Restarting your car engine

Randolf

Hi all,

I have been very blur lately. i keep forgetting that i had start the engine and i would ignite it again. what are the damaging effects to the car over the long term?

thank you

Hi all,

I have been very blur lately. i keep forgetting that i had start the engine and i would ignite it again. what are the damaging effects to the car over the long term?

thank you

Most likely your starter pinion will go 1st if worse the flywheel will wear out .......

Engine too quiet is it? [laugh]

My friend in HK did it with his Camry many times when he first got it. That was a year ago and apparently nothing wrong with his car. Not sure exactly how Camry compares to others in terms of quietness and sound insulation, but his previous car was a 16 year old Corolla with a very rough engine so it's understandable

haha, if its quiet still understandable. but the door and window was opened when i start the engine. this morning lagi worse, after i re-ignite the car kinda switch off and i have to restart it again. scare me sia. if i spoil the car, my dad cfm chop me sia. haha

I always did that with my honda fit,engine too quiet liao, heart pain when heard it scream in pain,haha.

This one still okie,the one i fear is while moving,i accidentally shift the gear to reverse,then hongan liao surely the gearbox byebye [wave] ,luckily i never do that YET [:|]

I noe there is a stopper that prevent u to shift the gear to R but sometimes haf the urge to shift the gear downwards to L in order to haf more power as gear one but only scare is shift upwards to R,haha [angel]

hey i used to shift to L often when i am on a slope, until my fren told me that its not wise to do so as it will damage the gear box and stuffs. Yea, seriously heartache when it scream in pain.

It's just a habbit that everyone has.

There's 2 way to prevent this to happen by either;

1) turn your car key back anti clockwise and start a again or

2) step on the fuel and feel the engine.

I usually check using no.2 [rolleyes]

correct me if i'm wrong. [rolleyes]

no 2 sounds good ^_^ thanks will do that from now on

Just remember to step on crutch (Manual) or engage to P or handbrake (Auto) just in case move forward and run some1 down...

Best way is have a clear mind before driving and dun blur !!!

It's just a habbit that everyone has.

There's 2 way to prevent this to happen by either;

1) turn your car key back anti clockwise and start a again or

2) step on the fuel and feel the engine.

I usually check using no.2 [rolleyes]

correct me if i'm wrong. [rolleyes]

actually just take a look onto the odometer will know if the engine is on or off....needle above zero, engine will be running.

I always did that with my honda fit,engine too quiet liao, heart pain when heard it scream in pain,haha.

This one still okie,the one i fear is while moving,i accidentally shift the gear to reverse,then hongan liao surely the gearbox byebye [wave] ,luckily i never do that YET [:|]

I noe there is a stopper that prevent u to shift the gear to R but sometimes haf the urge to shift the gear downwards to L in order to haf more power as gear one but only scare is shift upwards to R,haha [angel]

Ya I also kanna when I first got my FIT cos previously driving a noisy EG so suddenly feel very quiet. First few days when I stop at junction I thought car engine dies like my old EG have to look at the RPM meter to assure the engine is running [laugh]

actually just take a look onto the odometer will know if the engine is on or off....needle above zero, engine will be running.

yalor, isn't this method fastest and easiest? :huh:

best way i feel, is to prep everything eg, seat belt on, put your iphone in cradle, etc, before starting engine. once engine is on, drive off immediately.

His is simply a case of not my car so not really my problem.

Last time I also lut my fathers car. Making fast u-turns without due care to the tyres or couplings.

Rev the engine when it's cold. Turn the air con full cold when park in dark parks.

Also hit many kerbs during parking.

Trust me TS, whenit comes to your car. All this thigh will not happen as you will be very caring towards your car!

is it expensive if the flywheel wears off, sounds like a major repair.

yes. can be quite major.

depends how bad the flywheel is worn off. a flywheel almost acts like a balancer too as it is one one end of crankshaft.

the crankshaft moves the con rods and pistons. it may seem minor but an engine moves at extremely high rpms. an unbalanced engine can cause severe damage.