Prepare for More Traffic Jam During YOG

Tohto

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1064090/1/.html

Youth Olympic lane to facilitate travel for athletes, officials

By Saifulbahri Ismail | Posted: 18 June 2010 1152 hrs

SINGAPORE: A Youth Olympic lane will be introduced along selected roads to facilitate travel for athletes and officials during the Youth Olympic Games.

The traffic scheme which will be in place from August 5 to 25 is designed to help ensure that athletes and officials get to their competition venues on time.

It's based on a give-way concept, similar to what motorists would do when they see emergency service vehicles like ambulances.

When you see the five Olympic rings, and the words "give way", it means this is a Youth Olympic Lane.

During games time, the lanes are reserved for a fleet of 700 Youth Olympic vehicles which will operate between the youth Olympic village and the competition venue.

These vehicles have special YOG licence plates, the Olympic Rings and the words 'Give Way' in white. They will also have their blinker lights on.

The second left-most lane along seven expressways and 15 main roads will have designated Youth Olympic lanes.

Motorists have to give way when they these vehicles approaching - just like they would for an emergency service vehicle.

The same traffic penalties apply but the organisers are counting on motorists to see it as a part of being gracious hosts.

Teo Ser Luck, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Community Development, Youth and Sports, says: "So the give way concept requires all Singaporean drivers on the road support to make it work and as such if you give way to the Olympic vehicles, they can get there on time.

"You play a part to make the Games successful, because all the athletes will be there on time, whether it's for training, for warm ups, for competition. I think the foreign athletes and our foreign visitors will be appreciative of the graciousness of Singaporeans."

The Land Transport Authority, LTA, says more resources will be dedicated during the YOG period to clear incidents on the roads as quickly as possible.

Chuai Chip Tiong, deputy director, Intelligent Transport System Centre, LTA, says: "To ensure that the scheme work even better, to facilitate this - the only concern would be incidents on the road. We have already tied up with a few agencies to ensure that we can execute quick response to the site, in case of incidents as well as clearance from obstructed obstacles from the road."

The Youth Olympic vehicles will take to the roads from July 12 to August 4 to test the system. - CNA/jy

i didn't see this thread, i don't read newspaper, i don't watch TV, i've received no official letter from LTA, i've not heard from any law enforcement officer, i've not read it in the basic theory. now, how am i suppose to know that i should give way to these vehicles? [rolleyes]

As far as i know, ignorance cannot absolve your guilty actions if you block them.

Anyways, i have gotten used to being treated like a 2nd class citizen in my own country.

i didn't see this thread, i don't read newspaper, i don't watch TV, i've received no official letter from LTA, i've not heard from any law enforcement officer, i've not read it in the basic theory. now, how am i suppose to know that i should give way to these vehicles? [rolleyes]

me same same... so how the hell do i know i need to give way. And btw, how we even know they're on official business or not? maybe someone used it as to fetch their gfs and families?

It's only for 2 plus weeks. what's so difficult to give way to them. :blink:

they are after all our guests. They are not some elite that some dislike,

they are kids here for a friendly olympic meet.

YOG most probably will happen once in our lifetime in Singapore.

I guess some people here never learn the word gracious. [dizzy]

But I do wonder why more effort not spend in educating motorists on this?

it's not about to give way or not.

it's about imposing fines & penalty in such mis-managed operation.

sporting activities are not life n death...no need such big hooha way of protecting them. stupid. stupid stupid stupid.

Give way got free games ticket or not?

Why not just shift the players to the location earlier! Like how we go exams or airport early to avoid missing the timings!

Citizens go to work also have to plan for the lousy slow public transport! Just ask the players to wake up earlier and reach there with ample time.

The two weeks, citizens time for going to work not important as the players time meh?

it's not about to give way or not.

it's about imposing fines & penalty in such mis-managed operation.

yes lah, everything fine! [furious] talk about asking drivers to be gracious and give way to YOG vehicles. how about the organisers themselves practising some courtesy and using the word "please" give way instead for always using fines for a change ....

Please got use meh? Just look at the number of self-righteous road hoggers in this forum. Tell them to be more gracious a bit, they'll tell you "I already travel at speed limit already wat, why must i give way?" Before the gahmen introduce fine, ask people to give way to ambulance oso difficult. Sigh.... Road hoggers brought this onto all of us because of their ungracious road behaviour.

The efforts to educate our motorists would take time and I don't think there is enough time between now and the YOG in July/August.

Before even implement already announce there will be a fine for not giving way. No wonder those tourist shops still can sell the tee shirt that says "Singapore is a FINE country." Well done, now the whole world will know that Singaporeans are not gracious unless FINE. Also we won't follow advice unless FINE. In short yes we are a FINE nation. [laugh] [laugh]

As long it is advertise thru the media, you cant just say ignorance.

i kanna FINE several thousands almost 20years ago due to a case.

i also appealed under ignorance and their reply is : We advertise thru the media/TV news.

Through MCF. And if you refuse to budge and then got fine, please promote MCF.

Edited by David