Devilcup 3rd Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 U change fuel filter every 5-10k km? I thot fuel filter can last 40-60k km... ya fuel pump filter will need to change ard 50k km. if you pump sg fuel most of time, u can drag til 80k km (if you dare) :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csw87 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 hey TS you are better off than me, my picanto's fuel pump died on me when the car was 3 months old!!! yes 3 months old!! no JB petrol somemore! went back and screwed C&C and they told me what do u expect its a KIA? (Why dun they try using that to sell in their showroom) Make damn a lot of noise and then manager came out to pacify and promised to get back to me with some sweeteners till now its 1 yr 4 months and counting, and i have heard nothing from them. Pissed by their after sales, I no longer do servicing with C&C. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilcup 3rd Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 is ur fuel pump fixed til now no problem? i really think the part is faulty one. some of the part they usye is really crap. but i think as long it is fixed and no problem liao. should be ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 Did you change your fuel filter every 5k~10k? If 2year you never change before it could be one of the factors caused your fuel pump life shorter. Only external fuel pump broken frequent not the original stock fuel pump. Not 5-10K lar.... don't need to be that fierce. Just around 40-50K will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear March 27, 2011 Share March 27, 2011 bros, sorry to hijack, i'm looking to replace my fuel pump for my vios, how much am i looking at? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear March 28, 2011 Share March 28, 2011 There are a few toyota stockists at kelantan jln berseh areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 28, 2011 Share March 28, 2011 I personally think that its ridiculars if fuel pump damaged due to overheating. If the fuel pump could produced enough heat to damage itself, i dont think its safe to be place inside the fuel tank.... just my 2 cents tot.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 28, 2011 Share March 28, 2011 I personally think that its ridiculars if fuel pump damaged due to overheating. If the fuel pump could produced enough heat to damage itself, i dont think its safe to be place inside the fuel tank.... just my 2 cents tot.... I agree. Fuel pumps are basically canned pumps. The so call "cooling" is the fuel itself going thru the pumps internal, not outside. Unless the fuel level gets so low that it is sucking in air, else should not overheat at low level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LowFlyin Neutral Newbie April 3, 2012 Share April 3, 2012 Old thread. FIgure I'd bump with some good info. SG can get pretty hot, there have been a few instances where I'm from when it is very hot outside (95 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlimpl Neutral Newbie April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Used to own an Opel Astra and had fuel pump broke down twice within three years' of each incident. Cost of replacement was over $600 each time at the agent. No choice but to have this part replaced despite the costs. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Fuel pump can broke down? How it happened? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 I also owned astra before. Broke my own records too....for the highest number of breakdowns and towtruck rides. The most notorious is the fuel pump. After spending money and repairs, workshop told me that it could be loosed connectors at fuel pump. Cant imagine I endured it and continued to use for next 3 years till end of COE. Now Toyota, so far so good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Old thread. FIgure I'd bump with some good info. SG can get pretty hot, there have been a few instances where I'm from when it is very hot outside (95 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jansonfinn Neutral Newbie April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 I also suspect my fuel pump is giving me problem. I'm driving a Peugeot Partner van. During highway cruising, the fuel pump does not give me any problems. But when the engine is at idling mode (at traffic light junction or waiting for some1), the problem will come. The engine diagnostic light will light up & my engine will stall. Sometimes immediately restarting the ignition will solve the problem, sometimes have to wait for few seconds before starting the engine (That is quite stress driving on the SG road as u r unable to drive off immediately after stalling). Any WS in SG that I can go to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elcs78 Neutral Newbie June 23, 2012 Share June 23, 2012 Hi all, recently I have a hardtime starting my car.It will only start occasionally after the first cranking. Initially I thought was my batt prob cos I had used it for 2 yrs 11 mths (from toyota/wet cell). My ws used the metre to check and i saw from the metre reading its time to change. I changed to amaron 45. However, still gt cranking prob. I read from forum that it might be due to fuel pump issue. I called and checked with one of the shops along owen rd that orginal set will cause abt 220. May I know how to diagnose whether it is really fuel pump prob?where is a good workshop to diagnose at a good price. Spent about 1k+ on my car already due to wear and tear n my car is now 6 yrs old (altis 06 model). My friend told me his ws recommend to use my spare key.Sometimes it might be due to the slot prob. But same prob. Will happen once in a while.Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trafficwatch Clutched June 23, 2012 Share June 23, 2012 (edited) Bros. what's your ride mileage now ? Your Altis need to replace new fuel filters (2 filters need to replace) if your mileage had reached 160K or else sluggish feeling during gas pedal especially on highway of which i had encountered lately and got it replaced and problem solved. So far Altis fuel pump unlikely to fail base on my understanding. Edited June 23, 2012 by Trafficwatch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elcs78 Neutral Newbie June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 My mileage is currently about 95k. I have already changed fuel filter (below car backseat) oil ring & etc. Seriously dun knw why also leh. Is abit sluggish lar not as power as b4 I feel. Any good and cheap workshop to recommend?Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Hi all, recently I have a hardtime starting my car.It will only start occasionally after the first cranking. Initially I thought was my batt prob cos I had used it for 2 yrs 11 mths (from toyota/wet cell). My ws used the metre to check and i saw from the metre reading its time to change. I changed to amaron 45. However, still gt cranking prob. I read from forum that it might be due to fuel pump issue. I called and checked with one of the shops along owen rd that orginal set will cause abt 220. May I know how to diagnose whether it is really fuel pump prob?where is a good workshop to diagnose at a good price. Spent about 1k+ on my car already due to wear and tear n my car is now 6 yrs old (altis 06 model). My friend told me his ws recommend to use my spare key.Sometimes it might be due to the slot prob. But same prob. Will happen once in a while.Thanks. Couldnt be just the cranking starter motor problem? It's best to get 2nd opinion from another ws. Yr car could be a lemon. 6 yrs old and u already spend $1k + on repairs? What kind of stuff u repair? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...