Donut Supercharged January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Anyone knows what's the effective way to treat ecezma for adults? Can TCM treat ecezma? Any recommendation for western or TCM docs? What other alternative treatments? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 My understanding is it can only be controlled, not cure.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 6, 2010 Author Share January 6, 2010 yeah, tats what i also understand. Will TCM work? any other natural way to treat? i read on net about using oatmeal and honey like a face mask..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 there is no cure, but there is one sure way to heal, that is , steriod cream or intake, which doctors will prescribe , but not good for long term use. if you see a skin specialist, they will prescribe for serious case. if you go to national skin centre, they have light treatment whereby you let your hand shine under a special light, then go for several sessions, will recover also. frankly, ecezma can become very serious condition (someone close to me has it real bad spread to whole body), and i think it is very unfortunate. do try out the two suggestions. one word tho, for ecezma, prevention is much better than cure, because once it becomes full blown, it is very painful and the recovery road is long. use lots of moisturiser to prevent. never touch corrosive item like detergent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 correct... someone close to me has been having it for many many years already... comes n goes... some ppl bigger areas... some small areas... dont scratch cannot... scratch gets worse... put too much steriod creams your skin will become very thin... haiz... sorry cant help Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 ohh ecezma i think usually caused by astma or something. my friend kena! if i'm not wrong the doctor will give you a cream that DOESNT work. my friend uses it but use 4 tubes already still never recover. he always apply prickly heat powder for a cooling effect so that it doesnt itch. he brings a small tiny container along everytime he goes out. hope it helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 I feel going the TCM way may be better. I have a close friend who suffers from eczema for over 30yrs. Western medicine only treated the symptoms. He went to TCM some tears ago and was told to take some Chinese medicine and avoid certain diet. After 6mths of TCM treatment, he was 'cured'. His eczema hasn't returned for the past 5-6yrs...unless he didn't keep a strict control on the kinds of food he eat or super stress from work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 http://www.wikihow.com/Treat-Eczema-Naturally here's a useful link it's true that salmon can help treat eczema. choose the one with more white fats. tasty and nutritious. try getting pure aloe gel/moisturizer. it soothes and moisturizes the skin. i've seen my friend kena eczema the skin is really patchy, dry and broken. looks very painful. take care! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 6, 2010 Author Share January 6, 2010 can recommend that TCM to me? ask yr friend for the TCM doc contacts. Thanks. I'm more inclined to try TCM. Western docs can only treat symptons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 yeah, tats what i also understand. Will TCM work? any other natural way to treat? i read on net about using oatmeal and honey like a face mask..... Different people have different allergy causing stuff. Some can take nuts, but some cannot. Some can take shellfish, but some can only take a little bit. Hence, I believe whatever treatment which may works for some, may not do so for others. Need trial and error to find out which treatment/medicine would help for the particular individual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 I used to apply Vit E oil when there a outbreak. Now I change to Aureal Cream to keep the skin moist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 (edited) can recommend that TCM to me? ask yr friend for the TCM doc contacts. Thanks. I'm more inclined to try TCM. Western docs can only treat symptons. He doesn't have the contact anymore, cos 1 of my friend was asking for it. All he can provide is that the TCM clinic is at some HDB block opp Jln Besah Stadium (Blk 801 French Road), 2nd storey. Consultation is free, but have to pay for medicine. His info is accurate as of 3yrs ago when his other friend visited that clinic. Edited January 6, 2010 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 go jb buy steroid creams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 I had eczema before. The only way to get out of it is steroids. I saw a lot of doctors but nothing works until a specialist gave me steroids. From then onwards, I use cetaphil moisturizers the moment I feel my skin a little itchy. The idea is not let the eczema get full blown. Luckily I never had any major relapse since 3 years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 i went to Bukit Batok near Dunearn sec there a clinic call Family Clinic,beside playground.. see skin problem v good..but always alot pple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yooyoo99 Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Went to ask specialist at national skin center No known cure for eczema. To relieve symptoms, use lots of moisturers and wear gloves (non-powder type) when doing housework. Steriods only stop itching for the time-being, with side effect of thining the skin. This is bad.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 go jb buy steroid creams. IT WORKS.. I got it from thailand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 u need higher grade steriod if low grade one doesnt work. normally GPs give low grade one. I used to have lichen simplex chronicus during NS time...it happened on my scrotum! imagine how discomfort, itchy i get on my balls! it also ballooned in size w rough elephant skin like. but now recover liao however when i feel the itch cycle is coming, i just apply aqueous cream and steriod cream. nowadays also get itchy spots randonly on body. just dont scratch or it will blacken ur skin. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...