Kia K5

Tohto

Just collected my K5 today  [:p]

Jus collected my used 2012 K5. Just to enquire. How many keys and remote comes with the vehicle when brand new?

It comes with 2. Why is there a key? Shouldn't it come integrated with the remote?

Just collected my K5 today  [:p]

It comes with 2. Why is there a key? Shouldn't it come integrated with the remote?

Yup. Mentioning about remote key. Remote control with a key inside.

I received 2 remote key however 1 of them is broken and since its a consignment car the dealer refused to repair it.

Vehicle is still under CnC 5 years unlimited millage warranty but from what I know. Keys are not included.

Edited by Goldenvodka

No la.. spec wise, Sonata wins hands down... including pricing

But I prefer the looks of Kia

Sonata S/R trim is was more loaded, but two key features stood out in the K5 when I test-drove it: full HID headlights (high beam is also HID), and electronic parking brake. The latter is very nice to use.

I don't think CnC will honour the warranty for remote. I don't think it's included anyway. The 5 years warranty is more for the car itself.

Did you not negotiate the price with dealer since it was broken? At least make them compensate when you are checking the item. 2nd hand car dealer are a bit tricky but you can threaten to go to CASE, I guess..

I received 2 remote key however 1 of them is broken and since its a consignment car the dealer refused to repair it.

Vehicle is still under CnC 5 years unlimited millage warranty but from what I know. Keys are not included.

Agree on the HID and electronic parking brake part.... You don't even need to disengage the brake to move. The electronic parking break also comes with the auto hold feature. If on, you can lift you legs from the brake pedal.

Sonata S/R trim is was more loaded, but two key features stood out in the K5 when I test-drove it: full HID headlights (high beam is also HID), and electronic parking brake. The latter is very nice to use.

Sonata's high beam also HID. I tested it. The high beam and normal beam come from the same projector. But yes, really regret no electronic parking brake. That's really very neat and convenient although I must say I haven't gotten used to the foot parking brake which is also quite unobtrusive. And frees up a lot of console space.

You have to get C&C to get it replaced lor... don't understand why the key fob can be broken... but the replacement will cost you...

Sonata's high beam also HID. I tested it. The high beam and normal beam come from the same projector. But yes, really regret no electronic parking brake. That's really very neat and convenient although I must say I haven't gotten used to the foot parking brake which is also quite unobtrusive. And frees up a lot of console space.

You have to get C&C to get it replaced lor... don't understand why the key fob can be broken... but the replacement will cost you...

It's bi-xenon? I had no idea! Don't think some SEs know either. But that's very cool and is actually one-up again on the K5, cuz only the top US trims have bi-xenon as opposed to the local dual xenon (not the same thing hor).

Eh? What is the difference between bi-xenon and dual xenon???

Actually I realized that the SEs don't know much or anything. They're just walking and talking brochures. They don't bother to read up more about the car and test the car for features. Even my SE, old bird with Komoco since they started also don't know much. He didn't tell me that my wing mirrors can be set to dip when I engage reverse. I learnt from a bro on this forum. And the workshop manager said that it was supposed to be a major feature. He also didn't know that the car came with rear cross traffic detector. I found out one day accidentally. It saved me from a collision. He also doesn't know a lot about the many settings available in the trip computer - like you can vary the number of blinks the signal light does for the one-tap signal function. He just told me there are a lot to be set and you can just play with it and find out. He also didn't know that the head lights were bi-xenon. I asked him twice and he said should be but not confirmed. So I tested myself lor. I looked at the headlight cluster. There are only three bulbs inside. One was the signal light which was orange so it was obvious. The other was the static cornering light, halogen projector type. It was facing outwards to the side. And the last one is the HID projector. If you check the Sonata thread, I posted a series of photos to illustrate that it's bi-xenon.

I have no idea why the SEs are like that... I met a Kia SE at Ubi who was very on in selling me the Forte SX sport last year. He really knew his stuff although at that time I didn't do any research. But from his detailing of the features and the differences between the three trims, and doing demos to show us, it was clear he had put in a lot of time to be familiar with the car.

Eh? What is the difference between bi-xenon and dual xenon???

Actually I realized that the SEs don't know much or anything. They're just walking and talking brochures. They don't bother to read up more about the car and test the car for features. Even my SE, old bird with Komoco since they started also don't know much. He didn't tell me that my wing mirrors can be set to dip when I engage reverse. I learnt from a bro on this forum. And the workshop manager said that it was supposed to be a major feature. He also didn't know that the car came with rear cross traffic detector. I found out one day accidentally. It saved me from a collision. He also doesn't know a lot about the many settings available in the trip computer - like you can vary the number of blinks the signal light does for the one-tap signal function. He just told me there are a lot to be set and you can just play with it and find out. He also didn't know that the head lights were bi-xenon. I asked him twice and he said should be but not confirmed. So I tested myself lor. I looked at the headlight cluster. There are only three bulbs inside. One was the signal light which was orange so it was obvious. The other was the static cornering light, halogen projector type. It was facing outwards to the side. And the last one is the HID projector. If you check the Sonata thread, I posted a series of photos to illustrate that it's bi-xenon.

