Used Car Dealers Feedback!

Jeff08

suffer when selling? but when selling also all dealerships or exporter also want to eat you alive, got full receipts/reports of AD service even if you religiously do every 8k km also not going to "buy" you much higher $$ for trade-in value, it's probably a "ya ok, whatever.." thing to the dealer who makan the car anyway;

and AD servicing have to wait long long, and more expensive, i stick to outside mech, and i don't like those package-deal types of shop, tried before but not very satisfied, still go back to old school uncle type of ws, standard is oil and filter, anything else if need to change call my hp before going ahead, trusted ws with my previous car almost 150k km, now new (2nd hand) car also probably going back to that ws!

Kenny

selling to direct owners i mean.. i have sold cars that come with warranty. it does make it easier to sell (it was sold at $100 off the asking price)

agree that sell to dealer makes no diff. why do you wan to sell to dealer unless you're desperate (or dun care, anyway)

Edited by Shanhz

Hello to all forumers,

I'm new to this forum but this is a good site to read and gather information as I'm considering getting a 2nd hand car.

Really thanks all bros and sis for posting your experiences and advises:))

This is a good thread. I recently bought a used Mar 2007 Toyota Vios from a dealer at Tagore Used Car Mart and the dealer is Choice Auto Trading.

Never encountered any problem with the car so far. This is what I checked for before I did a purchase.

I will checked out the car dealer honesty by making small chat with him. i.e. asking him if he goes for drinking etc. Next time round, I'll ask him the same question and if answers it correctly, I'll see that he's a little honest.

With the car plate number, I'll call up the Authorized Distributor and just asked them that I'm the vehicle owner of "car plate no", and ask them I forget when was the last servicing date I did? When is the next servicing date. The AD will usually tell you, your last servicing was when and when is the next time you need to come. So this verifies that the car has gone for regular servicing and based on the last servicing mileage, you'll verify this on the odometre and can confirm that odo was not tampered with.

I send the car for STA inspection to verify chassis as usually mechanic wont be able to see this.

Always find fault with the car and use this as a bargaining tool. If dealer asks you for an option for a cash discount or help to fix those minor faults, choose for cash discount and get them to write in on the quote. Then squeeze them for free respray etc. I managed to squeeze my dealer for a free 2K respray of the car after putting down deposit.

Send the car to a mechanic so they can haul it up and check for drive shaft, welding of bumper etc. STA report will state briefly like repair job on the rear but this wont be specific.

Lastly, I'll rather buy 3-4 yr old car with mileage around 90 to 100k instead of a 3-4 yr old car with 20-30k mileage. It doesnt make sense for a car with such low mileage and usually this would've been tampered with unless you can verify the mileage with the AD.

my 2 cents.

Lastly, I'll rather buy 3-4 yr old car with mileage around 90 to 100k instead of a 3-4 yr old car with 20-30k mileage. It doesnt make sense for a car with such low mileage and usually this would've been tampered with unless you can verify the mileage with the AD.

my 2 cents.

all your points correct except that i will buy a 2.5yr old car, then left half yr go back and whack the warranty. mileage shld be as arnd 10-20k per yr, dun buy too high mileage coz wear and tear also very troublesome. AD very impt, avoid all PI cars unless you know very sure the mileage is genuine

ya bro... is like tat wan i also kana pls avoid winsor hotel level 2, i buy owner car but through tis dealer under consignment my loan reject by bank n i give them deposit $1000 n now they don wan to pay me back ask me to see other car from them.. wat the hell man... to all bro n sis pls take note tis notice... pls forward ard tis case to frds thks

Bro my friend just kanna similar case and he post this inside his car forum.

The manager saw the posting and immediately refund.

So i will suggest you put the name and the dealers name.

Bro beware of car dealers.

Here is my story. Scary but it's true.

Experience with Scam Car Dealer

Sad to say there's nothing you can do to them!!

u damn suay... he tot he can time the market correctly.. but end up, he cant get rid of ur car...

This is a good thread. I recently bought a used Mar 2007 Toyota Vios from a dealer at Tagore Used Car Mart and the dealer is Choice Auto Trading.

Never encountered any problem with the car so far. This is what I checked for before I did a purchase.

I will checked out the car dealer honesty by making small chat with him. i.e. asking him if he goes for drinking etc. Next time round, I'll ask him the same question and if answers it correctly, I'll see that he's a little honest.

With the car plate number, I'll call up the Authorized Distributor and just asked them that I'm the vehicle owner of "car plate no", and ask them I forget when was the last servicing date I did? When is the next servicing date. The AD will usually tell you, your last servicing was when and when is the next time you need to come. So this verifies that the car has gone for regular servicing and based on the last servicing mileage, you'll verify this on the odometre and can confirm that odo was not tampered with.

I send the car for STA inspection to verify chassis as usually mechanic wont be able to see this.

Always find fault with the car and use this as a bargaining tool. If dealer asks you for an option for a cash discount or help to fix those minor faults, choose for cash discount and get them to write in on the quote. Then squeeze them for free respray etc. I managed to squeeze my dealer for a free 2K respray of the car after putting down deposit.

Send the car to a mechanic so they can haul it up and check for drive shaft, welding of bumper etc. STA report will state briefly like repair job on the rear but this wont be specific.

my 2 cents.

>Davekiat

thanks .

i'll bear in mind [laugh]

mind if i ask u how much u pay for ur vios.

my 2 cents.

easier said than done

Nowadays, all dealer's car mileage very low one... So can't tell if the odo has been tempered with.

LTA will not do anything until something big happen... Major accident with deaths with evidence of foul play due to tempered odo. How can this be proven??? Not easy...

easier said than done

guess it all depends on how determined you are and how patient the car dealer is . . . . usually they are not so obliging and will label you a time-waster! not saying that all car dealers are bad but good, honest ones are hard to come by. time for some regulatory body to be formed to oversee their business practices perhaps [whip]?

LTA will not do anything until something big happen... Major accident with deaths with evidence of foul play due to tempered odo. How can this be proven??? Not easy...

agree! makes me wonder what the inspection centres do with the mileage that they recorded during our car inspection. surely they keep some kind of records no? should be able to notice some "negative" discrepancy from previous mileage readings and raise a red flag [smash] . guess its a matter of how much the authorities wants to police ... sigh

Dun remember them taking down the mileage during inspection. They only check on the physical condition of the chasis & engine. Furthermore there are quite a few inspection centres, vicom, sta etc... They dun share historical records. They juz submit result to Lta that's all.

[wave] what about those car dealers with the case decal pasted ?

i was told to meet their criterial is a must with no complians ,cheating ...etc before you're given one of those to paste on your workplace

recently a frend bought a suburau from such dealers...haven hear him kpkb at the moment

Edited by Spoony

[wave] what about those car dealers with the case decal pasted ?

i was told to meet their criterial is a must with no complians ,cheating ...etc before you're given one of those to paste on your workplace

recently a frend bought a suburau from such dealers...haven hear him kpkb at the moment

not all the dealers are bad eggs.. but few will cause turmoil or bring bad names to the industry...