MANHUNT Neutral Newbie February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 im quite surprised they can just anyhow unscrew your compartment below the steering. Inside is so messy with tons of wires n fuses etc. if they spoil anything how? Bro the officer are well trained liao.... further more the box is not hide until very deep inside, so just unscrew and use touch light will be able to see it. I saw the officer just unpluck the device and told me will not affect my other wiring or computer setting, as its just tapping on the battery. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 You mean you are been "selected" and asked to park at one side for 100% check? Just your luck bro. Wish you good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Our authorities may not be corrupted, but it also doesn't mean that they do not pay for information. Think twice before going JB to tamper the gauge. Workshop may charge you $50 to tamper it, and collect another $50 to report you. hahaha.... Win win situation for the workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MANHUNT Neutral Newbie February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 You mean you are been "selected" and asked to park at one side for 100% check? Just your luck bro. Wish you good luck. Ya just my "luck"..... sigh.... now also dont know what type of interview LTA going to ask me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Ya just my "luck"..... sigh.... now also dont know what type of interview LTA going to ask me. alamak bro good luck to you... interview just normal but the summon you pay could be big.... at this point of time just be honest with the officer.... trust me there are more serious case out there... anyway i know how you feel right now.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MANHUNT Neutral Newbie February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 alamak bro good luck to you... interview just normal but the summon you pay could be big.... at this point of time just be honest with the officer.... trust me there are more serious case out there... anyway i know how you feel right now.... tnks bro...i also think the interview question will be something like 1) why install 2) where install 3) how much 4) got used device before etc etc I m just worried abt the 3 star hotel stay but from those past cases, they charge pple oni $500 and a 2 weeks free hotel stay. But my case a bit different leh, so i aso dont know and no idea what will be the charges. Next time go in and out custom, all eyes will be on my vehicle liao....sure a lot of 100% checking on my ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 Hrrr...why u just cant leave the remote at home ? Spend another few minutes nia mah. Afterall u go jbee also take at least 2 hrs. tiok bor ? U see now.....worry like siao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 (edited) Our authorities may not be corrupted, but it also doesn't mean that they do not pay for information. Think twice before going JB to tamper the gauge. Workshop may charge you $50 to tamper it, and collect another $50 to report you. hahaha.... Win win situation for the workshop. Maybe one can install and monitor for 1 year first. Meantime continue to go in regularly as per regulation 3/4 tank. If got blacklist, yr car sure will kena check within 1 year. If kena, just say yr car is a 2nd hand, ex-owner install one. You have no idea of its existance. Dont think they will jail u for that. But if kena 10k fine, then tough luck lor. If all run smoothly without kena check for 1 or 2 years then should be all clear to chiong. Should be nia nia. Good idea bor ????? And btw.....remote die-die must hide at home rah. Dont be like our bro here. Anyway....its just my thots. Tho i seldom go Jbee now. Even go also maintain 3/4 tank and i throw all MY cigs away over there. Even if there are 15 sticks left. I dont bring even 1 stick back to spore. I damn kia-si nowsadays. Old liao rah. haha. Edited February 23, 2010 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Ya i'm preparing for the worst but just hope money can settle the case and no 3 star hotel free stay.....sigh.... Good luck.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MANHUNT Neutral Newbie February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 And btw.....remote die-die must hide at home rah. Dont be like our bro here. Anyway I post here is just to warn others and already expected comments like this, its ok..... tnks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Maybe but wouldn't get jail mah, the most ask you to fix it up and go VICOM check. and if car no spare parts hw? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Once again, nv ever install... They gotch database one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 All your savings go down the drain liao maybe still need to "tiap lui". Just pump at SPC lah. They have frequent discount coupons and top it with everyday card from POSB you get more than 10% off the final bill. Why choose to live life so dangerously? Might as well use the time to queue up at the immigration, and spend it with your family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Just to share my experience, just got caught recent when coming out to Singapore. They found my remote and immediately ask me go to the side to have a check. They do a scan to both side of my car, than one officer unscrew the compartment below the steering and found a black box. I have no choice but to admit saying my friend did it for me. They remove the device and brought me to the office and sign a few consent form, than release me. So now pending interview from LTA within 2 weeks time. According to one of the officer, my case may not be that serious bcos i m coming in to Singapore with a full tank and not caught using that device. Anybody can advice or any idea what will be