Kopitam Clutched January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 (edited) If Medisave is going to be used for BIG BILLS only the problem (1) medisave is used for medical expenses and should not be abuse but if one cannot decide on how to use THEIR OWN MONEY ????? (2) chicken and egg problem, if I cannot afford cash (out of pocket) to do screening to detect eg cancer early, what is use of using MEDISAVE when the disease is in their advance stage when then the BIG BILLS come (3) the median salary of Singaporean is $2K + (every can figure out if they can yearly put out that kind of sum just for check) strange that many things (include our own hard earn money, even when we decide for our own good) are beyond our control this is not a political issue but a policy issue that does not include a safety net for the less able, who the only money that can be use for check-up is from their MEdisave account if MOD thinks this is too political please delete it http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1032782/1/.html "If the people think they can do a better job than Khaw Boon Wan, then so be it. I think that is the beauty of democracy - one man one vote." Mr Khaw also commented on a suggestion to allow Medisave fund to be used for mammograms. Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua suggested this at a breast screening event on Saturday. But Mr Khaw disagreed with the suggestion. He said: "My general rule of thumb is this - anything less than $100 - $20, $30 - please pay out of your own pocket. I think Medisave should be reserved for big bills. So let's don't abuse Medisave. This is not to say I'm against (using) Medisave for screening, because some screenings can be very expensive." Mammograms, if subsidised, cost between $25 and $50. Edited January 24, 2010 by Kopitam ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 Correction.. The median salary in SG should be ~$6.6k The average salary in SG should be ~$3.75k (excluding annual income of < $20k) Based on rough estimation, including annual income of < $20k, should be ~$3k? Here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 Can't figure how you have worked out the median salary from your link, but this is what was given on AsiaOne's website: AsiaOne Extract: The median income for all employed residents dipped by 1.2 per cent from $2,450 in 2008 to $2,420 in 2009. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 (edited) maybe you are right. but one data can be manipulated in many ways. so if we based on your link, median income of $2,420 in 2009 is really bad. If I remember correctly, SG govt is trying to lift up all low-income employees to mark up to min. $2.5k... end of the day, the KPI did not meet but their salary is increased...~ but I believe after data being manipulated, they will claim that they had met their KPIs. =P Edited January 24, 2010 by Ladykillerz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 errrr... if i am not wrong, the TS is actually talking abt the right to use one's medisave ..... not abt income right ?? anyway, on the right's issue, imo, the auth are just worried that the person might not have enuff money to fund his necessary treatments if he spends his medisave away on minor issues in the early years, after which he will rely on "handouts" from public donations and the auths. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 errrr... if i am not wrong, the TS is actually talking abt the right to use one's medisave ..... not abt income right ?? anyway, on the right's issue, imo, the auth are just worried that the person might not have enuff money to fund his necessary treatments if he spends his medisave away on minor issues in the early years, after which he will rely on "handouts" from public donations and the auths. some people can't even afford the screening to detect the problem. if detect early, maybe there's a chance to avoid hefty medical costs. the point is that we are not allowed to use medisave for screenings which is important... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1032782/1/.html "If the people think they can do a better job than Khaw Boon Wan, then so be it. I think that is the beauty of democracy - one man one vote." Mr Khaw also commented on a suggestion to allow Medisave fund to be used for mammograms. Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua suggested this at a breast screening event on Saturday. But Mr Khaw disagreed with the suggestion. He said: "My general rule of thumb is this - anything less than $100 - $20, $30 - please pay out of your own pocket. I think Medisave should be reserved for big bills. So let's don't abuse Medisave. This is not to say I'm against (using) Medisave for screening, because some screenings can be very expensive." Mammograms, if subsidised, cost between $25 and $50. Foot-in-the-mouth disease? Someone bring him go see doctor . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 some people can't even afford the screening to detect the problem. if detect early, maybe there's a chance to avoid hefty medical costs. the point is that we are not allowed to use medisave for screenings which is important... I think there is an issue on what screening to be allowed in the 1st place. They have to 1st decide what are covered under Medisave and which are not. Perhaps, to make thing really simply, just allow a sum of S$300 a year for any approved screenings. If exceed, you pay cash. I suppose S$300 a year is nothing to shout again comparing with the thousands of dollar we have in our CPF account. Currently, only senior executives in the corporate world enjoy free or subsidized health screening once a year. So this will really benefit those who earned less and the junior workers. