Have you played in Sand-based Playgrounds before...

Scion

So u must be those big ah beng whom eat money from xiao didi right [laugh]

Nope, I played with integrity.

but just that i'm so zhun kar, it's difficult to beat me.

anyone who got money and willing to put it in that circle can join.

with marbles, played in school.

with money played outside. hah

Remember this Malay boy, lost a lot to me and started to borrow to play.

In the end he lost like maybe $15 or so which was a lot for a small boy in the early 80s

He never dare appear in front of me for fear that i ask him for money.

years later I bump into him when we were in our early 20s, he sheepishly said hi.

from his eye, he knew the i knew that he knew. but i kept quiet of course

Went to a few of the playground today with my buddy. We taken quite alot of pictures and when people pass buy tot we gay cos he busy setting up his mini tripod and I waiting for him to come over to take group photo... [laugh] [laugh]

These are some for your viewing pleasure.

dscf0597resizeresize.jpg

dscf0656resizeresize.jpg

dscf0666resizeresize.jpg

dscf0670resizeresize.jpg

dscf0675resizeresize.jpg

dscf0680resizeresize.jpg

dscf0697resizeresize.jpg

Also came across this old school provision shop and take an old school lift which gave me a fright cos the lift will "jump" before the door open when it reach the floor.... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

dscf0638resizeresize.jpg

dscf0643resizeresize.jpg

dscf0654resizeresize.jpg

dscf0651resizeresize.jpg

dscf0652resizeresize.jpg

dscf0653resizeresize.jpg

Ya got 2 variants, one is call "Kar Lui" and the other is play with big round white marble and objective is to destroy other marble...

http://img694.imageshack.us/i/karlui.jpg/

wah i ka lui until mata came and caught us

end up in police station ,wait for family members to bailed us..lol

"no sound no count" no kissing etc lol

i used short hand, my cousin was famous for his "scoondo" as its v hard to use and best is v zhun,so we all call him "scoondo king"

always whacked to get license n take bake base $ before finished others to take the pot..lol

so fun

rub my marbles with sand to make it rough look n better grip..always aim to break others marbles so they instantly out of the game..haha

fun sia

wah i ka lui until mata came and caught us

end up in police station ,wait for family members to bailed us..lol

"no sound no count" no kissing etc lol

i used short hand, my cousin was famous for his "scoondo" as its v hard to use and best is v zhun,so we all call him "scoondo king"

always whacked to get license n take bake base $ before finished others to take the pot..lol

so fun

rub my marbles with sand to make it rough look n better grip..always aim to break others marbles so they instantly out of the game..haha

fun sia

Marble also got grade one...

I remember the normal one is transparent with some color leaf like stuff inside, then higher grade is white milky color type with color lines on it. Then best type is those dark color translucent type with some reflective coating on it right? LOL

Marble also got grade one...

I remember the normal one is transparent with some color leaf like stuff inside, then higher grade is white milky color type with color lines on it. Then best type is those dark color translucent type with some reflective coating on it right? LOL

[laugh][laugh] ya transparent on v easy to break

dark colour like metalic is the best,white or pearl kind is 2nd..lol.i also rough the pearl one..coz look nicer..lol

But dark transparent one very expensive!!! 1 pc $1 compare to $0.10 for transparent one. I use white one $0.50 only LOL

wah!

good effort of u and ur buddy to run around singapore taking pictures of old playgrounds and buildings

:D:D

wah!

good effort of u and ur buddy to run around singapore taking pictures of old playgrounds and buildings

:D:D

Ok lah. Singapore too small liao. Also go until nowhere to go. So decide to go re-kindle some childhood memories loh.... [:p]

i was a fan of marbles during my childhood...

when we were bored with just marbles, we would draw a circle and placed stickers (panini) or coins inside and used marbles to shoot them out... every successful attempts could claim the stickers or coins..

then later the marbles evolved too...

could buy the larger opaque types from the mama shops... some "smelly" classmates bought the ti zi (metal core) and used them to break our marbles <_<<_<

love those carefree days

when we were bored with just marbles, we would draw a circle and placed stickers (panini) or coins inside and used marbles to shoot them out... every successful attempts could claim the stickers or coins..

could buy the larger opaque types from the mama shops... some "smelly" classmates bought the ti zi (metal core) and used them to break our marbles <_<<_<

love those carefree days

Wah TI ZI very powerful leh!!! Anyhow whack can break any marble easily. I also ganna before [bigcry] [bigcry]

Panini brand is the logo with a knight holding a lance one right? [laugh]

Wow,quite alot of old men here [laugh] .Im one of them too.really miss all these sand playground.Fav is catching without touching the sands and who can forget marbles......so sad its nearly extinct [bigcry] .

what about assembled car models once popular in the 90s among kids?

i zhng my Avante Black Special,Manta Ray...cut the drive seat a open top

Stablising pole with blue roller (blue is biggest one)

then put the win

back also got 2 poles supported by the crab hand alike thing (forget call wat liao)

sponge tyre cut to make it thinner

Hyper Dash black motor,modded with 18 coils,can run v fast if use Rechargable batteries,thats why Competition banned Rechargable batteries

wah...still got a box of tools to repair etc etc..haha!

Edited by Freestylers09

love those carefree days

i collected World cup series for Panini haha

animal world to claim prize dun noe issit by them but sure got 1 corner of the 6,v v hard to find..LOL

still got "Chuan Lei Da" the dragonball sticker machine..another one no Chuan Lei Da one..we use touch light to see reflect shiny ,see got Shiny card anot..haha

for vintage toys lovers, can visit Mint Museum of Toys at Seah Street...

not cheap though... $15 per entry...

hop.jpg

Ya got 2 variants, one is call "Kar Lui" and the other is play with big round white marble and objective is to destroy other marble...

http://img694.imageshack.us/i/karlui.jpg/

I think one of the rule is ''long hand or short hand''. The player will shout first. If not, if the other players shouted first ''short hand''....he cannot stretch his hand to throw the marble.....