Tailgatepro 1st Gear February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 Hi bros, Need some advice. My car pulls left the moment I let go the steering wheel. It bad enough that within 1 lamp post length, half my car in another lane already. Its not the usual subtle left drifting that occurs on roads crown to the left due to drainage runoffs. In order to travel straight, the 12o'clock position on my steering wheel is pointing at 1o'clock position (around 1 inch to the right). Went to see Kenny but not able to rectify. Anyone else got further advise? Thanks in advance! hi, i also have same problem. what i had did is change tires, wheel alignment. etc... the problem still there, if u found the answer pls do also info me. i also try to slove this issue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JT_Woodlands Neutral Newbie February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 hi, i also have same problem. what i had did is change tires, wheel alignment. etc... the problem still there, if u found the answer pls do also info me. i also try to slove this issue. Bro Ixat said his problem fixed on 21 Jan liao.. I wonder if it has to do with the rims and/or gantong... For you, what was the wear pattern like on your old tyres before you changed them? Sometimes, if the tyre shoulder is more worn out than another, or both front tyre shoulders wear at the same side, it could mean 'gantong' problem... Just IMHO... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nimm12 Neutral Newbie February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 i had similar problem, car pull to left the moment my hands leave the steering then during my last servicing, the mechanic found its uneven tyre thread wearout due to multi storey parking is always turn same direction then he rotate tyres problem solved no more left drifting problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 My SSS is also having tracking problem, major veering. After spending $$$ on all the high tech digital wheel alignment, the problem cannot be solved, simply because there is no way to adjust unless I pull the chassie or change the entire suspension arm+bushing. I think my car is the chassie misalignment because every day, my car will encounter a few humps which is taken at an angle due to the slope of the road where I parked. So day in day out, the twisting of the chassie must have creep stress into permament damage for this car. So I am in the process of selling it away. May the next buyer get the headache. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nimm12 Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 (edited) My SSS is also having tracking problem, major veering. After spending $$$ on all the high tech digital wheel alignment, the problem cannot be solved, simply because there is no way to adjust unless I pull the chassie or change the entire suspension arm+bushing. I think my car is the chassie misalignment because every day, my car will encounter a few humps which is taken at an angle due to the slope of the road where I parked. So day in day out, the twisting of the chassie must have creep stress into permament damage for this car. So I am in the process of selling it away. May the next buyer get the headache. pls inform the new buyer about this problem, it'll be unfair to new owner to take over your problem if he/she not aware of it Edited February 22, 2010 by Nimm12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desong Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 if after wheel alightment and all still dun solve..u may need to hoist car up ..ask the workshop to check the rubber bushins around the various joints. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 where you all change your tires and rims??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Author Share February 22, 2010 i had similar problem, car pull to left the moment my hands leave the steering then during my last servicing, the mechanic found its uneven tyre thread wearout due to multi storey parking is always turn same direction then he rotate tyres problem solved no more left drifting problem My problem was resolved 1 mth ago....The first tire rotation (left to right / right to left for the fronts) did help to resolve the "snapping" of the steering... once I let go the steering it would snap to left. Now one month later its slooowly beginning to pull left again, no snapping feeling thou. I also suspect the right turning up on MSCP, u-turnings etc is causing the tire to wear in such a way it pulls left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catch_22 Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Hi I'm a newbie here. Can any of the gurus here tell me what is a side slip test for a car? Also I would like to know what is the benefit of nitrogen gas fill up for tyres? Should I pump my tyres with nitrogen to the pressure as I would normally pump with air? Many thks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 (edited) Click here to view side slip tester write up by a machine maker http://www.altesco-usa.com/ALTESCONEW2/The...lip_Tester.html Edited February 23, 2010 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catch_22 Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Click here to to view side slip tester write up by a machine maker hhttp://www.altesco-usa.com/ALTESCONEW2/The_Sideslip_Tester.html Thanks bro. Good link Anybody else care to add their comment? What about nitrogen gas for tyres? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 My SSS is also having tracking problem, major veering. After spending $$$ on all the high tech digital wheel alignment, the problem cannot be solved, simply because there is no way to adjust unless I pull the chassie or change the entire suspension arm+bushing. I think my car is the chassie misalignment because every day, my car will encounter a few humps which is taken at an angle due to the slope of the road where I parked. So day in day out, the twisting of the chassie must have creep stress into permament damage for this car. So I am in the process of selling it away. May the next buyer get the headache. ================ If the car pulling to the side is due to chassis misalignment it cud only mean u had a serious accident which bent the chassis. Going over bumps cannot bend the chassis. I dunno what mechanic u went to but I think its time u start looking for a new mechanic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Thanks bro. Good link Anybody else care to add their comment? What about nitrogen gas for tyres? ================= Hahaha. Nitrogen gas for tires is a gimmick only. Our day to day cars dont need nitrogen. Maybe if u drive in F1 then can consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 My problem was resolved 1 mth ago....The first tire rotation (left to right / right to left for the fronts) did help to resolve the "snapping" of the steering... once I let go the steering it would snap to left. Now one month later its slooowly beginning to pull left again, no snapping feeling thou. I also suspect the right turning up on MSCP, u-turnings etc is causing the tire to wear in such a way it pulls left. =============== I think your tires r seriously misaligned to cause very uneven tire wear which in turn causes your steering to veer to 1 side. Get a good computerised 4 wheel alignment done & see what the tire shop tells u. But remember to visit only a good & honest tire shop otherwise they wil smoke u to change this & that but it wont solve your problem long term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 ================= Hahaha. Nitrogen gas for tires is a gimmick only. Our day to day cars dont need nitrogen. Maybe if u drive in F1 then can consider. I used to pump nitrogen leh.... To a certain extent and from some personal experiences, leakage is not as obvious as normal air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 If the AD also can't solve or unwilling to take it under warranty. What do you expect me to do? Bought New, so I know never accident or hit kerb. Which is why I now think PI are just as good as AD when it comes to my next car. AD only really good at doing normal services. ================ If the car pulling to the side is due to chassis misalignment it cud only mean u had a serious accident which bent the chassis. Going over bumps cannot bend the chassis. I dunno what mechanic u went to but I think its time u start looking for a new mechanic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 I used to pump nitrogen leh.... To a certain extent and from some personal experiences, leakage is not as obvious as normal air. ================= SG all petrol stations got free air. Anytime also can pump. Now I go JB pump petrol & also pump air. Once a week is more than enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 If the AD also can't solve or unwilling to take it under warranty. What do you expect me to do? Bought New, so I know never accident or hit kerb. Which is why I now think PI are just as good as AD when it comes to my next car. AD only really good at doing normal services. =============== Send your car to a good & reliable tire shop to do the 4 wheel computerised alignment. See what they have to say 1st. AD r quite useless lah. I dont waste my time going to AD for anything. If u bought car with pulling to the side, u sud have just refused to accept it in the 1st place. Where got such thing. Buy new car & it pulls to 1 side. Really cant believe it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...