Adjust rear brakes

Bornno1

Anyone knows how to adjust rear brakes? my brakes feels spongy after changing pads and bleeding was done. And i checked that the rear brakes need to be adjusted. Saw my mech adjust something near the wheel hubs. Anyone know where to adjust them?

Brakes spongy, maybe bleeding not done properly. Rear brakes is self adjusted mechanically, handbrake can be adjusted to take up the wear if necessary.

Normally the rear will last more than twice the wearing of the front brake pad.

Mine is diff. My rear wears out faster twice as much than my front. I tink its bcos mine is an auto car???? So far i changed 3 sets of rear and 2 sets of front pads.

I think it is quite unusual to have rear brakes to wear out faster than the front.

Can I know what is your ride?

Mine also auto car. Change front brake pads more often than the rear brake shoes.

brake wearing has got nothing to do with what kind of transmission your car has.

Anyone knows how to adjust rear brakes? my brakes feels spongy after changing pads and bleeding was done. And i checked that the rear brakes need to be adjusted. Saw my mech adjust something near the wheel hubs. Anyone know where to adjust them?

you changed just the rear brake pads? it is quite normal to observe a different feel in the pedal when pads are changed. give a little time for the pads to bed in and it should be fine.

other than thats, you should send it back to the mechanic instead of adjusting it yourself if you do not have the expertise.

I think it is quite unusual to have rear brakes to wear out faster than the front.

Can I know what is your ride?

yeah, it is very very unusual.

yes, as pointed out it has nothing to do with auto or manual

perhaps he drives in reverse very often? hehe

Unless you are doing burn outs, the rear wear faster then front.

Burn outs > rear wheel drive vehicles at stop, acc & brake at the same time causing rear wheels to spin but car is not moving.

Happened to chance upon this thread and although reply is slightly belated, would like to point out that brakes in front always wear out faster than rear. Nothing to do with auto, manual, FWD, RWD or AWD. Simple logic, when braking, car's weight shifts forward and the front needs to wear more to stop the shift in weight. Dun believe? Take a look at any car you like and see which rotor and caliper is bigger. Front or rear? Can't find a car with 4 disc brakes? No prob. Notice how cars use front disc and rear drums? Same logic. Never will rear wear faster than front. One possibility is that your brakes are misaligned and the calipers are actually lightly touching the rotors or else you're driving a manual ride and you like to shift to neutral at an impending stop and like to engage the handbrake to coast to a stop.

Unless you are doing burn outs, the rear wear faster then front.

Burn outs > rear wheel drive vehicles at stop, acc & brake at the same time causing rear wheels to spin but car is not moving.

Never tried this before. But auto cars can do burnout meh?

So far I can only recall replacing 1 -2 sets of rear brake pads. First set for 6 year car- Kena brake fluid and the other for a 8-9 year old car.

Even for my previous car I used for 5 years. Only replaced 1 set of front brake pads.

brakes got auto slack adjustment.

Only the parking brake needs to be adjusted.

Yes it is possible.

Firstly, turn off traction control, stay in N and rev up.

Some cars need to depress brake before shifting to Drive as you are in high rpm, just pull down to D and immediatly gas the car and step harder on brakes.

It should work as when I drove FIT (front wheel), I rev the car up at N and burn the front tires in this way.

Take a look

http://www.youtube.com/watch#!v=Cb70cv...feature=channel

Edited by Vhtfhwlego

Yes it is possible.

Firstly, turn off traction control, stay in N and rev up.

Some cars need to depress brake before shifting to Drive as you are in high rpm, just pull down to D and immediatly gas the car and step harder on brakes.

It should work as when I drove FIT (front wheel), I rev the car up at N and burn the front tires in this way.

Take a look

http://www.youtube.com/watch#!v=Cb70cv...feature=channel

Oh... so basically it's like performing "throw clutch" in manual car, but instead in auto car, shift from N to D lah.

Wah lau, somehow don't sound very friendly to the auto transmission. [laugh] I think i stick to playing with the sports shifts better.

Thanks for the illustration anyway. [:)]