Road Hogging Rule in SGP

Ferrislong

Please listen to this song and take to heart the message that the artist is trying to convey. I hope you can remember it every time you're on the road.

When I encounter hoggers on the road you will usually find me singing this.

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh] .....................

No.1 - This is a 3 year old thread. Why you dig up again?!

No.2 - You is troll not new citizen, not Singaporean, not foreign talent. Troll.

No.3 - If you ride a bike, no problem riding in a lane. You deserve the lane just like any other motorists, nobody has a bigger share, nobody has a smaller share, regardless of lorry, car or bike. The fact is that, if on Overtaking Lane, if you are not overtaking at speed limit, why don't you move to the lane which is at your speed, rather than holding up others who have equal share of the road as you?

No.4 - If there is no road hogging, there will be no tailgating. If you don't want people to tailgate you, move out of their way. Example, today on AYE, I was travelling at 90km/h which is borderline speed, behind me a Grand Vitara was catching up. I signalled way before he was within 500M of me and changed to the 2nd lane to let him overtake me. Shortly, I caught up with him and he wasn't overtaking any cars. I doubt he was going to let me pass as he kept slowing down at different times without braking, so waiting for the right moment, I 'undertake' him and carried on my way. No need to play anything. Some people will make life difficult for you even if you made life easy for them, no need to take everything to heart.

No.5 - For bike riders, I don't like them lane splitting as they move in and out of drivers' blindspots and in Singapore, there are a lot of blind drivers. But is it safer than riding in between 2 cars on the fast lane? The car in front hits the brake hard, you fly. The car behind lose patience and hit you, you either fly or go under. It's not all good either. Ride responsibly and be alert at all times, that's all I can say to you.

This is a very old topic - one that will never go away. Don't feed the trolls.

sibei good say!!!............ [thumbsup] ............power up 5..........

Hoggers will always think those behind are tailgaters.

Tailgaters will always think those in front are hoggers.

if people know their basic theory and "keep left unless overtaking", then there will be no hoggers and there's no point to tailgate if there's no where for the car in front to go...

6765123445_baa82465b1.jpg6765123355_ec2e5c7e06.jpg

For motorcycle, to lane split between lane 1 and 2 at high speed is dangerous. To riding in between 2 cars front and behind on lane 1 is also dangerous. But there is a way to make the latter safer than the former. The key is to strictly keep 2 seconds following distance.

From my observation, many cars on lane 1 just keep 1 second following distance or even less than 1 second. Maybe them are really talented driver which I don't know. The concept is widely accepted by many drivers till when the vehicle in front keep 2 seconds safe following distance will be consider road hogger already.

Someone exhibiting to overtake is just not satisfied with the non-proper following distance in his eye. I hope those talented drivers can give a chance to safe players to survive well on expressway.

I have no problem doing lane splitting at 120kph between lane 1 and 2 with a motorcycle.. IMHO, it is much safer than hogging on lane 1 as the driver behind is definitely very anxious to overtake you. You don't want to push him to do something which you regret later on.

Well, if you insist on keeping a good following distance, you can always keep to lane 2 or 3.

For motorcycle, to lane split between lane 1 and 2 at high speed is dangerous. To riding in between 2 cars front and behind on lane 1 is also dangerous. But there is a way to make the latter safer than the former. The key is to strictly keep 2 seconds following distance.

From my observation, many cars on lane 1 just keep 1 second following distance or even less than 1 second. Maybe them are really talented driver which I don't know. The concept is widely accepted by many drivers till when the vehicle in front keep 2 seconds safe following distance will be consider road hogger already.

Someone exhibiting to overtake is just not satisfied with the non-proper following distance in his eye. I hope those talented drivers can give a chance to safe players to survive well on expressway.

Wah.. just 7 post, already -25 points.. You're probably one of the fastest, if not the fastest to kena junk til -ve points in this forum.

Now to your point, no.. i won't give chance to less talented drivers. You're not good enough, f off to the left lanes. Hope that is simple enough.

Wah.. just 7 post, already -25 points.. You're probably one of the fastest, if not the fastest to kena junk til -ve points in this forum.

Now to your point, no.. i won't give chance to less talented drivers. You're not good enough, f off to the left lanes. Hope that is simple enough.

I just add another 5 junk points [sly][grin] .

this is 1 example we meet almost every day on the road.

3 lane PIE example.

third lane all slow vehicle,

2nd lane mix of small van and car, and speed about 80 +-.

1st lane zun zun got 1 bugger insists on driving at 88 km /hrs. the whole stretch on road in front of him is clear till cannot see any car. and behind him got 1 whole stretch of car waiting to over take,

to me if speeding at 100-110 , but every 1 is doing the same at 1st lane all following smoothly, is call following the flow of traffic.

if every 1 can do the same it will reduce accident and jam AND LESS ERP.

of course that bugger driving 88 in first lane can say i DRIVE FOR 20 YEARS WITHOUT ANY ACCIDENT ,

but he dun know indirectly he cause cars to over take from left , and maybe how many accident he cause already when the accident happen behind him .

speeding is only dangerous when it apply to punks racing each other on the road, AND OVER TAKING DANGEROUSLY.

other wise i say that bugger doing 88 is more of a road hazard then all other cars following the traffic but doing 100-110.

Edited by Beregond

I have no problem doing lane splitting at 120kph between lane 1 and 2 with a motorcycle.. IMHO, it is much safer than hogging on lane 1 as the driver behind is definitely very anxious to overtake you. You don't want to push him to do something which you regret later on.

Well, if you insist on keeping a good following distance, you can always keep to lane 2 or 3.

Agree with this. I have same exp on a bike.

When driving Car on lane 1, I restrict to <110kmh. If the guy behind still insist on closing in = I signal left .....