Watwheels Supersonic July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 30th July is committed by Apple. All 3 Telcos no comment, yet. So, seems like, Apple is eager to sell but the local telcos are struggling to meet the deadline. Becos Apple backside itchy, come up with what micro sim card for their device. Local telcos still using regular sim cards, how to commit? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frenzzsg Clutched July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 And when you drive into JB... Byebye! haha, that's what i'm worried too... actually,not only JB, i think it'll be dangerous in sg too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 The GPS is awesome...machiam streetdirectory Ya man - damn solid...hahah It was able to detect my location when I was using it in my living room and this is using my wifi (haven't plug in a micro-sim yet)... The turn-by-turn demo is very impressive as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdang Neutral Newbie July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 Becos Apple backside itchy, come up with what micro sim card for their device. Local telcos still using regular sim cards, how to commit? I think its some other reason.. all 3 telcos already have micro sims already.. some of my friends using ipad is using them already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacxaviqer 1st Gear July 20, 2010 Author Share July 20, 2010 (edited) haha, that's what i'm worried too... actually,not only JB, i think it'll be dangerous in sg too... Which is why it is important that when u install the Ipad, it must have an opening for u to retrieve yr ipad. Never leave yr ipad in the car. I think it's bad for Ipad if placed in the car for a prolong period of time under intense heat. In one of the youtube links that I've posted, the one done by David Fisherman is good as it allow one to retrieve and place the ipad in the car. Even if u dun use the ipad in yr car, you can still use it while u are in the cafe, library etc etc. Those that permanently place yr ipad in the car is not a good idea actually. Edited July 20, 2010 by Zacxaviqer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wintersonata Clutched July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 (edited) Ya man - damn solid...hahah It was able to detect my location when I was using it in my living room and this is using my wifi (haven't plug in a micro-sim yet)... The turn-by-turn demo is very impressive as well Is'it turn-by-turn available for normal iphone, andriod or even nokia? Except for a large screen that uses data plan, that's the point for drivers? How often do you need a GPS? Once a week at most. Instead of hiding the portable GPS in the dashboard, you have to bring it along with you every time. Even in shopping centers, not troublesome meh? Edited July 20, 2010 by Wintersonata Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quickfusion Clutched July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 Is'it turn-by-turn available for normal iphone, andriod or even nokia? Except for a large screen that uses data plan, that's the point for drivers? How often do you need a GPS? Once a week at most. Instead of hiding the portable GPS in the dashboard, you have to bring it along with you every time. Even in shopping centers, not troublesome meh? i leave my garmin gps in my car all the time.... in the hot sun o not... so far seems ok.... but if i am getting the ipad... hehe.... different story.... if in shady area then might leave it in a hidden place in the car like under the seats... sunny day then it coming along with me.... if in boleh land then such equipment comes along with me no matter rain or shine... thing is about the ipad is that how many of our cars can have a adaptor like the vid shown in "david the fishman"'s car? you gotta have a big SUV or MPV with a BIG centre console in order to do that. for those normal sedan cars, you can only install the knob type which will block alot of stuff like aircon vents etc etc.... OR maybe future cars will have an option, either conventional HUs or ipad adaptors... hehe..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quickfusion Clutched July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 Which is why it is important that when u install the Ipad, it must have an opening for u to retrieve yr ipad. Never leave yr ipad in the car. I think it's bad for Ipad if placed in the car for a prolong period of time under intense heat. In one of the youtube links that I've posted, the one done by David Fisherman is good as it allow one to retrieve and place the ipad in the car. Even if u dun use the ipad in yr car, you can still use it while u are in the cafe, library etc etc. Those that permanently place yr ipad in the car is not a good idea actually. being able to take the ipad wherever you go + use it in the car as an entertainment unit + GPS is damn cool IMO... why want to leave it in the car permanently? BTW, anyone knows how how we can use the ipad GPS if go into boleh land? i'm not sure how this works but it uses the data plan right? therefore if use the GPS in boleh land then the bill will be damn high? