very young...and also he (and other members of my family) has a very very small appetite....eats like a bird, and is very picky about food....this don't eat, that don't eat....per meal, he eats an average of a fistful of food only LOL....how to be fat like that? anyway, that fish was caught in Darwin, Australia, at a place called Channel Island....can't tell from the photo, but fishing there was hell...we were constantly bombarded by tiny red-coloured flies that i've never ever seen before in Asia.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Do you do any exercise? You may need to boost up your metabolism, especially the fat metabolism. In my own experience, I lost the most weight just doing cardio (>15kg). Maybe you like to try to increase your exercise levels and see whether it makes any difference to your weight loss. frankly speaking, exercise only aids weight-loss in this aspect: 1) water-loss (which may or may not be off-set by weight-gain from muscle mass increase) 2) exercise depletes muscle glycogen, which stops weight-gain....but will only aid loss of existing body-fat from a proper diet. which ultimately leads us to the fact that the most important factor to bodyfat reduction is diet, not exercise. My wife TOTALLY doesn't exercise and she's lost 17kg and dropped 6 pants sizes. Exercise builds muscle, dieting loses bodyfat. Different issues, look at a piece of lean pork at the market, and a piece of lard. See how different they are? They're built, and lost differently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 No lah, 6 packs are made with a airbrush....faster. 6-packs are built in the kitchen, not the gym. Not to say sit-ups are not important....they are, as they build core muscles that will give u stability when u play sport, run or do other exercises.....but for building 6-packs? I think totally useless. see Myth Number 1: http://fitness.scoobysworkshop.com/TruthAboutAbs.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Sauerkraut! [laugh] he's out to ruin our appetite with mental images of his thickly-veined 47 year old weiner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 You cook lah. maybe nobody cook for u that's why :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Sure your brother not? You opposite leh! my brother's 6-pack...this was years ago, even before he went to NS. FYI, he doesn't do a single bloody sit-up ever, but he's just very lean lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Rack of lamp tonight. Mothballs bad for the health, Volley ball....too big also. We talking sausages now? Or still on volleyballs or monthballs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Yeah, first thing that caught my eye was the fish. I'm more impressed by the fish than your brother's 6-pack. Hahaha. Some people are genetically predisposed to be lean. But I won't be surprised if he's still lean but has a tummy now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 I suspect your slow weight-loss could be due to hidden carbs. Do u 1) drink coffee? Unless brewed by yourself, with no sugar, no conventional creamer, u can never be sure with outside coffee. 2) soft drinks, sugared drinks? There's evidence while Diet Coke has zero carbs, the artificial chemicals inside might interfere with fat-loss. It won't make u gain fat, but might inhibit your fat-loss. 3) drink alcohol? Pure grain alcohol has nearly zero carbs, but the body preferentially burns alcohol for energy rather than fats, and will slow your weight-loss, even though it won't make u gain. 4) eat outside food? Enough said about this. 5) eat vegetables? Many vegetables have hidden carbs, especially the root kind. 6) take dairy products? Be careful of lactose in milk. I would suggest experimenting with an all meat and egg diet for 2 weeks to see if it kicks your ketosis into high-gear....other food can slowly add in later to see if it slows down your weight-loss. Only pure animal products for 2 weeks. It should work! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 True to certain aspects, building muscles AIDS fat burning. Exercise will increase metabolic rate to burn fat. Your wife would have to walk to the MRT station, take a bus etc...that is a form of exercise. frankly speaking, exercise only aids weight-loss in this aspect: 1) water-loss (which may or may not be off-set by weight-gain from muscle mass increase) 2) exercise depletes muscle glycogen, which stops weight-gain....but will only aid loss of existing body-fat from a proper diet. which ultimately leads us to the fact that the most important factor to bodyfat reduction is diet, not exercise. My wife TOTALLY doesn't exercise and she's lost 17kg and dropped 6 pants sizes. Exercise builds muscle, dieting loses bodyfat. Different issues, look at a piece of lean pork at the market, and a piece of lard. See how different they are? They're built, and lost differently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Sure your brother not? You opposite leh! I'm 10 years older and many kilos heavier, u say neh? hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Your wife would have to walk to the MRT station, take a bus etc...that is a form of exercise. zhunbo this is also considered exercise meh LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Yeah, suspect is she's not eating as clean as she's supposed to be. Impossible for a loss so little in such a time frame. A friend of mine, cycles to NUS everyday, eats as clean as she can, canteen, salmon, pork legs etc.. lost 2kgs in 3 weeks. And she's only 2kg after so long. I suspect your slow weight-loss could be due to hidden carbs. Do u 1) drink coffee? Unless brewed by yourself, with no sugar, no conventional creamer, u can never be sure with outside coffee. 2) soft drinks, sugared drinks? There's evidence while Diet Coke has zero carbs, the artificial chemicals inside might interfere with fat-loss. It won't make u gain fat, but might inhibit your fat-loss. 3) drink alcohol? Pure grain alcohol has nearly zero carbs, but the body preferentially burns alcohol for energy rather than fats, and will slow your weight-loss, even though it won't make u gain. 4) eat outside food? Enough said about this. 5) eat vegetables? Many vegetables have hidden carbs, especially the root kind. 6) take dairy products? Be careful of lactose in milk. I would suggest experimenting with an all meat and egg diet for 2 weeks to see if it kicks your ketosis into high-gear....other food can slowly add in later to see if it slows down your weight-loss. Only pure animal products for 2 weeks. It should work! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 My wife TOTALLY doesn't exercise and she's lost 17kg and dropped 6 pants sizes. I've seen my friend who lost 50kg tell people: "I ate my way thin" People: "What do you eat? Must be all fruits and vege and cut out all meat right?" My friend: "I eat only a few things to lose all my weight. Fattiest parts I can find of beef, lamb, pork, duck, chicken, salmon, supplemented with lots of butter and coconut milk. Sometimes I eat eggs and veggies. That's all." People: "That's impossible. Come on, be serious. You exercise like mad right?" My friend: Zero exercise. People: "You think we're stupid?" My friend: WTF... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Don't look alike leh. I'm 10 years older and many kilos heavier, u say neh? hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Walking is a form of exercise also mah, standing in the MRT or bus also burn calories. Bluff you got free Grouper boh? 10mins walk to MRT station in itself is a form of exercise liow. Walking burns calories also, not as much as a cardio workout lah, same as you kayaking out to sea to fish. zhunbo this is also considered exercise meh LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 Bluff you got free Grouper boh? How skunk? You organise the first ever official "Exercising without a gym" contest lah. The best bluff line wins a garoupa caught by yourself... I start: "To get volleyball size biceps, you must eat a lot of garoupa and own a cat" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...