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 garment talking c0ck again..... the bottomline is they dun want to pay for people's medical costs.... everything must come from each individual. So whether u are rich or poor or middle class, its your own problem if you get sick. PERIOD Garment doesnt even wan to plan for the old age homes to be setup (they convienently tell us to stay in JB old age homes), so obviously they won't even bothered to think about our medical bills liao...... And this MOH minister proposed the insurance for medical bills system, similiarly to US style. The US style already proven to be a disasterious system...... Obama is having a hard time trying to rectify it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 garment talking c0ck again..... the bottomline is they dun want to pay for people's medical costs.... everything must come from each individual. So whether u are rich or poor or middle class, its your own problem if you get sick. PERIOD Garment doesnt even wan to plan for the old age homes to be setup (they convienently tell us to stay in JB old age homes), so obviously they won't even bothered to think about our medical bills liao...... And this MOH minister proposed the insurance for medical bills system, similiarly to US style. The US style already proven to be a disasterious system...... Obama is having a hard time trying to rectify it. But the problem is Medisave is actually our own money, if the lower income can't even tap on their own $$ then....really want to have the cancer get out of control before u can use it for the "big bill" by then it might to too late... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 I think no need to talk so much ... I quote what the minister said: "If the people think they can do a better job than Khaw Boon Wan, then so be it. I think that is the beauty of democracy - one man one vote." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 Yeah! medisave is our own money.... why can't the garment co-pays the medical costs and keep it free for us? they can use our medisave + their own reserves to make medical costs free.... they just simply refused to take out $$ to do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 Yeah! medisave is our own money.... why can't the garment co-pays the medical costs and keep it free for us? they can use our medisave + their own reserves to make medical costs free.... they just simply refused to take out $$ to do it better to spend it on the citizens then squander billions of $$ in failed investment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 i find it stupid for him to say that: 1) all singaporeans can afford to spend money to take screening tests ... Even though it may be small amt to MIW, that 20-30 bucks can be alot for poor family. 2) Medisave is used for big illness...whats the purpose of spending money on big illness when you could have early treatments thru screening? 3) Singaporeans will be more willing to go for regulary screening if Medisave can be used coz otherwise, healthy ppl will feel its a waste of money to screen even if the amt is small. If more ppl go for screening, at least, early treatment can be given and less serious ill ppl need to depend on govt later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtitan 1st Gear January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 One man, one vote. I know who will have my vote very soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopitam Clutched January 26, 2010 Author Share January 26, 2010 One man, one vote. I know who will have my vote very soon... i live so long in singapore and i had NOT had the pleasure to exercise my RIGHTS always walk over also got benefit holiday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 26, 2010 Share January 26, 2010 HIS PAY IS SO HIGH. to him, that is small $$. to many of us, its hard earned $$. he will never understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 26, 2010 Share January 26, 2010 i find it stupid for him to say that: 1) all singaporeans can afford to spend money to take screening tests ... Even though it may be small amt to MIW, that 20-30 bucks can be alot for poor family. 2) Medisave is used for big illness...whats the purpose of spending money on big illness when you could have early treatments thru screening? 3) Singaporeans will be more willing to go for regulary screening if Medisave can be used coz otherwise, healthy ppl will feel its a waste of money to screen even if the amt is small. If more ppl go for screening, at least, early treatment can be given and less serious ill ppl need to depend on govt later. Yeah. Maybe he should make it clear that this medisave is being prioritized for medical emergency use only. For precautionary screening, draw from your own bank account. Or maybe it was made clear but too many things for ppl to remember. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...