HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 hi guys if u were to chose a COE car which will u guys chose ? Toyota Corolla 1.6M GLI or Honda civic ESI 4M ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 The Toyota... Most civic kana wack like don't know what... The corolla would be a safer bet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 so cant civic anymore ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 if a civic SIR, i will still take tis.... even kana whack until how i will still take... lolx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 (edited) hi guys if u were to chose a COE car which will u guys chose ? Toyota Corolla 1.6M GLI or Honda civic ESI 4M ============= In 1999 I bought a COE 1989 Corona CD auto. Did not want a Civic or Concerto due to what Ghostami said. Most kennd whack till juice spill everywhere. Corolla smaller & Accord spare parts too ex. I drove the auto Corona for 9 years & it gave me super good service. Spacious, comfortable, relaibile, stable at high speeds & economical to run. Never gave much problems except for an autobox overhaul when it was abt 15 years old. I really regretted selling it but due to the possibility of COE going up, I sold it 2 years ago for a Optra. I still regret selling it as it was a super good car. Looking back I sud have kept it & renewed the COE for abt $6K & can use till 2019 but how to know the damm COE wud not go up as many predicted. Edited January 12, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 hi guys if u were to chose a COE car which will u guys chose ? Toyota Corolla 1.6M GLI or Honda civic ESI 4M why not corolla 1.3M? u save quite a fair bit on the road tax. power wise is ok and main thing check on engine (leak, vibration), radiator, aircon. try test drive and look at the radiator water, if oily, might be the gasket gonna give way....can forgo it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 Corolla 1.3M is a mod evil car! Can mod until siao. The 1.3M engine is the 2E engine found in many of the Starlets. The original 1E engine of the Starlet mostly died already and to keep the car going, they are fitted with the 1.3L 2E. As a result, don't go and challenge the Starlet. That dirty 1.3L caburetted engine can make most new cars behind at the traffic lights. So what is up for the 1.3 2E on a Corolla when it fails? The evil 1.5L 3E engine. Top speed not much difference but there is torque. Plenty of torque. It is a stroke variant of the 1.3L 2E. The 1E, 2E and 3E on the exterior looks entire the same! No way to find out which is which unless you are in the know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Author Share January 13, 2010 wow is like having best of both worlds if i took the toyota hahaha but the ahpek look of it when u drive makes u oso become ahpek... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 lemme guess. . . no offence yeap. . . i feel that you are young and just pass your license recently?? looking for your 1st car?? i agree with the others, most civic get whacked until jialat2 already. . . toyota would be a safer bet. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 doesnt matter, as long as the chassis is good, buy the corolla and drop in a 4AGE or buy the civic and drop in a B18/B20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Author Share January 13, 2010 oh btw whats the diff between the Corolla 1.6M and 1.3M ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Author Share January 13, 2010 bumpz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 Corolla 1.3M is a mod evil car! Can mod until siao. The 1.3M engine is the 2E engine found in many of the Starlets. The original 1E engine of the Starlet mostly died already and to keep the car going, they are fitted with the 1.3L 2E. As a result, don't go and challenge the Starlet. That dirty 1.3L caburetted engine can make most new cars behind at the traffic lights. So what is up for the 1.3 2E on a Corolla when it fails? The evil 1.5L 3E engine. Top speed not much difference but there is torque. Plenty of torque. It is a stroke variant of the 1.3L 2E. The 1E, 2E and 3E on the exterior looks entire the same! No way to find out which is which unless you are in the know. My first and previous car was the corolla G6, 1.3M, 2E carburator engine. Gave me good FC averaging 12km/l considering that it was rather high mileage already. Cars of those years were built rather low hence cornering was quite satisfactory. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 good stuff. i guess only the older manual cars can tahan so long. it is quite unlikely that newer cars with all the eletronics can tahan so long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Author Share January 13, 2010 is there any toyota cars with 4AGE engines still around ? (AE101) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie January 15, 2010 Author Share January 15, 2010 is it illegal to do engine swap in singapore ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 bro, the answer is quite obvious. is it illegal to do engine swap in singapore ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 Corolla 1.3M is a mod evil car! Can mod until siao. The 1.3M engine is the 2E engine found in many of the Starlets. The original 1E engine of the Starlet mostly died already and to keep the car going, they are fitted with the 1.3L 2E. As a result, don't go and challenge the Starlet. That dirty 1.3L caburetted engine can make most new cars behind at the traffic lights. So what is up for the 1.3 2E on a Corolla when it fails? The evil 1.5L 3E engine. Top speed not much difference but there is torque. Plenty of torque. It is a stroke variant of the 1.3L 2E. The 1E, 2E and 3E on the exterior looks entire the same! No way to find out which is which unless you are in the know. ================= The 1E & 2E looks the same on the outside. Thats why it was so easy to transplant the 2E into the Starlet but the 3E can see the difference so u can get caught if TP inspect. The starlets using the 2E engine wil re-bore to 1.5 for max power. Done ask me how I know. Hee. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...