Electricity tariffs to go up again

Garlic

Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1066693/1/.html

SINGAPORE: Households will pay more for their electricity tariffs from July to September.

SP Services says that the electricity tariffs for households will go up by 0.57 cents per Kilowatt-hour to 24.13 cents per kWh, an increase of 2.4 percent.

It is the fifth consecutive quarter of increase.

On average, families in four-room HDB flats will pay about

S$2.33 more a month.

SP Services says the average fuel oil price over the last three months remained stable at about S$102 per barrel.

However, the non-fuel components of the tariff have increased due to higher capital and operating costs of power generation.

The tariff also includes an adjustment for under-collection in the previous quarter.

- CNA/ir

Hahaha... They have 1001 reasons to justify for the rise again.

Cost of capital increase...

Component of capital includes

1. borrowing from bank. But Sibor at its lowest now. So, not this.

2. bond. But the rate is fixed.

3. Equity and retained earnings. The cost is the expected return from the shareholder.

So, SP Services has to increase the tariff because of the pressure from shareholder to increase increase their profit!

And their shareholder is Temxxyy.

Haha.. just for fun..

WTF... :blink:

Just anyhow hantum a pathetic reason can liao.

Definitely it will keep on increasing every quarterly, for the rest of our life... ^_^

I noticed a trend, petrol price will rise 1-2 weeks earlier, then followed by announcement of electricity tariffs increase.

Good justification.

these cb always increase price. Called them regarding my $100 deposit I paid to open up the acc. In order to get it back must close the acc. Ccb.

SP services is just a subsidiary company.... the only way they make money is to increase price as they dont sell product... only customer service.

Expected la...

Nowadays everything also Up liao...

No big deal........

I wouldn't be suprised in the next few years where the water prices increases like siao......

I don't think by using our "new water" , reservoirs would actually help....

You see la....SG got how many people????

I still find it stupid that Ah Kong still dont want to renew the water contract....

Its better to have more than less...

Maybe Ah Kong thinking that by having lesser.......

They can earn more money due to limited resources but higher demand????

:angry: :angry:

Juz gif out GST $$ from right hand & collect back from other revenues using left hand... wat can i say? Uniquely singapore!

However, the non-fuel components of the tariff have increased due to higher capital and operating costs of power generation.

Translate = their salary.

Expected la...

Nowadays everything also Up liao...

No big deal........

I wouldn't be suprised in the next few years where the water prices increases like siao......

I don't think by using our "new water" , reservoirs would actually help....

You see la....SG got how many people????

I still find it stupid that Ah Kong still dont want to renew the water contract....

Its better to have more than less...

Maybe Ah Kong thinking that by having lesser.......

They can earn more money due to limited resources but higher demand????

:angry: :angry:

By not renewing the water contract expring in 2011, it'll create a "shortage" of water.

By then, the price of water and water conservation tax will shoot up. So far, the cost of water is not so volatile compared to electricity.

So be prepared to pay more.

The previous increase was when crude oil are trading at more than $80 a barrel.. now it dropped instead of reducing the cost, it went up again. How fair is that?

When crude price increase, cite rising crude prices to justify price increase. When crude price drops, cite distribution cost and manpower cost to justify why no price drop.

Are you new here? [lipsrsealed]

When crude price increase, cite rising crude prices to justify price increase. When crude price drops, cite distribution cost and manpower cost to justify why no price drop.

Are you new here? [lipsrsealed]

Well.... not new.. just that I feel that Singaporeans are always the sucker for such as we have no avenue to turn to. I feel cows are better than us cos when they are not in the mood, they just kick with their hind legs if anyone tries to milk it.

Nabei... Forever increase one... Increase LL lor... But... This seems to be the 5th time liao... WTH!!!

this is the problem with privatisation

utilities, telecommunications, transport should be semi-government

salary have not increased consecutively for 5 quarters but basic necessities such as electricity has

i wondered

why built so many very expensive things in Singapore (eg casino) when foriegners can enjoy for free and singaporeans have to pay while

tax dollar is used to built them

each passing day i feel more like a tourist in my own country

sigh when will this end