Yuan 6th Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 ================= Hahaha. My Optra recommends change all belts at 60K km but I drag till 70K km without any problems. I won't recommend doing that. If your timing belt snapped, then the cost of repair to your engine is much much higher than the extra mileage covered by you as compared to the stated mileage for change in the manual. Speaking from experience. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 bro i also changed 2 belts... but at auto saver they asked me to change the pulley.... i was at 60k.. must meh? cause i didnt change the pulley just the 2 belts... Unless pulley is spoilt, change belts no need to change pulley wan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 I won't recommend doing that. If your timing belt snapped, then the cost of repair to your engine is much much higher than the extra mileage covered by you as compared to the stated mileage for change in the manual. Speaking from experience. ============== Yup I know but usually the handbook wil recommend to change at the minimum km based on car always drive at slow speed in low gear or a lot of idling. For normal driving, I usually drag abit. Last time my Corona say to change at 90K km for slow driving in low gear (eg: Police car or taxi) & for normal driving they say NO NEED TO CHANGE????? I dont ustand what this means so I changed at about 150K km just to b safe, without any problems. If u dont know the "history" of the last belt change, then change early to prevent it snapping. Chevy forum got 1 ger drive Optra she buy 2nd hand. I think the previous owner smoke her & say major service already done incl timing belt. She drive for a couple of months & the belt snap. She check the cost of repair is so ex, she decided to scrap the car & is now taking BMW. Her engine had screeching sound & I recommend my ws & she say its ok, but when I checked with my mech, he advised her to change as he see the belt already worn but she dont listen. Maybe she thinking the previous owner (or the dealer) already cfm the belt has been changed so she dont want to spend the money. BTW she also used to post in MCF b4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 hey pigkanto. u jio people again ahh??? very unfair leh, i jio u, you hide 1 corner. now u jio ken4555? come on leh. it should be my turn 1st lah. no bad blood against you and RV now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear June 3, 2010 Author Share June 3, 2010 hi, will do... thank you for the information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 for toyota altis n vios, the water pump pulley surface is smooth... after certain amount of millage, the surface becomes even smoother and will skid... will reduce the lifespan of your belt if dun change as the friction between the pulley n belt is higher... btw, the pulley is also quite cheap. so no point saving such money since labour cost involved is similiar... oh... so i guess this is when ppl are most temped to change to those light weight ones... my mech told me my pulley shd last 5yrs up.. maybe change at 100k up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 ============== If the pulley bearing is worn, it gets very hot & wil wear the belt out. Next time run the car for a short drive & then off the engine & feel the pulley. If its very hot, likely the bearing already gone. Some can just change the bearing & use back the old pulley. Original pulley is the best. yup noted... OEM pulley is the best... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 Unless pulley is spoilt, change belts no need to change pulley wan. so i changed my belts at 60k... didnt change my pulley... i'm ok right? any recommendation when to change the pulley? from your experience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 you like to talk about parents right?... say it one more time... i dare you.... so? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 so i changed my belts at 60k... didnt change my pulley... i'm ok right? any recommendation when to change the pulley? from your experience? Just change what is stated in the manual at the stipulated intervals. I have no experience with pulleys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 so? why no balls to say my parents retarded again ah? BALLS-LESS prick... btw you dont think i stupid you use new name and attack me on other post... you really no freaking balls leh... no point bickering here and there... since you dare not meet up... but since we both stay Sengkang... i will post my car picture for you to see... if you have at least a pair of micron balls... pls post a pic of your picanto... then if fate permits we can meet up... how like this dare a not? ham zi ah? here my sunny pic... when you see this car be afraid... be very afraid.... i will let you eat my baseball steering lock... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 why no balls to say my parents retarded again ah? BALLS-LESS prick... btw you dont think i stupid you use new name and attack me on other post... you really no freaking balls leh... no point bickering here and there... since you dare not meet up... but since we both stay Sengkang... i will post my car picture for you to see... if you have at least a pair of micron balls... pls post a pic of your picanto... then if fate permits we can meet up... how like this dare a not? ham zi ah? here my sunny pic... when you see this car be afraid... be very afraid.... i will let you eat my baseball steering lock... so, what should i call your parents? prick parents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 (edited) so, what should i call your parents? prick parents? hey piece of s--t stop wasting time lah... fastest put time and place.... dare to scold my parents dare not meet up ah? my parents dying to meet up with you... ccb... Edited June 3, 2010 by Ken4555 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 oh... so i guess this is when ppl are most temped to change to those light weight ones... my mech told me my pulley shd last 5yrs up.. maybe change at 100k up? no lah, the light weigh pulley u people change for better response is diff from this one... this is water pump pulley. its an wear n tear item. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 hey piece of s--t stop wasting time lah... fastest put time and place.... dare to scold my parents dare not meet up ah? my parents dying to meet up with you... ccb... dont waste ur time lah. he is well known to be a keyboard hero. if he dare to come out and the time + location is published, at least a few dozens of MCFers will tear him apart... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 dont waste ur time lah. he is well known to be a keyboard hero. if he dare to come out and the time + location is published, at least a few dozens of MCFers will tear him apart... then the police will tear him apart too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 no lah, the light weigh pulley u people change for better response is diff from this one... this is water pump pulley. its an wear n tear item. I was referring to the water pump pulley to Mr Ken. Not the other lightweight crank pulley. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 then the police will tear him apart too. mr picanto... i hv decided to make peace... its no point fighting and fighting... really... why dont i buy you a drink... coffee? lets meet up and make peace ok? lets be friends.... we meet up at the Sengkang Kopitiam next to compass point... ok bro?.... lets not call the police lah... gve me a chance to apologise for all the insults i've given u... i even forgive you for insulting my parents... come on lah... we be friends ok? no more fighting... how when you want to have coffee? let me know ok? best regards... ken4555... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...