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 And when you drive into JB... Byebye! don't drive to JB, period!! the ipad wouldn't work anyway in JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quickfusion Clutched July 22, 2010 Share July 22, 2010 don't drive to JB, period!! the ipad wouldn't work anyway in JB. it won't work in jb? can download the map right? i'm not sure how it works... (sorry ah, abit slow). can someone explain pls. thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacxaviqer 1st Gear July 22, 2010 Author Share July 22, 2010 Is'it turn-by-turn available for normal iphone, andriod or even nokia? Except for a large screen that uses data plan, that's the point for drivers? How often do you need a GPS? Once a week at most. Instead of hiding the portable GPS in the dashboard, you have to bring it along with you every time. Even in shopping centers, not troublesome meh? If you are going to walk about in the shopping centre, then just leave yr ipad in the boot or places where pple will not see it. Dun need to carry whenever u are going but it comes in handy if going to cafe to sip on yr morning coffee or going library to get away from the afternoon crowd or to do online booking for yr fave movie, check out movie timeslot or even make reservation for yr fave resturant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 25, 2010 Share July 25, 2010 it won't work in jb? can download the map right? i'm not sure how it works... (sorry ah, abit slow). can someone explain pls. thanks! ipad 3g or non does not have gps module. Meaning it uses cell tower/wifi hotspot triangulation to cal your position, and not off the satellite for free like a real gps would. Wait for ipad 2 loh. Damn fast one. Every year or so something gets updated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 25, 2010 Share July 25, 2010 (edited) it won't work in jb? can download the map right? i'm not sure how it works... (sorry ah, abit slow). can someone explain pls. thanks! ok i might as well explain it in detail. (off my memory so here it goes - roughly) to find any position with vectors x,y,z (that means in 3d), you need 3d reference points (that is the satellites in the skies). so what the gps chip does is that it tries to get hold of as many satellites as possible and determines the distance they are from the satellites. satellites are in fixed orbits, in the sense satellites have a fixed path of movement in the skies; you can thus know how far you are from each satellites. why is that important? your location is determined by the point of intersection (from at least, i think, 3 reference points) if you were to draw straight lines from yourself to the satellite. that is done coz of the gps chip. and it works even with no sim card no wifi. however, assisted GPS (aGPS) comes in several variants. typically they make use of cell phone towers (the telcos have broadcast stations EVERYWHERE). again, the concept is same as the satellites, but this time its the cell towers (cell towers have fixed grid coordinates anw), but it is NOT free. you need data to talk to the towers and to refer them to an overall map for their coordinates. edit: the other variant is upcoming but not confirmed. it works on wifi hotspot triangulation. again, same concept, but it bases itself off more permanent wifi hotspots like starbucks macdonalds etc. maps are just another part. having downloaded map simply means you dont have to download using data plans. GPS will work, even without maps downloaded. its just that your position would become meaningless. you would have only your longitude and latitude (how far north/south and how far to the west/east you are on earth) numbers and no map to give you an idea of where things are in relation to you. Edited July 25, 2010 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear July 25, 2010 Share July 25, 2010 If you are going to walk about in the shopping centre, then just leave yr ipad in the boot or places where pple will not see it. Dun need to carry whenever u are going but it comes in handy if going to cafe to sip on yr morning coffee or going library to get away from the afternoon crowd or to do online booking for yr fave movie, check out movie timeslot or even make reservation for yr fave resturant. Try doing that in JB, you will see much more lost in your car. In JB or rather any part of Malaysia, leaving your laptop in the boot is not recommended, same goes for the ipad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fred_goh86 Neutral Newbie August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 anyone know of anyplace that do similar installation of ipad in the car over here at Spore???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abajaj Neutral Newbie October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 hi, am looking to install the ipad in my car too.... searched forums up and down but still can't seem to be guided. Can any pro's point me in the right direction? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fullmetalalchemist Neutral Newbie October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 I can still use M6 GPS on iPhone while having data and 3G both turned off in JB and locally as well. iPad can't do the same? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krazz77 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 hi, am looking to install the ipad in my car too.... searched forums up and down but still can't seem to be guided. Can any pro's point me in the right direction? thanks Bro, take a look at this. Not sure available in spore or not. http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13746_7-20004029-48.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...