Surcharge for Those Who Own More than 1 car

Nmnhnlm

That should be the correct way to curb COE prices and reduce no. of cars on the road.

Eh bodoh!

To reduce the number of cars on the road, the govt. must raise COE prices (by cutting back the number of COE quotas released), NOT curb COE prices!

Your logic is all flawed. Your IQ count appears to be questionable.

Control of car population is handled by COE & COE prices are left to market forces. A surcharge for 2nd car will only bring in more $ to the gov and make life more difficult for the middle income earners, cos the upper income will less likely to be deterred by the surcharge. Some husband and wife are in a trade that require them to have car of their own & these are the people who will suffer the most.

READ FIRST THEN POST.......

I read first. Then posted. What's your point?

Clearly you don't have two brain cells to rub together to generate a proper rebuttal, so...

CURB COE PRICES.... Enuff Said....

Enuff said indeed. Other posters have already told you how stupid your whole argument is - you want to reduce the number of cars on the road, yet keep COE prices down. What was it another poster called you? Ah yes, "bodoh". Doesn't quite do justice.

Sheesh...what's with the school holidays and these kids just being unleashed on the internet?

Control of car population is handled by COE & COE prices are left to market forces. A surcharge for 2nd car will only bring in more $ to the gov and make life more difficult for the middle income earners, cos the upper income will less likely to be deterred by the surcharge. Some husband and wife are in a trade that require them to have car of their own & these are the people who will suffer the most.

if that idea really happen, then all couples will not get married but just co-habit.... as individual, they will not be taxed.. talk about short-slightness..

anyway, at least it's not some other run of mill topic of who horn who and who tailgate who...or someone slap my yada yada long long distance relative's son's neightbour's nephew, what shd i do....

Mr. A bought 20 cars but always oversea.

Mr. B got 1 car but always driving.

So.. Traffic jam will be mostly caused by Mr. A or Mr. B?

Lucky you are not my Minister of Transport. =P

Come back again with a better plan and after you had burned more brain cells.. =p

Thats not fair to judge and implement this measures......

If the family is very big and the children are already working adults but single.....

This dont just make any sense.....Everyone will have their work and lifestyle to do.....

Besides, Middle class family will have the hardest hit.....We have already been " suffer" from the HDB measures because of the combined houshold limits.....Now that it has been kinda solved....Please dont implement this measures to create another "problem" for us.....

Do take a look that there are many middle class people around in Singapore......We may earn abit more, but we are not that rich.....

another brilliant idea..

can someone also rack their brain and see how we can prevent kiddos from acting like adults in car forum as well?

while we are there talking about car population, the root of the problem is people want to get from point A to B in comfort and fast but with our very well integrated public transport system, it still doesn't solve the problem..

MRT is crowded, Bus timing is never accurate.. still got the long time never arrive and once it doesn, 3-4buses of the same service turn up.. hello, not they are not playing mahjong before and after shift..

and with cars? when people want to buy, they will want to buy.. money can solve the problem? then it's not a problem..

COE higher? loan period shorter or higher downpayment? how much will it bring down the population?

And not to mention the journey time!... one end to another end can take up to 1.5hrs going by bus-MRT-bus... one way!

Tio lor. Driving (if road is clear) at most 30 mins. One third the time.

The remaining one hour, can do so much things. Like work.

Which is more productive?

Tio lor. Driving (if road is clear) at most 30 mins. One third the time.

The remaining one hour, can do so much things. Like work.

Which is more productive?

if only the one planning pro-creation is also working at LTA, then he/she will understand that having ERP up to 8pm is a mistake.. coz people are ringfenced at workplace and can't go home..

take public transport? oh mind, it's making love.. there's foreplay.. not go home, wank into a cup and pass it to the wife when she's home from work, and tell her to pour it in..

Er....you know how many cars each MIW has???

=============

Like that cannot impose additional tax for >1 car cos then they wil have to pay more & then the next thing we know, their salary increase another 10%. [shocked]

Policy which penalize the rich will never be implemented. The whole point is to squeeze the middle income

===============

Exactly.

After all the rich make the policies so I doubt they wil do anything to inconvenience themselves.

Thats why SG always the policies only place the burden on the middle & lower income.

In SG the poor subsidises the rich. [dizzy]

Good idea. 1 household 1 car. Anything more, surcharge for COE, road tax, insurance, season parking etc. Make sure the cost of ownership for 2nd car is 3 times higher than the 1st one. If got 3rd card, than its at least 3 times higher than 2nd one.

=================

Like that the rich mofos have several houses so they can buy several cars whereas the poor mofos have only 1 house so can only buy 1 car.

Still the rich wins.

I suggest imposing higher income taxes or a luxury tax on high end goods only & remove the GST altogether. Lower income dont need to pay taxes at all.

