Speedz76 2nd Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 hi yesterday was turning out of a car park lot when my back rim hit the kerb (it was a perpendilcular parking lot and im parking just beside the kerb).. was not paying attention. sighz now rims got chipped and a small piece of my tyre sidewall was gashed, and you can pull a bit of rubber out, the gash was no too deep though worried, i drove to a tyre shop at petrol station and asked the guy to check for me he did a balancing and said rims are ok. for the tyre sidewall which is slightly gashed, he says its ok and will not affect the tyres, so he just use glue and glue the dangling small piece of tyre back into the sidewall the guy seems honest as the tyre shop has been around for years and its not handled by some china workers however, i'm still worried about the tyres, as i tend to step on accelrator esp when going on bends, worried that the tyre will just give way any bros has similar experience before and any advice? should i get a second opinion if so where? the piece of rubber that was gashed has already been glued back to the sidewall though thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topaz Clutched March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 There another inner lining in the tyre, if the gash tears that then the tyre gone immediately, ur tyre should be fine, jus superficial scape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 No worries. It's safe for use... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 That lingering fear...of water ingress into the steel core and rusting it.....weakening it..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 haiz, if u really so worried then change the tyre bah. Safety is paramount since u dun seem to be convinced that its safe. Anyway, without pictures, bros here cant comment too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 Go check with a second or even a third tyre shop if you're still worried. If even after a third opinion you still have lingering doubts, just change it. We can't judge without seeing the actual thing, but if more than one tyre shop says its safe, it probably is. But I know from personal experience that the feeling of latent anxiety brought on by knowing that you are driving a vehicle with something amiss, no matter how minor, can lead to poor concentration and distraction, so if you're still worried, change it for peace of mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 If you are so worried abt it, then just change it. No need to keep thinking abt it. But yet you feel that it's a waste to change new tyre just bcoz of it and need to justify it eh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 (edited) Aiyah. I also got many gashes on tire & scratched/chipped rims also never go tire shop. ( I lousy driver lah) Just can use unless u see the sidewall got bulge or air start to leak slowly. Then u sud pay your tire shop a visit. Wah u can even b bothered to glue back the small bit of rubber? Very kia-su ah u. Hee. Edited March 27, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 That lingering fear...of water ingress into the steel core and rusting it.....weakening it..... ============ Hahaha. The air pressure wil prevent any water from getting in lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 If you want a not-here-not-there solution, just move that tyre to the rear. Move the rear tyre without the gash to the front. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 Oh air will prevent water going into the tyre. Yah hor. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 That lingering fear...of water ingress into the steel core and rusting it.....weakening it..... There are no steel component in tyre sidewall. Steel only exist at the tread and perhaps bead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 That lingering fear...of water ingress into the steel core and rusting it.....weakening it..... That lingering fear...of big cannons rusting it.....weakening it.....and the power of the cannons slowly die off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 Why tyres become cannon? Cannon wheels are wooden isn't it? Why drives a cannon on the road? I blur! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz76 2nd Gear March 28, 2010 Author Share March 28, 2010 tks bros for the replies guess i'll just monitor the tyre pressure for the next few weeks and see how.. maybe go for 2nd opinion if anything... yeah, u r right, no pic cannot advise.. i did not take any pic in the first place and dun have the pic now as the uncle at tyre shop already use glue to patch it back cant change now coz just changes a new set 3 mths ago.. tyres still damn new.. if its already 2 to 3 years already then i change lor..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 28, 2010 Share March 28, 2010 Is it like this? If so, dun worry as I used this tyre for another year or two without issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahjun Clutched March 28, 2010 Share March 28, 2010 as for the rim scratches,..can juz use sand paper to sand it off.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched March 28, 2010 Share March 28, 2010 Ai yoh, small matter. If can stand the eye-sore, leave it. If want sui sui, then change la... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...