What is your driving posture?

Ahtong

For those who drive in 'Racer' position, don't you find you have less control of the car? maybe it was just me...I think it would be difficult to control the car accurately in emergency and tight situation.

Not really. Your elbows should not be completely straight (locked) at the 9-3 position - if you do it this way, you'll face a control issue. They should be bent at a slight angle so that you can still do crossed forearm steering quickly without feeling uncomfortable (the forearm that ends up on top goes to a locked elbow). Perfect car control.

I see. Thanks.

Cos from the picture, cos the backrest is so far back...in order for the arm to be slightly bend...either the seat have to go really close to the front or the steering wheel have to have telescopic adjustment.

i agree w u. dont like racer position. its like during braking and acceleration, i cant feel how deep i actually depress the pedal.

when the arms are less curved, the control on the steering also less arm power.

ya lor... i watch all the race drivers on tv or TOP GEAR / fifth gear, none of them sit like the racer cartoon in the first post.

when arms are fully outstretched, the less control of the steering the driver will have.

Haha im mostly the multi-tasker or the pimp ... just that i rest my arm on the so called "armrest" instead of putting my hand on the gearbox . [laugh]

wah my driving posture is a cross between the racer and the pimp. i drive with one hand and one leg (auto transmission), left hand usually resting on centre console.

sometimes i cross my left leg under also, although that's quite dangerous. :p

wah my driving posture is a cross between the racer and the pimp. i drive with one hand and one leg (auto transmission), left hand usually resting on centre console.

sometimes i cross my left leg under also, although that's quite dangerous. :p

Eh, same!

Except the cross leg lah. Doesn't that feel weird?

My back is lean back between the Multi-tasker and the Racer, seats position are slightly back where my shoulders are almost where the seat belt is.

Usually i drive with 1 hand, the other one resting on highway unless i'm doing turns/u-turning.

i put my left arm on armrest and my left fist on the gear knob.. but my gf always laugh at me leh.

because mine is autocar.. lol. but sometimes i play with manual override, if thats what u call it :D

Eh, same!

Except the cross leg lah. Doesn't that feel weird?

no it doesn't, u try? just put your left leg up on the seat, left foot does under the right knee.

i did that 'cause when i switched over from manual cars, i used both feet when driving auto, haha!

no it doesn't, u try? just put your left leg up on the seat, left foot does under the right knee.

i did that 'cause when i switched over from manual cars, i used both feet when driving auto, haha!

i sometimes also like that, on lazy days...

in shorts! hahahaa

"both feet when driving auto" can be very dangerous.

Edited by Yuan

Wow, okay....

Ya, I had a problem initially when switching from manual to auto too. But now quite used to driving with one leg liao. Haha.

But anyway, since you're a lady, doesn't that look unglam to cross your legs like that?

Edited by Benarsenal