Now GST taxes everybody the same & the impact on the lower income is felt much more than the wealthy. Other countries wil try to tax the rich more but SG is the opposite.

As what was mentioned, the rich make the decisions so they wil not implement anything that is bad for them.

Good, then they can contribute funds to nation building!! Its not stopping them from owning more cars. Just making them pay more.

I am sure gahment will be very happy to receive more money.

=================

What wud b better is a form of "Luxury Tax" that imposes high tax on high end goods which r mostly bought by the rich. Low end or cheaper goods can b subsidised by gharmen from the revenue obtained from the luxury tax.

This seems fairer as if pple want the best & can afford to pay, then by all means buy it.

You sound like a mofo sour grape.

BTW, not all people who own 2 cars drive BIG cars. Some people own 2 out of necessity.

People should be taxed based on car usage. Not ownership.

That should be the correct way to curb COE prices and reduce no. of cars on the road.

Many rich mofos have more than 1 car and husband drive one, wife drive another, child drive another...... 3 cars occupy the road from just 1 family.

So, there should be a surcharge for those who own more than 1 car. COE for 2nd car should be at least 500% higher and the same for road tax. 3rd car 1000% higher and so on. If they are rich and can afford 10-20 million for a car, by all means (very few of them so they don't contribute to congestion anyway).

discourage people from owning multiple cars and clog the road. Allow gahment to earn more money also.

Edited by Achtung

sour grape spotted...

instead of bringing down the rich, spend more time to make yourself one of the rich :D

===============

That is easier said than done.

Nobody wants to b poor & the rich have several advantages in getting richer, so in most countries, the gharmen wil try to gave a helping hand to the not well off by subsidies & tax the rich (who can afford to pay) more to fund the subsidies.

Unfortunately in SG this is not the case. The poor r left to mainly fend for themselves & the rich merrily get richer.

My utter respect and my exact sentiments.

Another completely idiotic thread. The TS talks about imposing a surcharge for those who own more than one car. But in his post, he mentions "rich mofos" who buy own a car themselves, then buy one for their wife and another for their child. If these cars are all under said "rich mofo"'s own name, then sure, this policy might actually work. But isn't it trivially easy for "rich mofos" to buy cars in the respective names of their spouses and children? Surely "rich mofos" would've thought of that, right?! [rolleyes]

Then there's the case of a single "rich mofo" owning multiple cars in his own name. No-one else uses them. In which case, sure you can penalise the "rich mofo" until he becomes less of a "rich mofo" but to what end? If your intent is to reduce crowding on the roads, your targeting is way-off, right? "Rich mofos" generally can't drive more than one car at a time by themselves, not even after getting the "rich mofo" plastic surgery special to get extra limbs appended to their trunks.

And all this ignores the fundamental fly in the ointment. Fiscal punitive measures are far more likely to affect "poor non-mofos" than "rich mofos". Do you hear the really "rich mofos" bitching about ERP, COE or all the other measures the gahmen has already put in place?

Another thread started completely bereft of thought.

Many rich mofos have more than 1 car and husband drive one, wife drive another, child drive another...... 3 cars occupy the road from just 1 family.

So, there should be a surcharge for those who own more than 1 car. COE for 2nd car should be at least 500% higher and the same for road tax. 3rd car 1000% higher and so on. If they are rich and can afford 10-20 million for a car, by all means (very few of them so they don't contribute to congestion anyway).

discourage people from owning multiple cars and clog the road. Allow gahment to earn more money also.

hmmm..why do you remind me of a certain forumer? who likes to stir sh*t by whining and flaming all govt policies.. your posting styles are very familiar also.. [rolleyes]

Don't think this will work.

The rich will have $$$ to pay no matter what you put in place.

The one who suffer will still be the middle class folks, like a few of the people I know, need the car as they are in sales job, can maintain as got vehicle allowance from company, but at the same time the wife will have to get another car to run errant, pick up children etc etc. So these group of people how? die la?

The way to curb COE is really to do the bidding yourself, and not let the dealer bid on your behalf.

==================

unfortunately the system is not so simple to understand & many Sporeans prefer to take the easy way & let the dealers do the bidding.

In fact the dealers can actually control the price of COEs. Its been done in other countries b4.

The know how many COEs r available so they just have to come to an agreement how many COEs each dealer wil get. They can then just bid $1 for the COE.

But of course then they wil upset the gharmen, so they must then decide a "fair" amount to bid so the gharmen wil also b happy.

If the dealers can co-operate, we can have a very stable & cheap system.

It was done in US where TV stations must bid for the license to buy air time. All the stations co-operated & they allocate a fair amount of air time to each station at a very low price.

But since they also bid a "fair" price, the gharmen is also happy.