Sony 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 pai seh very frustrated because these charges were not mentioned to me by the company, the forwarder or my friend. i did talk to them nicely la. only air my frustration here havnt bang table yet actually they are not wrong.. at most, they tot you would have known better and didn't tell you the full story.. if you have done your asking in forum, then do the shipping, you might have save yourselves all the trouble ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 BTW, you only ship in 4 x 4 pcs of rim, i.e. 16 or only 4 rims? shd have gotten 5, if you are getting the latter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Author Share April 26, 2010 4 rims only. y 5? i got it 2nd hand mah from a real c63 amg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 4 rims only. y 5? i got it 2nd hand mah from a real c63 amg. the extra one as spare wheel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 Bro, side track abit....How do I send a carton from Vietnam to Sin, weight appx. 40kg...what will be the cost ? If you have done it B4...thanks Best you contact DHL...they can advise you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 sorry la bro no la i nvr flare up against them. sibei complicated sia. but learnt alot take as expensive lesson la ^^ also not bad. ya you are right. so many funny charges knn actually i dunno mah. i thought logically sea should be alot cheaper than air. and the quotes were. didnt know so mahuan okie lar lar bro, take it as a lesson learn.... next time you will know what to do...... can also can here to ask... many bro here can advise.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 4 rims only. y 5? i got it 2nd hand mah from a real c63 amg. well, when I ship in my rims, I was advised to get 5 as well. reason is that when you .. touchwood... ruin one rim, you got another one as spare, otherwise, it's going to be either long downtime or you are going to be slaughter to get one replacement. or worse, you got to junk the other 3 rim.. BTW, in the end, i got 4pc only.. coz I kept my original rim ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 Bro, side track abit....How do I send a carton from Vietnam to Sin, weight appx. 40kg...what will be the cost ? If you have done it B4...thanks Bro, you also need to find out the dimension of your carton...... take Length X Width X Height Divide by 5000, you will get the dimensional weight.... compare and see is the actual weight or dimensional weight higher.... take the higher of the 2..... then talk to DHL, FEDEX, UPS, TNT and comapre who can offer the best rates..... if not in a rush, you can choose the expedited service as compare to express service...... ..... but unless you got corporate rates with them, "end user" / aka walk-in customer will pay higher rates...... but no choice lar..... if parcel only 40kg.... believe that's the best way.... another way is check with Vietnam side if they have any "connection" with their forwarder.... ask them to quote you the door to door rates, then compare with the above 4 courier company..... Good luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Author Share April 26, 2010 well, when I ship in my rims, I was advised to get 5 as well. reason is that when you .. touchwood... ruin one rim, you got another one as spare, otherwise, it's going to be either long downtime or you are going to be slaughter to get one replacement. or worse, you got to junk the other 3 rim.. BTW, in the end, i got 4pc only.. coz I kept my original rim ... no la singapore also can buy but its $1100 per pc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 no la singapore also can buy but its $1100 per pc oh.. that's cheap.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Author Share April 26, 2010 oh.. that's cheap.. u rich mah not like us poor people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 Anything less than 25kg, use DHL jumbo box.. quite worth it especially from states. Or if you got bulkier item, maybe can try their 100kg carton pallet. But got to pay 20 - 40 sgd for it. Price wise is not bad. Best recomended to use their fixed box chart...if use your own packing, will cost 5 - 25% more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 26, 2010 Share April 26, 2010 u rich mah not like us poor people nah,,. you are the rich one.. you drive 3pointed star.. I'm part time internet hero... