Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 I wish I can gain some weight ........................ bloody impossible for me as I take so little carbs. Still below 60kg. Basket [whip] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Basket [whip] Don't jealous lah. GET BACK TO YOUR WORKOUT!! Had a slice of cake today. Bro. whole face flushed, sugar rush. Not funny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 I only jealous of you lah... Just came back from swim sprints. Last week's track sprints left my hamstrings sore even after a week, so this week better do no impact sprints. Was embarrassing making big splashes and noise in the pool... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 I only jealous of you lah... Just came back from swim sprints. Last week's track sprints left my hamstrings sore even after a week, so this week better do no impact sprints. Was embarrassing making big splashes and noise in the pool... Bro. you from the farm lah, Chickens and water don't go well. [laugh] Yeah, sprinting for me is fine, not running long distance anymore, knees hurt after a run. I'm back on intensity training with hypertrophy. 60-90mins max. I maxed out on legs last night, cannot drive properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Alright man. That's the way to train for size, haha... But you're so big already, if become bigger, will scare kids when you go shopping... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Alright man. That's the way to train for size, haha... But you're so big already, if become bigger, will scare kids when you go shopping... Err..bro. not really leh, when yo max out with mid weights you burn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Do you guys abstain from gas drinks like coke and high sugar content drinks like green tea ?? How aboout coffee & tea ? Is it best just plain water ?? fruit juice ? That coke is full of sugar, so is that green tea. Fruit juice even worse, full of fructose that is bad news. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 That coke is full of sugar, so is that green tea. Fruit juice even worse, full of fructose that is bad news. Piyo, we've been answering such for so long, personally, I tire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Err..bro. not really leh, when yo max out with mid weights you burn. I better ask the expert. I've been training in the 4-6 rep range, mainly cos I enjoy lifting in that range. Keeps my workouts short. But I'm finding that my shoulders are perpetually sore. Everything else can recover in time except my shoulders. Understandably so as they're involved in both pulling and pushing movements. How do you suggest I split so that I avoid this problem? I lift 3 times a week. Each workout will be push, pull and squat/hinge. All compound movements with free weights or bodyweight + additional weights, like squats, weighted pull ups, weighted dips, military press, weighted pushups...etc. Non lifting days will be easy 1 hour walks or swims. Sprint intervals once a week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 (edited) Do you guys abstain from gas drinks like coke and high sugar content drinks like green tea ?? How aboout coffee & tea ? Is it best just plain water ?? fruit juice ? Only drink water and unsweetened green tea (brew yourself with hot water type) ad lib. Unsweetened coffee should be drunk in moderate amounts. No milk. No soft drinks at all, no fruit juice (same thing as soft drinks, or worse cos fructose can only be processed by the liver). Edited May 5, 2012 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 (edited) Very simple lah: If you can't kill it, pluck it or dig it up from the ground, don't put it into your mouth. Got bread tree? Got noodle plant? If you were to harvest rice yourself, how much of it can you sift, dehusk and polish before you can eat it? So have some rice if you must, but the amount should be around half a bowl. No milk, especially if you are trying to lose weight. Dairy is one of the most insulingenic foods. Butter or ghee are the only 2 types of dairy that you can freely eat til you're full, which won't be much before you feel like puking. Milo: Extract of malted barley, milk solid, sugar, cocoa vegetable oil [containing one or more of the following: palm oil, palm olein, coconut oil, palm kernel oil, whey, corn oil, soya oil] whey ACTIGEN-E [dicalcium phosphate, magnesium carbonate ascorbic acid, vitamin pp, ferric pyrophosphate, calcium-d-pantothenate, vitamin B6, vitamin B2, vitamin B1, D-biotin, vitamin B12, disodium phosphate, vanillin, maltodextrin. You say leh? Edited May 5, 2012 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Bro. Break up into 3 sections of body workouts. Top/Mid/Lower. eg. of mine. Top: Biceps/Tris/back/traps/chest Mid: oblique/upper-lower abs/6-8 sprints Lower: Quad/Hams/ compound with squats call it a night. All 4 sets no more then 10reps per set. Also bro. we're getting older, recovery isn't as fast as we like it to be. So working one body part and allowing 1 week before we "damage" it again, works just nice, so work that section to the max, you'll see better results. I cut off my cardio, knees hurt form too much running, the sprints will suffice plus intensity in the training is more then enough to keep the heart pumping. Not going for competition bro. so long as you still got all the lines and sections on your body, you're already 100x up to those your age group, same with me, not bragging, I still put guys half my age to shame. I not expert. I better ask the expert. I've been training in the 4-6 rep range, mainly cos I enjoy lifting in that range. Keeps my workouts short. But I'm finding that my shoulders are perpetually sore. Everything else can recover in time except my shoulders. Understandably so as they're involved in both pulling and pushing movements. How do you suggest I split so that I avoid this problem? I lift 3 times a week. Each workout will be push, pull and squat/hinge. All compound movements with free weights or bodyweight + additional weights, like squats, weighted pull ups, weighted dips, military press, weighted pushups...etc. Non lifting days will be easy 1 hour walks or swims. Sprint intervals once a week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 sorry, i newbie...which means??? You have been here sometime already and have seen you asking questions. search the thread for your answers, you have to have the discipline first to want to do it, not THINK you want to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Thanks man! I give the split a 2 month run and see what happens. Sigh... Lao liao. At the gym, even 20+ year olds call me "uncle"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Bro, Apart from reading the great posts here. The other place for info is http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/ Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 I cut a lot of weight, used to be 25kgs for bicep curls, now it's only 15kgs, and I'm all pumped out. 1min rest as I told you before, between sets. It's panting all the way. Don't let the "uncle" sheet bother you, I know I still can beat them hands down. e.g pushups 20 per set, by the time you hit the 3rd set, you can't even complete 20. I have difficulties driving back, as I told you, too tired, overtrained, and you feel the burn the whole night, and sleep like a LOG. Thanks man! I give the split a 2 month run and see what happens. Sigh... Lao liao. At the gym, even 20+ year olds call me "uncle"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopusks Neutral Newbie May 6, 2012 Share May 6, 2012 Same problem here. difficult to gain weight. Went below 60kg and not been able to recover since going high fat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged May 6, 2012 Share May 6, 2012 (edited) Same problem here. difficult to gain weight. Went below 60kg and not been able to recover since going high fat. You are not alone ............ There are mutants out there. BTW the good news is every gram you gain if you stay the course will be MUSCLE! Let's go catch the volleyball and chicken guys. Long long way............Their biceps probably bigger than our backsides. Edited May 6, 2012 by Piyopico ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...