my penalty like? I cross my fingers hopefully just fine $500......sigh.... You may be entering SG with a full tank of petrol but their argument could be that the device helped you to deceive the authority while exiting SG. Thereby benefiting from it. There are always 2 sides to a coin. I'm not trying to scare you but hope you could keep us posted on the outcome. All the best to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 thks for e reminder to all, tampering of tat needle is simply not worth it. Wish u all e best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Another article in yesterday berita harian.. MASIH BANYAK: Mekanik di kedai ini berkata masih ada pemandu Singapura mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak kereta mereka, termasuk menggunakan alat kawalan jauh. -- Foto-foto KHALID BABA 22 Feb 2010 SINGAPURA Masih ada pemandu ubah suai penunjuk paras minyak Oleh Safhras Khan DARI luar, bengkel kereta itu kelihatan sama seperti bengkel servis atau aksesori kereta yang boleh didapati di Singapura. Namun siasatan Berita Harian di beberapa bengkel di Johor Bahru baru-baru ini mendapati ada pemilik kereta Singapura ke sana bagi mendapatkan pengubahsuaian 'khusus' yang disediakan beberapa bengkel secara senyap-senyap. Khidmat itu ialah bagi meng ubah suai penunjuk paras minyak kereta berdaftar di Singapura. Ini ekoran peraturan tangki tiga suku penuh yang dikenakan pemerintah bagi kereta Singapura yang memasuki Malaysia. Ramai pemandu diberkas atas kesalahan mengubah suai penun juk paras minyak kereta, oleh itu pelbagai teknik baru lagi canggih cuba dihasilkan pengedar dan penjual aksesori kereta bagi mengatasinya. Satu laporan Kastam Singapura bulan lalu mendedahkan bilangan pemandu yang ditangkap kerana mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak dan memberi maklumat palsu melonjak enam kali ganda kepada 24 kes tahun lalu berbanding empat kes sebelum ini. Siasatan ke atas beberapa bengkel di seberang tambak menunjukkan masih ada yang menyediakan khidmat itu kerana ada permintaan daripada pelanggan Singapura. Namun jumlahnya dikatakan semakin berkurangan. Jika dahulu pemandu menggunakan pemutar (dial) untuk menaikkan paras minyak kereta mereka untuk memperdaya pihak berkuasa, kini mereka hanya perlu memicit butang alat kawalan jauh. Sekurang-kurangnya enam bengkel menawarkan khidmat itu. Ketika wartawan Berita Harian ke salah sebuah bengkel, deretan kereta berdaftar di Singapura menunggu giliran untuk 'diservis'. Ketika berpura-pura ingin mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak keretanya, wartawan disapa mesra seorang mekanik. Pemerhatian wartawan mendapati kawasan dalam bengkel itu tidak ada keistimewaan yang boleh mengaitkannya dengan sebuah bengkel yang membuat kerja-kerja haram. Ketika ditanya, mekanik itu, yang ingin dikenali hanya sebagai Jeervis, mengakui masih ada pemandu Singapura mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak kereta. Sambil menunjuk beberapa kereta Singapura di depan bengkelnya, beliau berkata: 'Awak tengok, ini semua mahu buat. Kalau awak mahu buat, awak kena tunggu dua jam baru mari.' Di sebuah lagi bengkel, pemiliknya, yang ingin dikenali sebagai Encik Tan, berkata ramai kini takut mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak kereta mereka kerana pemerintah Singapura mengambil tindakan keras terhadap kesalahan itu. Akhbar ini difahamkan bayaran mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak sekitar RM120 ($49) hingga RM150 bagi kereta buatan Jepun dan Malaysia dan sekitar RM400 ($166) bagi kereta continental. Pemandu yang didapati bersalah mengubah suai penunjuk paras minyak dan memberi maklumat palsu boleh dikenakan hukuman penjara hingga 12 bulan atau denda hingga $5,000 atau kedua-duanya. Fan of berita harian?? berita minggu will be revamped on the 7th of Mar... look out for it!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear February 24, 2010 Share February 24, 2010 Fan of berita harian?? berita minggu will be revamped on the 7th of Mar... look out for it!! though i don't condone fuel gauge tampering,but these types of reporters have nothing else to do huh?s'pore so boring that must go overseas find news meh?i guess these are newbie reporters trying to 'score' points to get promotion/pay increment.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rock Neutral Newbie February 24, 2010 Share February 24, 2010 Anyway I post here is just to warn others and already expected comments like this, its ok..... tnks. Hello. I know someone was had a similar encounter as you. Heavy fine (i think $1,000) but no 2 weeks holiday resort vacation. What happened was....on the way back from JB at SG customs, officer also found his fuel gauge remote unit. Officer press it, but of course the needle won't move cos fuel tank already pumped full to the max. But officer keep pressing the remote, and can hear faint 'click' 'click' sound from dashboard area. Details recorded and statement taken down, and remote control confiscated as evidence....and owner was sent for LTA inspection, in about a week's time. Owner quickly went workshop remove whatever box or fuel gauge equipment inside the dashboard before inspection. Obviously, pass the LTA inspection.... But owner is still hauled up to court and charged with tampering fuel gauge even though no direct evidence found. Fine....$1,000. Owner LL....pay fine. No point contesting....else end up paying more, but relieved no 2 weeks fail term. Morale of story......dun mod your fuel gauge. If wanna really mod....dun go for those $200 cheapo JB job. Get true profession to re-wire it into your acc panel....eg, press aircon on button and radio on button for few seconds to ON, and press some other sequence of buttons to OFF. etc. Better still, get profession to configure your iphone as fuel gauge remote controller. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...