KapitanE 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 I work in Tg Pager, live in Simei, I have given up driving on the ECP, logically, it would be fastest, provided no jam... so now a days, I do Shenton Way, and then onto Connaught Bridge, pass Esplanade, onto Nichol Highway, into the KP tunnel, exit to PIE (east bound), exit to Simei, reach home before 7 pm. ... leave office about 6.30 pm... not more then 1/2 hour normally, if there is jam on PIE, normally at Eunos, most is 45 minutes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 How bad is Lornie Road (towards Thomson Road) during the evening period (6.30pm - 7.30pm)? Stop start traffic? Or perhaps a constant 20-30km/h speed? I stay in Sembawang, work in Pasir Panjang. Ytd nite, leave work place at 6:30pm, travel usual from Pasir Panjang -> Alexander -> Adam road -> Lornie Rd -> Thosom road -> Sembawang Rd. Total Journey : Ard 26Km, take me 8:10pm reach home... ave Speed: ard 16km/h..v. the fast... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Drove over from Hougang to Clementi bookstore to get some textbooks for my night classes. 5.30pm: Left my place 5.30-7pm: Jam all the way on AYE (no accidents hor). 7.05pm: Reached Clementi bookstore. Well done bookstore close at 7pm. 7.45pm: Had a quick dinner and en route home. Learnt my lesson and siam AYE peak hours. Act smart and go via Lornie road. 7.45pm-9.30pm: Jam and listen to DJ talk till change shift. 9.30pm: Home @#$%$^&**)*)@#$@! yesterday evening rained rite ? wet roads coupled with peak hour traffic.. result = more jam than normal peak hour jam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Tg Pagar and Simei take train much faster. Max 25 min including waiting time. No need change train some more. But must stand and squeese with CDB chiobu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Tg Pagar and Simei take train much faster. Max 25 min including waiting time. No need change train some more. But must stand and squeese with CDB chiobu I rather not be molested by them CBD chiobu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 I rather not be molested by them CBD chiobu No CDB chiobu wanted to molest me then. But seriously, if I really stay in Simei on a perm basis, I will take the train. I stayed there for 4 months in 2004 and worked in Tg Pagar then. Ride to and fro was smooth and fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Driving in Singapore during peak hours is understood as JAM!! Sure one, no escaping this fact. Want a smooth drive? Drive between 2am to 5:30am lor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 take the longer route. tpe, sle, bke exit dairy farm. upper bt timah to clementi road. should be quite fast. oh ya hor... forget abt this route.... i used my holux gps to route... later going again ... hope no killer jams Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 lol ride bike better. hehe can go ninja through your journey i did consider this too haha... for a while, i was lurking around singaporebikes for a used duke... but recent 2 months' weather really killer... tot only scorchingly hot, but unpredictable... 10am hot 11-12pm very hot 12-3pm microwave grade hot 3-3.10pm jeavy rain 3.15-5 hot 5pm warm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 When motorists complain too many cars on the expressways during peak hours, LTA will increase ave speed from 20kph to 25kph but must pay 50 cents more in ERP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 i got a collegue stay in the east. Always hear her kpkb on the erp charges. Morning peep $3.....evening beep $3. One day $6 just on ERP alone. Plus traffic jams happen very frequently.......often with no reason at all. Worst is during rainy days. Jam worst than going to Jbee. I work in Tg Pager, live in Simei, I have given up driving on the ECP, logically, it would be fastest, provided no jam... so now a days, I do Shenton Way, and then onto Connaught Bridge, pass Esplanade, onto Nichol Highway, into the KP tunnel, exit to PIE (east bound), exit to Simei, reach home before 7 pm. ... leave office about 6.30 pm... not more then 1/2 hour normally, if there is jam on PIE, normally at Eunos, most is 45 minutes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 I stay in Sembawang, work in Pasir Panjang. Ytd nite, leave work place at 6:30pm, travel usual from Pasir Panjang -> Alexander -> Adam road -> Lornie Rd -> Thosom road -> Sembawang Rd. Total Journey : Ard 26Km, take me 8:10pm reach home... ave Speed: ard 16km/h..v. the fast... You can try going by West side (West Coast -> Clementi, then Bukit Timah, then Woodlands -> Sembawang) Although Bukit Timah might jam during evening, so sometimes have to use alternative routes (cut through Bukit Batok maybe) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...