Why not many buy Skoda Superb?

MadDog70

I think Skoda is a good car.

But the current pricing just unable to attract the drivers.

Unless you intend to drive for 10 years till end COE, else it is quite hard to sell/trade-in.

If I am not wrong, it is usually -> scrap.

So the crowd rather spend a bit more for VWs, least for the brand and able to sell/trade-in with some remaining cash.

Look at current situation, only two 2nd hand Skoda (all models) on sale now -> Link

those are of the previous generation.. the current line up is very much different in term of design, built quality, equipment and features.

If anyone have read the autocar review on the Superb where it's compared against a 7 series, bentley and A8, then they would know that the superb is not one empty bottle.

but to the badge consciences people, go for the bare basic 318 or pay another 15-20k more for a passat with less feature.

as for resale, assuming a passat and a superb being sold 5 years down the road, so how much body value can both get? do note that upfront, you have sink in a significant amount for the passat?

baring those kiddos' innocent comments, the rest of drivers should really take a look at a car or have test driven it before making a valid comment.

actually you seem kind of unsure of what you should be getting...

from hot hatch GTi to compact executive sedan Jetta Sports, to executive sedan Passat...

then finally decided on a premium executive sedan Skoda Superb...

hmmm...

CC came out after I got my car man.....but I doubt she will approve the CC......she don't even approve simply superb you think she will approve the CC? [laugh]

i don't know about you,

but personally, i feel that the i45 definitely looks much trendier and modern than the staid looking Camry...

the interior definitely feels much better build and screwed together too...

although that said, the interior ambience and colour co-ordination still class leading...

the 2.4L version of the i45 is pretty decent spec ok...

don't play play...

you don't have to know me but your reputation here is quite well-known...

as for the i45, have you seen it? well built? the display car is not even spec properly to let potential buyer feel and touch. and if you called the colour combination of the display car's leather/fabric seat class leading, I have to concede that your taste is rather unique...

Actually you may be right.....

I used to drive a WRX....so I wanted to change to something more comfortable and yet not lose too much performance.....I got hooked on VW models cos I kinda dig the DSG and their turbocharged engines.....hence the trying out of almost all their models within my budget.....the only ones i didn't try are the Toureg and Phaeton [laugh]

But we are digressing here [cool]

sorry...

it's the Camry interior ambience and colour co-ordination that is class leading...

not the i45...

i typed too fast...

but the i45 is definitely miles apart from the Sonata Transform predecessor...

and the display Black unit at Komoco, having semi-leather with fabric seats are factory fitted...

KMC will fit local leather to the car when it is officially launched...

Actually you may be right.....

I used to drive a WRX....so I wanted to change to something more comfortable and yet not lose too much performance.....I got hooked on VW models cos I kinda dig the DSG and their turbocharged engines.....hence the trying out of almost all their models within my budget.....the only ones i didn't try are the Toureg and Phaeton [laugh]

But we are digressing here [cool]

bro...

why didn't you say so earlier that you used to drive a WRX??

i suppose you're still getting used to the loss of immediate power of the Superb compared to the WRX??

sorry...

it's the Camry interior ambience and colour co-ordination that is class leading...

not the i45...

i typed too fast...

but the i45 is definitely miles apart from the Sonata Transform predecessor...

and the display Black unit at Komoco, having semi-leather with fabric seats are factory fitted...

KMC will fit local leather to the car when it is officially launched...

wah.. you have potential to be the next president, coz you are quite good at prata [thumbsup]

and are you sure it's local fitted leather for the i45?

wah.. you have potential to be the next president, coz you are quite good at prata [thumbsup]

and are you sure it's local fitted leather for the i45?

yes...

this i'm definitely sure...

or at least that's what the sales person told me leh...

2.0L locally fitted leather...

2.4L though i didn't ask them...

at such prices, probably factory fitted bah...

Dude....I don't think my previous ownership of a WRX has any connection with whether a Skoda Superb is a good car or is too expensive right? Totally out of topic mah....

And no....I don't miss the power of the WRX that much.....you'll be surprised that the pickup of the superb is quite good.....easily surprising a lot of cars out there at traffic light sprints [laugh]

well,

i'd like to suggest otherwise...

it's really hard to ignore the power of the WRX...

that said, maybe you've come to a stage where you prefer more comfort rather than outright pace...

so i guess the Superb suits your lifestyle perfectly...

and the presence of a turbo engine helps the fact that you can have that access to power which you previously had in the WRX...

cheers!!

Yes...I drove my WRX for more then 3 years....so probably at the stage where I'm more "ah pek" liao.....even my wife calls me an "ah pek" for choosing this car [laugh]

Like I've been saying....its really different strokes for different folks.....and would it surprise you if I said that the i45 in my honest opinion looks fat? [:)]

hi people, pls don't get me wrong

i said in Czech, skoda means "what a shame".....that is in the local Czech language, nothing else

even the Czechies laugh at themselves about this name

my company used to provide parts for the VW group in Czech

Edited by Fedup-camry

Well I don't buy a car for status.....definitely not for "face"....

....and yes I can live with such a car.....been driving it for the past 1 year already [flowerface]

See....if calculations are thrown out of the window....then I have to say that the only reason why people reject skoda here is cos of "face" and brand image...and not cos its expensive....same like if the i45 were to be priced at a Camry level.....think everybody will curse and swear at it right?....even if its more chio and more features than a Camry?....thats where i agree with you on.....that "silliporeans" are so stuck on face image that they turn blind to a good thing....not to say that they are totally wrong or what....probably is because they may feel that if they are forking out such a large chunk of money for something.....it better be something they can show off in....

By the way.....do you think the honda accord is expensive?.....take a look at its basic cost [;)]

Skoda is not only unpopular in Singapore, it is also the same in many parts of the world probably beside Europe. At least, I read from a Car Magazine that they have to exit from Taiwan market twice. Singapore is just too small to dictate the world trend in car purchases. Taiwan is also a place dominated by the 2 Bs and the Japanese brands.

Superb is no doubt a good car [cool] . I just can't get use to its look [laugh]. A consolation may be that it looks better than the previous model, perhaps.

Regards,

and the cost is purely taxes to the governemt (in the form of COE, ARF, GST, etc). That has not not even included the cost of sale (ie, sales commission, overheads, operating csot, etc). They are in such a tight position..

Yes...I drove my WRX for more then 3 years....so probably at the stage where I'm more "ah pek" liao.....even my wife calls me an "ah pek" for choosing this car [laugh]

Like I've been saying....its really different strokes for different folks.....and would it surprise you if I said that the i45 in my honest opinion looks fat? [:)]

ehhh...

you're right to a certain extent that the i45 looks kinda fugly from the front...

but overall, it's a mite better looking than your Superb!!

cheers...

[rolleyes]

I dont know why you all are arguing so much about the price of Skoda Vs VW.

Skoda Superb is similar to VW Passat. The price is also 10K cheaper and pack with more accessory. So already cheaper.

Skoda Octavia is similar to VW Jetta. Innitial Launch is more expensive than Jetta, This i agree they are killing themselves. But now Octavia is cheaper than Jetta. So now the price in singapore for Skoday is cheaper than VW.

As for those who say Skoda parts are hard to find. I will like to ask, is Audi and VW parts hard to find? Cause like some bro mention here. They are essentially sharing the same Engine Component. Meaning, unless its non engine related issue, if not their parts should be easily replaceable (provided those are not indent base items.) if its non Engine parts, and its really hard to find, its mean that the car can still move around so you dont have to park your car at their worship while waiting for spare parts to come in.

My opinion nia,