More OPC cheaters caught after new scheme implement

3dwin

tink they use the gps system to track down the opc users. found out that whenever my cashcard value is less than 5 bucks, the unit will beep even there is no erp gantry. just drive along the road and u will notice the unit will beep. so i guess lta uses the gps system to track [drivingcar]

Bro. U're very very observant about the beep thig. [sly] BUt one thing for sure. They ain't using GPS.

Edited by Rickster

Yes...I experemented with a low value card in my IU all the time.

Even at night when the so called ERP gantry are no operational, actually their sensors are continuous tracking the car IUs. Each time you will hear the low value beep sound after pass the gantry.

And many times for no good reason the IU will beep too. Now that you have mentioned it, I suppose the gov is really able to or already have installed a sensor at every traffic junction.

Maybe install in the overhead type of traffic lights or in street lamps or convert those traffic lights speed camare to be a sensor....the possibilities are endless.

These OPC owners better dont play play with the rule.

So easy to cheat...you think gov will allow to implement the new OPC e-licence scheme?

Like what Jack Neo say...."Gov Not Stupid"

not GPS so high tech de...

most probably unmarked gantries somewhere, cos the beep is always the same place on that same few roads, and there are quite alot of unmarked gantries.

Wah, unmark gantries? so high tech huh? :wacko:

If they are unmark, how u know?

U can identify it when you insert in a cash card value that is below $5 (of course it will beep initially and when u pass by a gantry that is not activatd).

But when u r not passing by any gantry and suddely it beeps? Go think about it. :ph34r:

they use video i think, those video cam in carpark, my friend only come down to car park go to next car park to wash car.... never go out of main road, then got it...

LTA use a combination of methods to track and they made well sure that it works before they decide to allow the OPC to go electronic coupons.

the beep thing tracking thing maybe true... Low value pass by that same area sure beep one, and its not even a erp gantry area too... ERP gantry area, comfirm sure beep... but non-erp area, and same non-erp area.. hmm.. go figure

There must be some system of "proof" I would suppose if the govt is issuing fines which I would hope would go beyond just noting down numbers and then go back and check.

I think that it is "duty" of govt to advise how people are being caught, eg: when go through gantry auto check for example. It is right of citizens to know how they are being tracked, and also right of the accused to know how evidence was gathered against them (and challenge that evidence if they feel inaccurate)

yup... they use manpower to take down their number plate... saw once on sat aetos take down opc car plate no in front of me when entering jb b4 3pm....

yes, i think the tracking is still very prehistoric.. my OPC was going in JB on one weekday morning.. we were stop at the secondary clearance ( where they will check for the 3/4 petrol) Instead of checking my petrol. the customs girl was taking down my number plate in her 555 notebook [laugh]

i thought LTA would have these records when i pay the $1.20 at the primary clearance .. perhaps they are not so "advance '" after all...

There must be some system of "proof" I would suppose if the govt is issuing fines which I would hope would go beyond just noting down numbers and then go back and check.

I think that it is "duty" of govt to advise how people are being caught, eg: when go through gantry auto check for example. It is right of citizens to know how they are being tracked, and also right of the accused to know how evidence was gathered against them (and challenge that evidence if they feel inaccurate)

knowing how it works over here, if u go challenge them, they might double your fine... [laugh]

but i do agree with you.... it sounds scary IF LTA simply "trust" 100% of what is jotted down by a "human" without any "technical" proof or evidence from advance technology..... we all know human are not 100% trustable ... the Romanian chap is a very good example... if not for that accident, who will doubt his "moral" and integrity level, right?

just like those cisco guy jot down number plate for any parking offense, and then we receive "love letter"...... i kind of disagree with that practice..... [thumbsdown]

knowing how it works over here, if u go challenge them, they might double your fine... [laugh]

but i do agree with you.... it sounds scary IF LTA simply "trust" 100% of what is jotted down by a "human" without any "technical" proof or evidence from advance technology..... we all know human are not 100% trustable ... the Romanian chap is a very good example... if not for that accident, who will doubt his "moral" and integrity level, right?

just like those cisco guy jot down number plate for any parking offense, and then we receive "love letter"...... i kind of disagree with that practice..... [thumbsdown]

Not only that - even if caught by electronic and "trusted" means, we still have a right to know what and how got caught.

IT should never be that one day LTA write letter and say "you did this" unless they can front in court with the proof that we did it - if we wish to challenge. If this means ERP logs - fine. If it means the girl from Immigration showing up in court with notebook - fine. But we should have the right to face and challenge the evidence

I remember last time when speed camera fine, we could request photo to verify a) car and b) driver (that wasn't in Singapore though)

just remove your IU. those signal transmitters will not be able to detect you.

i believe there are signal transmitters around us w/o us knowing.

but to confirm this, maybe someone can remove the cashcard and see if the IU still beeps occasionally. haha

There is so many H'way cam....just record your number down...25 hours later, key in your plate number...you dun have e-License...send you love letter.

(my guess lah)....they invested so much in the monitor system....time for them to make back the money !!

Wanna try your luck ? Just dun get caught lor !!

Last time hear say lah....when TP HQ was still at Tanjong Pagar....

You can view the photos....but you need to pay.

But I am sure they have ways to catch OPC and the offenders really committed the offense...that is why they dun dare to challenge the summons. Cos if go court...I am sure the summon will be way higher and punishment much more.

Eg...for TP when they send you summon for speeding, they have date and time + location of the offense. If you really was not the person, you can challenge to see the photo...maybe that is why now SOP TP/LTA will send you a letter to request for driver particular...last time it was default the owner will be the driver unless otherwise...you send in the driver particular.

tink they use the gps system to track down the opc users. found out that whenever my cashcard value is less than 5 bucks, the unit will beep even there is no erp gantry. just drive along the road and u will notice the unit will beep. so i guess lta uses the gps system to track [drivingcar]

Your IU beep cos you are near a ERP gantry or you pass by one of those ERP style carpark.

Your IU does not have a GPS transmitter/receiver how to track you via GPS ?

(Or maybe LTA sends a burst of ERP signal to all the IU to piss you off by beeping non stop ? Just to irritate you....it bugs me to no end...and I always top up ASAP !!)

My office uses ERP style parking system...so when my cashcard is low...even when I pass thru the barrier entry or exit, the IU will beep. (system uses the IU ID to register those with/without season)

I don't think it's 5k la.. I had a friend who got caught and he paid $2k only.. Another fren paid $1k..

Unless they've revised the fine amount recently..

the fine is seriously too low... what is $1K compared to the $15K OPC savings? this is one of the few fines which i hope gahmen will up, up and up

eh...did you read who I'm replying to?

anyway to repeat, if your IU less than $4 you pass by a gantry it will beep 5 time to warn low-value. Did if you notice while you travel around singapore roads with low-value. You will occasionally heard the 5 beeps.

At first I tot it's just random reminder but I soon realise it's not.....it's always the same road same place the UI will beep low-value. So I conclude got hidden gantry (as the dude I'm replying to had realised too)

SO you still think LTA "random" check OPCs?

Unmark gantry? Then JB also have lor.

People who travel to JB City Sq will know...