Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 25, 2010 Share April 25, 2010 I suppose the other 1500 calories are coming from my fats...hahah That is actually an excellent point. By definition, any diet that causes you to lose fat is a high fat diet. Your body is burning off lots of stored fat in your fat cells, so if you're losing fat, it's a high (your own) fat diet. Ironically, it takes eating fat and cutting out carbs so that your own fat can me mobilised... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eizenzahn Neutral Newbie April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 Don't know if you guys saw an article on the ST Saturday or not... Apparently reproduced from NYT, it claims that eating a high-fat diet will cause memory to fail faster and lead to brain atrophy bro.. u mean u still read the papers regarding diet n stuffs? especially ST it's like reading local political stuffs, minus the fact that they changed the header to something related to foods. everything related to good diet all lean towards the "normal" ways that people are used to.. even the mrt barriers at Yishun MRT were pasted with ads like "Eat whole grains etc for good health". seriously.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 anyone with used dumbell to sell me? I want with adjustable weight plates up to 15kg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 anyone with used dumbell to sell me? I want with adjustable weight plates up to 15kg. Hmm...I don't use dumbells anymore - I found that resistance bands are just as effective and a lot more versatile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 Yesterday doing some marketing at Fairprice, saw packets of salmon belly, so bought one packet, abt $6. I believe it's good value, quite some slices of salmon in there. I forgot to check what's the per kg price. This morning, prepared my usual salad, then fried 2 eggs, then proceeded to fry 1/2 the salmon (3 big slices of belly). When done, had a big pool of oil from the fish, so fried 2 more eggs. I think enuff O-3 for today! Wah, ate until jialat jialat Hope I'm making up higher proportions of fats and increasing my overall calories as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 mi not really fan of salmon, unless raw. i choose to eat sardine out from e fridge. Tried e sardine in olive oil but price is . So now i buy those wif ketchup and scrap them dry from e fish . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 mi not really fan of salmon, unless raw. i choose to eat sardine out from e fridge. Tried e sardine in olive oil but price is . So now i buy those wif ketchup and scrap them dry from e fish . Yup, I do some sardines and tunas from cans too time to time. But I find them so salty even after 'washing' and I can also imagine the preservatives and don't know what else in there I think eating proper fish is healthier though much can be said that even fish nowadays are 'poisoned' in the farms, rivers and seas... But what to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 like eggs, sardine is more like a titbits. i eat them when i feel hungry when meal time is neither here nor there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 Yesterday doing some marketing at Fairprice, saw packets of salmon belly, so bought one packet, abt $6. I believe it's good value, quite some slices of salmon in there. I forgot to check what's the per kg price. This morning, prepared my usual salad, then fried 2 eggs, then proceeded to fry 1/2 the salmon (3 big slices of belly). When done, had a big pool of oil from the fish, so fried 2 more eggs. I think enuff O-3 for today! Wah, ate until jialat jialat Hope I'm making up higher proportions of fats and increasing my overall calories as well Nice - I made myself a whole salmon head to accompany my dinner of lamb chops (bought from western food stall) last night... Put the two halves into the microwave to defrost for 15 minutes and them "toasted" them with butter in my oven toaster for 10 minutes - shiok is the word... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 mi not really fan of salmon, unless raw. i choose to eat sardine out from e fridge. Tried e sardine in olive oil but price is . So now i buy those wif ketchup and scrap them dry from e fish . I guess I must be one of those weird ones as I don't like sardines... During my army days, I would give away my sardine combat ration - I rather survive on dog biscuits and chocolate...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 http://livinlavidalowcarb.com/blog/why-do-...holesterol/7786 Why Do Most Doctors Seem Clueless When It Comes To Understanding Cholesterol? Being a member of the highly-respected medical profession has got to be one of the most rewarding experiences for those who choose to invest and educate themselves for many years to serve the general public with the knowledge they Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 27, 2010 Share April 27, 2010 if doc here understand wat all those lingo r.......pharmaceutical Co. close shop liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 28, 2010 Share April 28, 2010 Old news to us, but it's always good to see the mainstream coming out to report the alternative hypothesis: http://www.scientificamerican.com/article....-against-cardio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 28, 2010 Share April 28, 2010 For those concerned about weight loss, here's a comment and question taken from Dr Kurt Harris' blog that I find pretty useful: http://www.paleonu.com/panu-weblog/2009/8/...ose-weight.html Hi Kurt, Why would eating excess protein cause fat gain? Doesn't the role of glucagon prevent this? August 28, 2009 | fred hahn I am not sure where this idea comes from, that there is a certain fate (or prohibited fate) to excess amounts of either fats, proteins or carbohydrates. For now, a few thoughts. I can't conceive of how "the role of glucagon" can prevent excess calories from being stored as fat if fat is otherwise beng driven into storage. Does glucagon generally oppose insulin? Yes, but so what? So does virtually every other hormone. Briefly, eating excess calories from any source will make you gain weight if hormones are driving fat storage, and won't otherwise. Whether the caloric excess is protein or fat or carbs does not matter if your adipocytes are storing fat under hormonal direction. I never said excess anything would cause fat gain, only that it could under the right circumstances. Obviously within ranges excess anything can be tolerated without weight gain, even if it is carbs. You can give a type I diabetic all the carbs you want, and without exogenous insulin they lose weight. Conversely, if I keep your caloric intake the same with zero carbs and you are not diabetic, and I give you extra insulin, you will start storing fat (stop releasing) and become ravenously hungry. If I don't let you eat more, you will then get lethargic and your metabolic rate will decline. You will now be fatter, slower and eating the exact same calories. Under the right (or wrong) hormonal milieu, it matters not a whit if the extra calories are fat, carbs or proteins. Macronutrient ratios mediate weight via hormones. Hormones drive fat storage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eizenzahn Neutral Newbie April 28, 2010 Share April 28, 2010 hey guys, just wondering what brands of butter u ppl bought and whether they are nice to eat? i'm currently consuming lurpak butter unsalted.. 250grams at < $5 i think the organic ones are $8++ :( so exp is SCS butter nice? other brands? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 28, 2010 Share April 28, 2010 I mentioned before in this thread. Anchor Butter from New Zealand. Grassfed butter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
O0tsubasa0o Neutral Newbie April 28, 2010 Share April 28, 2010 any kind that is cheap is fine for me lols Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 28, 2010 Share April 28, 2010 while we ve seen wat cavemen diet can do gd for us, esp where diabetic or weight loss r concerned. Wat abt high blood pressure, does it improve or do any gd??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...