Fuelsaver Supercharged August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 600+??? Wah bmw outside workshop about $400-600 For stream should be about $200-$350 My korean ride was quoted some 400+ for all 4 em ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acewin 4th Gear August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 Hi guys, need your advise on changing em for stream of 8yrs plus. Is it worth to change? Stamford charging $600plus. Any impact if i dun change it? Or is it ok not to get an ori em? I was tinking to scrap it at 10yrs. Thnks all! I just change mine car is sylphy all 3 mounting include labour is $420.0 outside workshop. Any impact if don't change I guess this is very subjective only you know and how bad is the condition now as compared to you first drive. Normal mounting is about 140K mileage or 5 to 6 year lifespan cause the rubber will harden over time. For my case noted when at traffic light with brakes applied and gear at "D" position, when car is new no sound. Over time there is this tak tak sound coming and sound gets louder over time. after change, car feels like new very shiok to drive. Just base on my experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 Hi guys, need your advise on changing em for stream of 8yrs plus. Is it worth to change? Stamford charging $600plus. Any impact if i dun change it? Or is it ok not to get an ori em? I was tinking to scrap it at 10yrs. Thnks all! still got almost 1.5 years best to change though not much impact except the vibration will become very bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 My korean ride was quoted some 400+ for all 4 em400+ still reasonable but 600 plus abit high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 400+ still reasonable but 600 plus abit high tks bro; still contemplating cos left 1yr n few mths.. maybe do up, enjoy a while before selling / trade-in next few mths if coe becomes more "reasonable".. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 Actually, it is usually the engine mount dampener that is broken. There are usually 4 mounting bracket holding up the engine. The 3 bracket are roller which is very robust and rugged. Suggest you check visually the 4 brackets for breakage and change accordingly. For my carens, I change the dampener I bought online - USD 205 and go JB CenturyAuto to change. I tot I paid for labour RM150~200 to change all 4 in 2014 ?? The dampener cost USD 56.5 It turn out the 3 brackets is in very OK condition. Could have save on the part USD140 and labour cost. Without the dampener, the vibration is quite bad. I think the wiring and hose connecting body and engine may break lor, over long term. Hi guys, need your advise on changing em for stream of 8yrs plus. Is it worth to change? Stamford charging $600plus. Any impact if i dun change it? Or is it ok not to get an ori em? I was tinking to scrap it at 10yrs. Thnks all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hasram Clutched August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 Thnk u all for the advise.....appreciate it very much....usually workshop suggest change the em rather only dampeners? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hasram Clutched August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Today i went to eng hup yew tee village...mr simon quoted me mus change all 4 EM n for stream he charge me $730... can members pls recommend any cheaper shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acewin 4th Gear August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Today i went to eng hup yew tee village...mr simon quoted me mus change all 4 EM n for stream he charge me $730... can members pls recommend any cheaper shop? Wah this shop the knife very sharp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Today i went to eng hup yew tee village...mr simon quoted me mus change all 4 EM n for stream he charge me $730... can members pls recommend any cheaper shop? try proswift or autosaver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 One of the sponsors here quoted me $600 for parts & labour to change engine mounting for Honda Jazz, market rate or not, I find it quite exorbitant! Did some groundwork and these are what I paid for: Engine mounting (S$160.50) from Tanly at waterloo streetLabour (RM170 = S$58.31) JB workshop Total around $220 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 One of the sponsors here quoted me $600 for parts & labour to change engine mounting for Honda Jazz, market rate or not, I find it quite exorbitant! Did some groundwork and these are what I paid for: Engine mounting (S$160.50) from Tanly at waterloo street Labour (RM170 = S$58.31) JB workshop Total around $220 It's not fair to compare Singapore labour cost to malaysia labour cost and say people carrot you. Not wrong to go JB for repair though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Definitely, I understand workshops in sg have higher overheads, but nothing in my reply mentioned anything about making a Robert out of he who chooses to patronize local workshops. The word I used was "exorbitant", which was in comparison to JB workshops. It's not fair to compare Singapore labour cost to malaysia labour cost and say people carrot you.Not wrong to go JB for repair though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 (edited) One of the sponsors here quoted me $600 for parts & labour to change engine mounting for Honda Jazz, market rate or not, I find it quite exorbitant! Did some groundwork and these are what I paid for: Engine mounting (S$160.50) from Tanly at waterloo street Labour (RM170 = S$58.31) JB workshop Total around $220 I paid labour fee S$160 for the below job. I brought all the parts to the WS (Singapore Ws, NOT Malaysia) A) Change engine oil B) Change Spark plug C) Change Rear brake pad D) Change Air Con filter E) Change Engine filter F) Change Engine + Gear Mounting Edited August 25, 2016 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Definitely, I understand workshops in sg have higher overheads, but nothing in my reply mentioned anything about making a Robert out of he who chooses to patronize local workshops. The word I used was "exorbitant", which was in comparison to JB workshops. Relax. Maybe I shouldn't use the word carrot. Just saying it's not Apple to Apple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hasram Clutched August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 Mayb will look see at toh guan ws. For msian ws, is it easily to get part of stream EM? Any msian ws to recomend? Thnks guys! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 U ownself buy parts SG and goto JB. I recommend Century Auto, just outside Woodlands CP - Near York Hotel. They may even give you are free oil change if you ownself bring EO+Filter. Please take note that all/almost all new goods entering Malaysia are subjected to custom excise duty. Mayb will look see at toh guan ws. For msian ws, is it easily to get part of stream EM? Any msian ws to recomend? Thnks guys! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholaspang Neutral Newbie October 30, 2016 Share October 30, 2016 I paid labour fee S$160 for the below job. I brought all the parts to the WS (Singapore Ws, NOT Malaysia) A) Change engine oil B) Change Spark plug C) Change Rear brake pad D) Change Air Con filter E) Change Engine filter F) Change Engine + Gear Mounting Hi bro can I know details of the workshop? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...