I have no idea why the SEs are like that... I met a Kia SE at Ubi who was very on in selling me the Forte SX sport last year. He really knew his stuff although at that time I didn't do any research. But from his detailing of the features and the differences between the three trims, and doing demos to show us, it was clear he had put in a lot of time to be familiar with the car.

Bi-xenons have single projector housing that can perform both low and high beam functions (Sonata, Mazda 3 premium trim, etc). Dual xenons have two separate projector housings for low and high beams (Kia Optima K5). Bi-xenon is a pre-requisite for auto beam levelling in the K5.

I also found C&C's Kia SEs a bit more knowledgeable than Komoco's. If I'd known Sonatas were bi-xenon, who knows, that might have tipped me over into a Sonata purchase at the time. Then again, few SEs truly know their products inside and out. Motor Image's don't either. Just have to do our own research, bo pian. Then even after buying, we still discover surprises, hahah.

The 2016 K5 also comes with the auto leveling HID right? I thought that is a pre-requisite in Singapore. All HID must come with auto-leveling feature

Bi-xenons have single projector housing that can perform both low and high beam functions (Sonata, Mazda 3 premium trim, etc). Dual xenons have two separate projector housings for low and high beams (Kia Optima K5). Bi-xenon is a pre-requisite for auto beam levelling in the K5.

I also found C&C's Kia SEs a bit more knowledgeable than Komoco's. If I'd known Sonatas were bi-xenon, who knows, that might have tipped me over into a Sonata purchase at the time. Then again, few SEs truly know their products inside and out. Motor Image's don't either. Just have to do our own research, bo pian. Then even after buying, we still discover surprises, hahah.

The 2016 K5 also comes with the auto leveling HID right? I thought that is a pre-requisite in Singapore. All HID must come with auto-leveling feature

You could be right, of course, but I doubt it. Everything I've read and seen indicates that the current Singapore-spec K5 does not have auto-levelling HID projector headlamps. C&Cs brochure clearly states bi-xenon as a prerequisite for that, as does everything on the web. And if auto-levelling really were an SG regulatory requirements for HID, all HID-equipped cars would have that feature. I don't believe the K3 does, iirc. Any K3 and current-model K5 owners care to shed light on any of this?

As quoted by LTA below.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=1888

If the K5 doesn't have, how can it enter our shores? I don't think C&C will flaunt the laws so bluntly. C&C brochures are lousy. So is their webpage for Kia. They are using international pictures, highest spec, when they don't even bring them in.

You could be right, of course, but I doubt it. Everything I've read and seen indicates that the current Singapore-spec K5 does not have auto-levelling HID projector headlamps. C&Cs brochure clearly states bi-xenon as a prerequisite for that, as does everything on the web. And if auto-levelling really were an SG regulatory requirements for HID, all HID-equipped cars would have that feature. I don't believe the K3 does, iirc. Any K3 and current-model K5 owners care to shed light on any of this?

As quoted by LTA below.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=1888

If the K5 doesn't have, how can it enter our shores? I don't think C&C will flaunt the laws so bluntly. C&C brochures are lousy. So is their webpage for Kia. They are using international pictures, highest spec, when they don't even bring them in.

Thanks for the reference. 2010 onwards, eh? Useful to know. You're probably right then. C&C would never flout this rule, nor would any AD. Yet another feature that doesn't seem to be mentioned anywhere that we can easily verify.

But that would mean that K5 dual xenons have auto-levelling. An auto-levelling motor on each of the four projector assemblies. Interesting.

Everytime I look at C&C's webpage and their brochure I get pissed off. Until now, I'm not 100% sure what features the car comes with. 

Their webpage is confusing as they don't use the models they bring in. For example, power adjustable front seats.. WTF, it's driver seat, not front SEATS.. similarly, D-FATC, they are using one of the highest spec pics with harman kardon pics...

Can sue them for misrepresentation? Hahah

The brochure is also another nightmare...

And the owner's manual... it's more than half of Oxford's Dictionary thickness... some references and pictures are pre-2016 model... and most of the features comes with "(if equipped)"

They expect me to know what comes with the car when they cannot give me a decent brochure....

Sigh...

Guess what?!

I found out a feature of the car that even the SE and I bet C&C is not aware. The side mirror comes with auto reverse tilt just like the Sonata. Found out accidentally when adjusting the side mirror.

This feature was not even mentioned anywhere in the webpage nor the brochure.

Yup... that's also not recorded in the Sonata manual. You can take reference from via Sonata thread. Software wise should be the same.

Guess what?!

I found out a feature of the car that even the SE and I bet C&C is not aware. The side mirror comes with auto reverse tilt just like the Sonata. Found out accidentally when adjusting the side mirror.

This feature was not even mentioned anywhere in the webpage nor the brochure.

actually depend on SE. The SE that served me, he know about this auto reverse tilt thing.