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 27, 2010 Author Share April 27, 2010 nah,,. you are the rich one.. you drive 3pointed star.. I'm part time internet hero... dont bluff la anyway i solved the cargo problem. thanks to all the bros for helping and letting me vent my frustration here ended up paying an unexpected $400 sgd or so all in. let this be a very expensive lesson for all the bros to note. after all... we have golden fork lifts here which cost $75 for a couple of metres Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 Just found your post and like to comment on the changes in forwarding over the years. I am in freight forwarding business and worked in many MNC companies before. About the charges in KD, KD/forklift charges increase due to the high property/operating cost. What cause operating cost to increase? Basically rental... Why are there so many other charges??? Well when everyboby is finding ways to cut cost and increase profit and LCL is mostly a form of "rebates" business. For instance, I can arrange LCL shipment (any volume) to JKT port for a fee of $1.00 inclusive pick up, B/L, permit and all other charges in Singapore. My actual cost is only permit, transport and there are rebates offered to us and it can cover up my actual cost. Rebates comes from consignee in terms of arrival notice and there warehouse charges as these charges actually covered stuffing charges & oceanfreight. So even that terms to consignee were CIF/CNF, it does not matter as market prastice this form of rebates for the last 7~10 years. TS, I dont think that the shipping agent were in the wrong as you did not know what you were paying for in the first place. Base on my experience, it think that they are actually just a releasing agent and only profit around $100. All other profits were to the POL agent and KD's warehouse & also, back to the rental cost of their warehouse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 30, 2010 Author Share April 30, 2010 (edited) Just found your post and like to comment on the changes in forwarding over the years. I am in freight forwarding business and worked in many MNC companies before. About the charges in KD, KD/forklift charges increase due to the high property/operating cost. What cause operating cost to increase? Basically rental... Why are there so many other charges??? Well when everyboby is finding ways to cut cost and increase profit and LCL is mostly a form of "rebates" business. For instance, I can arrange LCL shipment (any volume) to JKT port for a fee of $1.00 inclusive pick up, B/L, permit and all other charges in Singapore. My actual cost is only permit, transport and there are rebates offered to us and it can cover up my actual cost. Rebates comes from consignee in terms of arrival notice and there warehouse charges as these charges actually covered stuffing charges & oceanfreight. So even that terms to consignee were CIF/CNF, it does not matter as market prastice this form of rebates for the last 7~10 years. TS, I dont think that the shipping agent were in the wrong as you did not know what you were paying for in the first place. Base on my experience, it think that they are actually just a releasing agent and only profit around $100. All other profits were to the POL agent and KD's warehouse & also, back to the rental cost of their warehouse. yes not wrong bro. my mistake as i claimed later. but as mentioned, moral of the story go for DHL Fedex and all. dont go for LCL. i had no choice because my friend shipped for me and he also not informed of these extra costs which cost as much as my origin fees. so i think you can understand how i felt when i found out i had to top up 500-600 extra without being pre-warned after waiting for 1 month or so for the ship to come. another tip for bros intending to ship LCL is that source around for customs brokers. some charge you $400???? for disposal of "debris" crazy. and all the extra documentation fee Edited April 30, 2010 by Cerano Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 What are the actual things you paid? I am opening actual cost to public as my customers knows that I charge expensive due to service. Arrival notice? LCL Fee > Cost $25.25 per m3 THC > Cost $10.00 per m3 PSA > Cost $1.75 per m3 D/O Fee > Cost $70.00 per set Agencies Fee > Cost $45.00 per shipment The above cost or no cost is hard to say as the actual de-consol agent need to have all the revenue to have the rebates to the shipper. KD Charges? Forklift> Cost $75.00 per block of 4m3 CFS surcharge > $20.00 per m3 Admin & Warehouse Processing around S$50. The most 1 or 2 other "surcharge". The above cost or no cost is hard to say as the actual warehouse need to have all the revenue and rebates to the de-consol agent. Then addtional services are only permit & transport. Permit: Cost $15.00 (I think you were debit at $45). Transport: (Self collection). Total cost around $350 and being quoted $400 is reasonable as permit for self import cargo is very troublesome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowd1 1st Gear April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 Next time try this company EZPZ Express. They are like a vpost service but they use sea freight. One set of rims would cost you less that S$400 to ship over. That is from their US warehouse to Singapore warehouse inclusive of clearing, paperwork, forklift and whatsoever costs. Only have to pay for GST and marine insurance. Its much easier especially for consumers to use them. Else you have to pay all those charges as mentioned. Totally normal in the industry. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...