Pls avoid : Huat Kee Teochew Rest at Amoy Street

Skodasales

Had an unpleasant dining experience at the restaurant above.

Booked a table and ordered the "famous" Roast suckling pig after seeing some good comments on the paper. When arrived, was recommended the set meal which also came with the Roast Pig so went along with it.

When served, the roast pig was very dry and tasteless. It looked and tasted like it was reheated many many times over.

Next came the most popular teochew Steam promfet, anticipation turned into disappointment because the fish wasn't fresh that spoilt the whole dish.

After that, scallops with vegetables was a disaster again with scallops that were not fresh and soaked in salt water, making the dish so salty.....oh my god!

Couldn't take it anymore, we asked for the captain to the table. When she arrived, she jus told us that because we were late (8pm instead of 730pm because wanted everyone to arrive and was looking through the menu), they had to reheat and so this is the result.

As for the fish, she insist that it is fresh...so we suggested she try it but she refused and told us she can't do anything about it. We left the place without completing our dinner.

No other explanations and apologies given...Toatal damage $570 for a horrible dinner. Will never go again.

bro

were you with alot of people? if its only a small family then i'd have made noise if i were you. i am the customer why should i settle for such lousy s--t.

I have been to this restaurant before and find the dining experience then reasonably good. Perhaps this happens to be an isolated case. Quite a few pple had recommended to me this restaurant before..

Weird, why did they cook the dishes before you arrive?

Not everyone will be punctual at 7:30pm, they should only start cooking when you confirm your attendance to make sure the food is delicious.

I bet they are finding excuses for the poor food.

you have the right to share your horrible experience... awwww... poor thing....

but to ask ppl to advoid the place because you ad a bad experience?...

IMHO...

Boss is a friendly nice guy... this place service not too bad... been around for sooooo long liao...

you sooo suay every single dish you order c--k up???

i cant judge your situation.... i dont know the whole story...

but i know this place so far so good.... dont know why you so suay... [laugh]

bro there's always 2 sides to a story... unlikely ALL the items ordered also fail.... this restaurant got good reputation for years liao...

you have the right to share your horrible experience... awwww... poor thing....

but to ask ppl to advoid the place because you ad a bad experience?...

IMHO...

Boss is a friendly nice guy... this place service not too bad... been around for sooooo long liao...

you sooo suay every single dish you order c--k up???

i cant judge your situation.... i dont know the whole story...

but i know this place so far so good.... dont know why you so suay... [laugh]

sometimes restaurants like hawker stalls can also have unexpected failings occasionally...as i thought the reputation of this restaurant is rather good, Iam more inclined to think of TS experience as an isolated case.

Had an unpleasant dining experience at the restaurant above.

Booked a table and ordered the "famous" Roast suckling pig after seeing some good comments on the paper. When arrived, was recommended the set meal which also came with the Roast Pig so went along with it.

When served, the roast pig was very dry and tasteless. It looked and tasted like it was reheated many many times over.

Next came the most popular teochew Steam promfet, anticipation turned into disappointment because the fish wasn't fresh that spoilt the whole dish.

After that, scallops with vegetables was a disaster again with scallops that were not fresh and soaked in salt water, making the dish so salty.....oh my god!

Couldn't take it anymore, we asked for the captain to the table. When she arrived, she jus told us that because we were late (8pm instead of 730pm because wanted everyone to arrive and was looking through the menu), they had to reheat and so this is the result.

As for the fish, she insist that it is fresh...so we suggested she try it but she refused and told us she can't do anything about it. We left the place without completing our dinner.

No other explanations and apologies given...Toatal damage $570 for a horrible dinner. Will never go again.

Brudder, go try Mong Heng at Keypoint, Beach Road.

Good stuff never bluff!! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Look for James and say friend recommend one.

bro there's always 2 sides to a story... unlikely ALL the items ordered also fail.... this restaurant got good reputation for years liao...

true true [laugh]

but i cannot stand those unethical businesses like one particular AD...

true true [laugh]

but i cannot stand those unethical businesses like one particular AD...

cycle and carriage or tan cheong... ^_^

sometimes restaurants like hawker stalls can also have unexpected failings occasionally...as i thought the reputation of this restaurant is rather good, Iam more inclined to think of TS experience as an isolated case.

It might be an isolated case as I have friends who went there and their reviews have been good.

Sometime, good restaurants or makan places have this type of occasional failings.....

Not siding with anybody. Had similar experiences with a few quite good restaurants and went back subsequently only to discover that the earlier experiences were not repeated and standards are as good as the good old days.