I Can No Longer Afford to Renew COE.....

You driving Celica leh. I mean, by right, COE shouldn't be too big of a deal if you're driving Celica. Unless you bought a 5-6 YO second hand car?

The Celica GT4 is a COE car. It's a very different beast from the tame Celicas that you normally find on the roads, even the 2ZZ-GE Celica SS2s. It's a turbocharged AWD coupe for one.

The ST205?

Yeah lar. That's what I meant. If you're driving such an exotic car in the first place, isn't 40K for you....well, I wont' say pocket change, but not enough to deter your love for your car?

Or does COE work somehow different for this car that I don't know about?

Sianz....... My car's COE is going to expire in Aug 2012. Looking at the rate its rising I won't be able to afford to renew the COE when it expires.....

I am not some rich guy, just a poor peasant who trying to fulfill a dream that started almost 20yrs ago..... :(

Now, I am thinking how I can keep my celica when the COE expires.... Options:

1. Scrap car and the end....

2. Take loan for COE....

Option 3:

Fight it out with anyone who try to tow my car away to scrap it. I will probably kill someone and scentenced to death and end of my life....

Looks like I have just 2yrs to live...... :(

You mean after working for so long u dont even have $500,000 in your bank or investment somewhere??? I can save $100,000 easily without having to slog hard now because I eat duck rice daily and no restaurant or branded stuff for 10 years.

Friend, it just means that in the first place, you aint qualified to drive lah.

The ST205?

Yeah lar. That's what I meant. If you're driving such an exotic car in the first place, isn't 40K for you....well, I wont' say pocket change, but not enough to deter your love for your car?

Or does COE work somehow different for this car that I don't know about?

Actually such cars don't cost much to purchase. Hehehehe

A few months ago, COE renewal for such cars wouldn't cost much too. Now though....

Sianz....... My car's COE is going to expire in Aug 2012. Looking at the rate its rising I won't be able to afford to renew the COE when it expires.....

I am not some rich guy, just a poor peasant who trying to fulfill a dream that started almost 20yrs ago..... :(

2. Take loan for COE....

Option 3:

Fight it out with anyone who try to tow my car away to scrap it. I will probably kill someone and scentenced to death and end of my life....

TS can't b serious la hor :D

tell me u r joking oni [:p]

please scrap your car...plssssssssssssssssssss.............else one less COE in the market.....

As a car enthusiast, I would rather people go scrap their bread-and-butter cars than for someone to scrap a car like the Celica GT4. That such a statement can come from someone with your nick is nothing short of pure irony.

Actually such cars don't cost much to purchase. Hehehehe

A few months ago, COE renewal for such cars wouldn't cost much too. Now though....

Seriously? TS, if you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for your car? I'm curious.

Anyway, I've got....another solution for you. Know anyone in JB? Put your car there.

Go there once every now and then, like meeting mistress. Have a f, erm, drive. Then take bus and come back. Don't ever bring your mistress back into S'pore.

Seriously? TS, if you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for your car? I'm curious.

Anyway, I've got....another solution for you. Know anyone in JB? Put your car there.

Go there once every now and then, like meeting mistress. Have a f, erm, drive. Then take bus and come back. Don't ever bring your mistress back into S'pore.

IIRC, that GT4 might've sold for around 22-26k. That was around the price I sold my MR2 for and the COE for that car expires around the same time (it's been renewed though). For such cars, the real cost is in maintenance and all sorts of fun modifications you can do to the 3S-GTE.

2. Take loan for COE....

Option 3:

U have option 4:

Change the number plate and carry on driving. Hope u dont get caught by TP

2years anything can happened. Just try save for rainy days loh. Prepare for the worst so anything else is a plus!

As a car enthusiast, I would rather people go scrap their bread-and-butter cars than for someone to scrap a car like the Celica GT4. That such a statement can come from someone with your nick is nothing short of pure irony.

Standing Ovation for your post bro!! Loverofcar indeed <_<

dude u make me laugh.. [crazy] its just a car.. ur life doesnt end when the COE expires..

im sure u can get a loan for the XXXXX amt it's gonna cost u

Yeah, shouldn't be a problem getting a loan right? These days, have been getting calls from banks offering loans like nothing, got free gift summore! Haha! In the meantime, save up as much as you can (put costly mods on hold, just keep it drivable for now) and use those savings to offset your COE loan when the time comes.

Come to think of it, I'd better do just that starting from now! My COE expires in 2014 [sweatdrop]

agreed there, the latest common celica on the roads are lame, no offence to the owners, just my opinion

but the upcoming 2012 "celica", the FT-86 is a different animal altogether,

that one i am eagerly anticipating, and i hope it wont be called celica.... trueno sounds better

I bought it for 20K last year.

If this continues, I have to pay more than 2x the price I paid for my car for just a piece of paper to own it for another 10yrs. [:(]