Is this normal?

Schmi

I sent my car to Borneo at Sin Ming for servicing. I was informed that my disc brake pads were worn and needed replacement. So I told them to go ahead.

NOW .... the brakes are squealing intermittently. I would understand if it is just in the morning. BUT! Even in the middle of the day they can squeal. Even after driving for some time, midway through the trip, they can squeal!

So, is this normal? Or should I go back to Borneo and get a solution?

What do you think?

Since they install it then U can go back bang tables liao.

Alternatively, monitor for 2 days and see how, some times the parts need to be "seasoned".

let it run in for about 200km.. if it persist, that means it is the low "grade" kind of brake pad with a coarser surface..

I sent my car to Borneo at Sin Ming for servicing. I was informed that my disc brake pads were worn and needed replacement. So I told them to go ahead.

NOW .... the brakes are squealing intermittently. I would understand if it is just in the morning. BUT! Even in the middle of the day they can squeal. Even after driving for some time, midway through the trip, they can squeal!

What do you think?

Just go back and tell them the problem nicely.Dont bang table

If abit abit bang table then .................just not very good lor.

No! lis not normal....

the new pads & the old disc not blending well thats why?

believe your rotor disc also not too good- either needs to be skim or replace.

bring it back for them to get it checked !

Just go back and tell them the problem nicely.Dont bang table

If abit abit bang table then .................just not very good lor.

ya..not solved then bang table. :D

Edited by Mikepitt

There is a metal plate backing which the installer may have missed putting it with the pads.

Happened to me before.

we are the manufacturer for HID ballast,HID bulb ,parking sensor ,one-button Smart start system as well as some other car accessories .

we located our factory in Guangzhou city of china .

if any friend would like some accessories ,kindly contact me ,i will offer you much more lower price than your local country .

the quality is guarantee .

contact us :

Email :[email protected]

MSN : [email protected]

post-69312-1274352056_thumb.jpg

let it run in for about 200km.. if it persist, that means it is the low "grade" kind of brake pad with a coarser surface..

squealing doesnt mean its lower grades.. many performance brake pads (Ferodo's) squeals a lot too. Actually, a few friends who drives performace car after upgrading their brake pads all kena the squealidontis.

squealing usually occurs for cross-drilled/slotted rotors with performance brake pads.

but if yours is a stock brake setup, it should not have any noise at all

High performance disc and pads are designed to work best at very high temp ( racing/circuit driving)- they are useless for normal city driving.

This I agree. If need to get better aftermarket brake pads, get one with good temperature for cold and hot braking respectively.

What do you think?

Go back to BM and ask them to resolve this thing for you.

Usually this should only happen when they take out the rotors as well and when they fix back there are some rusted parts which needs to be sandpaper off. But sometimes new brake pads can make noise for a while then even out and no more sound le. You might want to use it for a few days first to see if it persists.

ehhhh.. i thot when a new brake pads are replaced, you will hear "squealing sound intermittently".

cos the new brake pads are not yet seasoned.

once you drive till seasoned, the sound will gone.