Engine Mountings Replacement

Str2

I think i better send to workshop liao :huh:

just to let you know I spent $350 to recon, need put in workshop for 3 days..

new ones no stock as that time the truck already out of production for 3yrs.. new NHR model cannot use as they incorporated turbo into the new engine, so the coupling was of a different kind..

Got a quote from Jbee workshop near Permas Jaya for RM500 on labor fee only for the following.

Forget the name liao but its one of the big workshop along rows of shophouses opposite a eating place and VCD shop.

1) Suspension - front upper & lower

2) All 4 Engine mountings

3) All 4 brake pads

4) Shock absorber front & back

Plus they throw in wheel rotation and alignment FOC.

Hmmm....RM500 is about Sing $200 nia. Damn checp sia!!! :blink: Seems too good to be true.......duno wana go for it or not. [sweatdrop][confused]

Got a quote from Jbee workshop near Permas Jaya for RM500 on labor fee only for the following.

Forget the name liao but its one of the big workshop along rows of shophouses opposite a eating place and VCD shop.

3) All 4 brake pads

Hmmm....RM500 is about Sing $200 nia. Damn checp sia!!! :blink: Seems too good to be true.......duno wana go for it or not. [sweatdrop][confused]

It's not damn cheap ah. I think it's justifiable. Your suspension change seem to be involving the same parts. Perhaps labor in SG should be about $100. Then engine mounting I changed 3, labor cost is $80. Brake pads isn't a big job too, if $15 per side, total about $60 (this is an pricey estimate). Total $240..

Of course I don't know if ur quotation includes alignment or not la. If got, then it's cheap indeed.

Have to go Minghee buy the stuff first and risk taking it pass the MY customs.

i heard they will impose tax even on spare parts for servicing ?

Got ppl tell me to put into the spare tyre slot. Must keep out of slight. [sweatdrop]

It's not damn cheap ah. I think it's justifiable. Your suspension change seem to be involving the same parts. Perhaps labor in SG should be about $100. Then engine mounting I changed 3, labor cost is $80. Brake pads isn't a big job too, if $15 per side, total about $60 (this is an pricey estimate). Total $240..

Of course I don't know if ur quotation includes alignment or not la. If got, then it's cheap indeed.

Ya its true.

i show them my written list not by word of mouth or phone call.

They even did a brief visual inspection on my sonata first.

RM500 is purely on labor nia. I will supply all the parts. Hmmmmmmmm.........

RM500 changed so many items??? Even brake pad and Shock absorber! [shocked]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

3) All 4 brake pads

btw, me no understand item 1 ..... [confused]

Edited by Hamburger

Oh. Item 1 is for the upper and lower arm front side.

U mean u can bring me to your workshop ? (Yuan Seng Pusat Servis Kreta). i wana go on the 14th or 15th early morning.

i got goggle map search the address u given me. It show somewhere near bukit indah near the big round-about ? Is it correct ?

Immediately after that send the car for grooming as well.

U know the short cut backway at the Jbee customs ? There is a very last car wash which quoted me RM90 for polishing. haha.

btw, me no understand item 1 ..... [confused]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Oh. Item 1 is for the upper and lower arm front side.

U mean u can bring me to your workshop ? (Yuan Seng Pusat Servis Kreta). i wana go on the 14th or 15th early morning.

i got goggle map search the address u given me. It show somewhere near bukit indah near the big round-about ? Is it correct ?

Immediately after that send the car for grooming as well.

U know the short cut backway at the Jbee customs ? There is a very last car wash which quoted me RM90 for polishing. haha.

this one easy change lah.

since you are changing dampers, can 1 shot do all.

ok, when near the date, pm me. i can go there do CNY shopping :D

I just had my engine mounting (all 4 parts) for my civic changed at Chip Soon Auto for $680 before GST, inclusive of labour. My civic is now 4 years old with a 80k mileage.

Just for comparison, I called Kah Motors and was quoted $600+ over the phone, but that is NOT inclusive of labour (not sure about GST). Another contact quoted me $620 (inclusive of GST) before labour charges.

Interestingly, it was the guy at Chip Soon that asked if I felt any vibration in my car. Indeed, I could feel that my ride vibrating when i start my engine in the morning. Me, being not a technical guy, thought that a normal servicing (ie change of engine oil) will solve the problem. He also showed my current mounting and a new one and indeed, there is a difference. Hard to describe.

Now, its SMOOTH...!

Item 1 - upper arm is a U-shape metal installed just above the spring coil.

Saw them replace it. Not a big job and done in about 1+ hour for the front 2 pieces, including replacing the shock absorbers at the same time.

Now left engine mounting replacement.

Is item 1 the whole arm does it need to be replaced or ppl will just replace the arm bushing?

Edited by Hiphiphoray

80k need to replace EM ?

Then my car way overdue liao. Its running 140+k now.

The engine mounting parts 4 pcs still sitting in the boot. Bot from Min Ghee for $295/- all original hyundai parts.

Jbee workshop quoted RM230 labor. Overall $390/- Quite cheap. ^_^

I just had my engine mounting (all 4 parts) for my civic changed at Chip Soon Auto for $680 before GST, inclusive of labour. My civic is now 4 years old with a 80k mileage.

Just for comparison, I called Kah Motors and was quoted $600+ over the phone, but that is NOT inclusive of labour (not sure about GST). Another contact quoted me $620 (inclusive of GST) before labour charges.

Interestingly, it was the guy at Chip Soon that asked if I felt any vibration in my car. Indeed, I could feel that my ride vibrating when i start my engine in the morning. Me, being not a technical guy, thought that a normal servicing (ie change of engine oil) will solve the problem. He also showed my current mounting and a new one and indeed, there is a difference. Hard to describe.

Now, its SMOOTH...!

Hi guys, need your advise on changing em for stream of 8yrs plus. Is it worth to change? Stamford charging $600plus. Any impact if i dun change it? Or is it ok not to get an ori em? I was tinking to scrap it at 10yrs. Thnks all!

600+??? Wah bmw outside workshop about $400-600

For stream should be about $200-$350