Babyt 4th Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 someone sld slap this boy awake. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 So many pour cold water replies in this thread. Maybe with this kind of mentality, no wonder SG got overrun by FT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 I like this boy attitude! This boy gonna grow up into a real man... Guts, determination and super attitude...... He has my utmost respect and this is the kind of child I would want mine to be like, rather than a top bookworm with no feelings, EQ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 I think you meant red beret. He's not wearing specs, you know. This is innocence, friendship and passion. With his great attitude and proper grooming, he'll make it big in life. I only ran my first 15km when I was 28. green beret will pwn red beret training 100 times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 precisely.... one notable negative impression from YOG is the torch relay.... make so much noise pollution (thanks to traffic horns, blasting of different music from different buses, police sounding the siren, etc....) brought a sudden disturbance to my neighbourhood nia.... dun so sour plum leh. not like they run after midnight when everyone is sleeping. some cheers and noises shd add excitement to your neighbourhood. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 am just glad it's all over now..... the worse thing is i experienced this in my grandparents house too leah.... lightning doesn't strike the same place twice??? haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 i give the boy a benefit of doubt...but all we know the YOG folks are trying to ramp up the hype and passion to induce more interest etc....hahahahaha....."gu ruo ji"....they think is the iranian show where the school boy kept running..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 quite possible too, the way you put it.... that boy is just a hyped up advert??? but i'll give him and the organizing committee the benefit of doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 To run in flip-flop for 15 km is no joke. Abebe Bikila ran his first marathon barefoot. First black African to win the marathon in the 1960 Olympics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 Another one who kena brainwash. Good effort, but for what? If is real Olympics, then OK lah. Can understand. attitude is very important... and almost not possible to train it, as it depends on the person's character... so based on ur logic, is it... when playing soccer, no need to put in efforts since it's not World Cup? when handling a project for a company, also no need to put in efforts if it's not a million dollar project? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 well done! Kudos to the small boy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 Kudos to the boy! Wonder will the TP escort give him a ride back home??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 I am more concern about, what kind of parents will let their kids roam in the streets like that.......somemore 15km .............................. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 His passion is commendable! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invicta Neutral Newbie August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 (edited) Dear all in this forum, I appeal to your good hearts to give this boy some respect. He is my pupil. He was not there for your critique, he was not there for the limelight, he was not there as a tool. He was there for himself and the spirit of Olympism. For those who wished him well, I thank you for your kind words of encouragement. I joined this forum eons ago becoz you guys gave balanced feedback about cars. Thank you very much. For those who are cynical, I do hope you have a blessed life too and hope that you are kinder towards your own kids. Maybe your kids get better treatment. Clarification: 1. He went there because he wanted to get into the YOG action. He was also present for YOG Countdown last year (@ Padang if you don't recall). He was also involved in the Olympic Day run last month at Pasir Ris park. It was a downpour but 500 over kids ran 2010m. All for fun and participation. Not any prize you are imagining. 2. He was there initially to take pictures to share with his classmates and to contribute to the YOG blog for the class which was a students' project. But like all Olympic moments, the run was unplanned and he did not expect to run for 2.5 hrs. That's why he is in slippers and berms. 3. No, he is not poor. He is from an average family who loves him very much and supports him. No, they are not cynical like some adults are. 4. He has school shoes. 5. He needs no sponsor and he has pride. He runs for his passion, innocence and pleasure (when was the last time you did something pleasurable and pure and innocent?) in witnessing a moment of history. He needs no free shoes. You can keep the money for your own children. 6. He is a very good pupil and his homework has been done before the long weekend. All submitted and yes he did turn up for school on Wednesday because there is a mock exam for his PSLE. 7. He needs encouragement from adults. And he hails from Singapore. FT or not, we as adults should encourage such feat of passion, youth and innocence. 8. Shame on those who kept thinking this is an act of propaganda. I do not know what issues you have with the authorities, but please take it up with them, not with a young boy as a tool. 9. Yes, he ran all the way. Only stopped when the lights turned red against his favor. He stayed by the pavements and the grass patches. His parents trusted him. He is an independent boy. Do you trust your kids? Did you wish your parents trusted you when you were 12? 10. And finally yes, he is a star in the class and school but he wishes the hype will end because he did it for 'Fun, Participation and Spontaniety". Please do not flame the boy. If you do, please spend some time reflecting on what values you are portraying. What have you done today worthy for children to learn? If you must, then take it out on me. I do hope Wei Jie can inspire all young and old alike to take things on the brighter side. Life is better when we smile. Thank you. Edited August 11, 2010 by Invicta Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invicta Neutral Newbie August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 Slap him for? A pat in the back is better. What has he done that caused your dislike? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 a pat on his back for me please... my admiration on his passion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 Please tell him what he did was truly inspirational and he should maintain such attitude. Wish him the best for his future endeavours. Thank you for imparting the right values and standing up for him. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...