Luncheon meat

Terras14

because it is made from mix parts of a pig, from the nose to the butt.

Basically they use "wasted" meat from pigs, mix them up and create our favorite tin.

Yes, to some health experts, it is unhealthy as we do not know which part of the meat if in our tin of luncheon meat.

午餐肉 supposedly is 五mix(chinese dono how to write)肉 so that it sounds and looks better, marketing strategy!

Stated your source and proof please.....

Can anyone tell me why the luncheon meat we eat is call " wu chan rou" ? How did the name come about? Many thanks.

ha, it is wu can rou. Most prob is a translation from luncheon meat.

Hi Professor Wu Chan Rou,

You are right.

Go green with luncheon meat.

Recycled waste parts blended with lots spices.

Demn unhealthy, But demn addictive.

Especially fried with egg omelette.

Once you start, cannot stop until finish.

Get the ham version- a little pricey but less fat.

Yep, tuilip chopped ham is good.

I have the feeling that ang moh's luncheon meat is not as "poisonous" as those MIC ones. They seems to have more ethic then the other... <_<

When it comes to making $$$, no such thing as ethics.

Wu Chan is from long long ago during the Tang dynasty, a butcher by trade and had owned a couple of escort agencies.

Transportation of goods during those times were tough and the journeys were long usually 4-5 days trip.

He came up with a recipe to preserve meats so that his men can bring along for their meals and the recipe was passed down from generations since then.

There you have it, "Wu Chan's preserved meat" Wu Chan Rou. A delicacy then and sought after by many now.

Edited by Vroomtattat

OT abit here but something I dun understand about canned food.

If there is a picture of Sardine on the can, we know its canned Sardine. Picture of beans, probably some beans. And then, there was these cans with pictures of Golden Retrievers. How come we know its dog food leh? Becoz its meant to be eaten by Retrievers? Then every other can should show a picture of a human who will eventually eat it. Why double standard???

It's bloody common sense.

This new Mei Lin tastes different from the one before the big hooha.

Its not the same without all the toxic chemicals.

Reminds me of the Hokkian mee selling toiling over a big

hot steaming kuali. All that stream was like suana and his

sweat dripping into the wok.

No wonder it tasted so good, all natural ingrediants and no

need to add salt, I never ate there again! :D

Wow! This is the most convincing history lesson on wu chan rou.

I hope no one will say it is the meat of mr wu chan rou.

Bear bear, canned dog meat lah.

yeah... the poor ang mo in US really eat luncheon meat for lunch one... but they call it SPAM... and they eat it like whole, no slice into pieces one....

Margaret Tatcher was fed on spam in the war years. The whole of UK was on rations. She likes the stuff. [:p]

午餐肉 as per my impression is simply the Chinese romanisation of the term Luncheon Meat. To cite among others, such romanisation will include

1.) Bus 巴士

2.) Taxi 德士

3.) Lorry 罗里(think these are the correct characters)

I believe that luncheon meat is cured meat i.e. sodium nitrate or sodium nitrite salts have been added in the manufacturing process in order to cure the meat, thereby granting it its characteristic pinkish colour.

午餐肉 as per my impression is simply the Chinese romanisation of the term Luncheon Meat. To cite among others, such romanisation will include

1.) Bus 巴士

2.) Taxi 德士

3.) Lorry 罗里(think these are the correct characters)

I believe that luncheon meat is cured meat i.e. sodium nitrate or sodium nitrite salts have been added in the manufacturing process in order to cure the meat, thereby granting it its characteristic pinkish colour.

Nice sig [cool]