Sw20 2nd Gear January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 Simplest ANALogy.... WHEN THERE ARE ROAD HOGGERS.... THERE WILL BE TAIL-GATERS..... How is it possible for someone to TAIL GATE, if you're not HOGGING??? FOOD FOR THOUGHT ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 (edited) Simplest ANALogy.... WHEN THERE ARE ROAD HOGGERS.... THERE WILL BE TAIL-GATERS..... How is it possible for someone to TAIL GATE, if you're not HOGGING??? FOOD FOR THOUGHT you probably find the Red Fit/Jazz you encountered writing in this thread Edited January 21, 2010 by Fireball0088 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xenor Clutched January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 I think we have to go back to basic. Singapore road right most lane is for over-taking. If one is driving at constant speed, then should keep to middle or left lane. Then we won't have people complaining about road hogging or tail-gating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilz Neutral Newbie January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 (edited) Actually, how do we define tailgate? The behind car is half car length behind? or 1 car length? 2 car length? 3 car length? 4 car length? When the speed is 80-90kph. I should say less than half car length. if you do it singapore, 100% sure bang car infront. Edited January 21, 2010 by Chilz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiangauto Clutched January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 Haiz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 No road hoggers = No tailgaters. End of story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leggt Clutched January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 After reading this threads, a crazy scenario comes into my mind, if the roads are of unlimited lanes, just like an excel spreadsheet, I am just wondering, will the hoggers keep filtering right in search of the rightmost lane to hogged? Hmmm, kinda hilarious at the thought of it, same goes for taxis.... Anyway, I dun mind road hoggers, and yes, I filter from the left mostly if I encounter them on lane 1, dun bother me much since they are only obstacles to me just like a wall or a curb. Of coz, there are times when these walls or curbs will accelerate suddenly trying to rob me of the position that I want to be in, i.e. in front of them, but before they can do that, they will probably be staring at my tail-light. Juz a suggestion to road hoggers, if you wanna hog, please hog safely, drive consistently at your speed and do not switch lane adruptly when you can see me trying to engage you on the left, leave the rest to me, I will disappear from your sight in no time, you safe I safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 (edited) No road hoggers = No tailgaters. End of story. Not true. You ever seen tailgater in lane 2? very rare but I had, good thing is it did not tailgate me. Edited January 21, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 (edited) Actually, how do we define tailgate? The behind car is half car length behind? or 1 car length? 2 car length? 3 car length? 4 car length? When the speed is 80-90kph. <1 car length. if u in front, cannot see his front grille if u behind, u cannot see in-front car's rear wheels tats wad i tink..dono abt other bros Edited January 21, 2010 by Agentwilson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 Thanks. If everyone agrees with your definition, then I am not tail-gater. I am usually 2 cars length behind. But if I give 4-5 cars length, I will be the hogger? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 No road hoggers = No tailgaters. End of story. Ah-ha. So, a law abiding driver driving at 90km/h in lane 1 is a: a) Road hogger? b) Responsible driver? c) An idiot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buffy Neutral Newbie January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 Tailgating arouse due to road hogger. Rule has been changed!!! But was not make known to everyone. Pls go get a basic theory book and read. travelling 90km/h on lane 1 doesn't mean one is not hogging. It only applies when there's no car behind. once there's a car behind, one has to speed up or give way. Tat's the problem here. When one passed the driving, the theory is left behind. One of the best waqy to resolved this, is to write in to TP n request them to book more road hoggers. So ppl will know travelling 90km/h on lane does not make u the king of the road. I juz honk one hogger yesterday for a good 50 meters on TPE. I think i caught a lot of ppl's attention as I pressed the horn for a gd 20 seconds or so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 I think we have to go back to basic. Singapore road right most lane is for over-taking. If one is driving at constant speed, then should keep to middle or left lane. Then we won't have people complaining about road hogging or tail-gating. I do not understand the road limit for an overtaking lane. If the left lane is 90km/hr and the overtaking lane is also 90km/hr. Like that how to overtake? Moreover, there are so many drivers who are sticking to this rule in the overtaking lane. Is the road hogger traveling at 90km/hr right or the tail-gater who is going to overtake at a higher speed correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 If the road hogger is driving a Toyota, be it corolla, Rav4 or Camry, he/she is not at fault. Because his accelerator got stuck. Step step no response. Same thing for tail-gater, if driving toyota, not at fault. "I let go of my accelerator already but my car still accelerating! Not me!" =================++============================ Toyota recall 2.3 million cars in US to fix gas pedals. http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Toyota-recal...d9&ccode=rd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 Ah-ha. So, a law abiding driver driving at 90km/h in lane 1 is a: a) Road hogger? b) Responsible driver? c) An idiot? Confirm not B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 tailgaters seriously damm annoying lor I always siam to the left lane when I see them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 Confirm not B. Good one bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 If you are at 90kmh on right lane and the person wants to pass, you are hogging. He may be breaking the law by speeding but that is not up to you to enforce or reprimand is it? If you hoggers feel that its your moral right and duty to "prevent" speeding by hogging, go join TP la. Two wrongs dont make a right, tailgating you just because you are a dumb arse road hogger does not make the tailgater right, but if you didnt exist, he wont exist too. I already give up convincing hoggers liao, half of them who dont read forums thinks they are right. They are also very nice ppl irl... My GF's brother and herself are serial roadhoggers when i first knew them man. They are also clueless that they are wrong. After driving them out 1 day and meeting a hogger, i went infront of the hogger on CTE and drove at 40-50kmh. I told them "Im not breaking the law either, im within the speed limit but can you see how #$%%$@#$@ annoying it is to the ppl behind?" Two less road hoggers on the road :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...