HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Can say the same for National Day....esp ever since kallang stadium is no more. Fireworks time will still rise a few eyebrows but can say they are running out of program ...every year even tho they broadcast it live ,from the comfort of our living room , I will rather watch pptv .....Yawnzzzzz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 I am not very interested in YOG myself but it is clear as day that most critics who claim it is extravagant or wasteful are those who do not see the significance or importance of YOG. To the participants or those enthusiastic about youth sports, I am sure they think that the money is well spent. Honestly, if we all think like that many things are a waste of taxpayer's money. If I think like you guys then: The multi purpose hall in my estate is a waste of taxpayer's money. The stadium/swimming pool across the road is a waste of taxpayer's money. The Esplanade is a waste of taxpayer's money as are all the institutions promoting the Arts. The new universities are a waste of taxpayer's money. Development of waterfront living at Punggol is a waste of taxpayer's money. Downtown line MRT to Bukit Timah is also a waste of taxpayer's money. Please be realistic. There are bound to be things that other people want the government to spend $$ on but are insignificant to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 (edited) If I think like you guys then: The multi purpose hall in my estate is a waste of taxpayer's money. The stadium/swimming pool across the road is a waste of taxpayer's money. The Esplanade is a waste of taxpayer's money as are all the institutions promoting the Arts. The new universities are a waste of taxpayer's money. Development of waterfront living at Punggol is a waste of taxpayer's money. Downtown line MRT to Bukit Timah is also a waste of taxpayer's money. why waste? we need to pay for these when we use it....so it has revenues to cover the costing... unless u tell me it's Free..but doubt so..LOL and yes thats why we are very Realistic..LOL Edited August 15, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 (edited) Why was our National Flag "REVERSED" into the arena? Did any one notice? Edited August 15, 2010 by Fitvip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 If I think like you guys then: The multi purpose hall in my estate is a waste of taxpayer's money. The stadium/swimming pool across the road is a waste of taxpayer's money. The Esplanade is a waste of taxpayer's money as are all the institutions promoting the Arts. The new universities are a waste of taxpayer's money. Development of waterfront living at Punggol is a waste of taxpayer's money. Downtown line MRT to Bukit Timah is also a waste of taxpayer's money. why waste? we need to pay for these when we use it....so it has revenues to cover the costing... unless u tell me it's Free..but doubt so..LOL and yes thats why we are very Realistic..LOL It is a "waste" because the initial costs of big ticket construction like stadiums, Esplanade, MRT lines is likely to be partly borne by the government and taxpayer's money. So yes, even though they charge for use; our money is used to foot a proportion of the initial construction cost. But no they are not a waste because although I have no use for them, I am sure those living in Punggol/Bkt Timah and those Arts practitioners think differently. On the flip side, I am willing to put up with the inconvenience from F1 because I find it makes our country more exciting. But I am sure there are at least an equal number of Singaporeans will find that the government putting in some money for F1 a whole big waste. My point is: Diff strokes for diff folks; so taxpayers' money will never always be spent satisfactorily because we all have diff expectations of how it should be spent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 THE budget for the inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG) has surpassed original estimates of $104 million by more than three times. The projected government spending for the 13-day Games in August will now be approximately $387 million. Enough said. Make Singapore known to the world is good but how abt spending that excessive amount of money on it's own citizens? Its an honest $387 million mistake, let's move on, thanks for sucking up our .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Worse thing is SG will help Jamaica repair their stadium... But Bolt n Kingston all fly aeroplane... Really pawn dip dip... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming89 Neutral Newbie August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 duno why sgporeans like to slam own country so much... dun support nvm.. still want to trample.... crazy culture we have here..... and for sure some d*ckhead gonna say is becuz of the govt Bro, i agree with u...nowadays everything they also can link back to govt...regardless of whether its actually true or not....maybe next time they find one pimple on their face they also will blame....sian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 well, given 2.5yrs, as compared to the normal 6-7yrs of notice, it's considered decent lah.... and this performance is based on theatre acts, and since i'm not a theatre person, i shan't commend.... the nice thing to look at was the cauldron though.... Super nice 'whirlpool' effect!! [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Didn't watch. Was watching football. For the deluded folks (including ministers) who still think YOG 'puts us on the map', I once again point you to BBC or CNN. See how many times YOG is mentioned. ZERO. eh.. got small mention in New York Times leh.. but they also mention how CNA survey 88% of our own citizens not interested they mentioned the budget ballooning too, didn't criticise, just report. but seriously, i think if need to spend, need to spend lah. i just hope it pays off in the end, for the nation as a whole Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 eh.. got small mention in New York Times leh.. but they also mention how CNA survey 88% of our own citizens not interested they mentioned the budget ballooning too, didn't criticise, just report. but seriously, i think if need to spend, need to spend lah. i just hope it pays off in the end, for the nation as a whole "Small mention" I think most Americans won't even notice it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 It is a "waste" because the initial costs of big ticket construction like stadiums, Esplanade, MRT lines is likely to be partly borne by the government and taxpayer's money. So yes, even though they charge for use; our money is used to foot a proportion of the initial construction cost. But no they are not a waste because although I have no use for them, I am sure those living in Punggol/Bkt Timah and those Arts practitioners think differently. On the flip side, I am willing to put up with the inconvenience from F1 because I find it makes our country more exciting. But I am sure there are at least an equal number of Singaporeans will find that the government putting in some money for F1 a whole big waste. My point is: Diff strokes for diff folks; so taxpayers' money will never always be spent satisfactorily because we all have diff expectations of how it should be spent. agree with u.. but with most things, time will tell whether it's $$ well-spent. now too early to praise or condemn. i just hope that adequate emphasis is placed on the youths and their sport. not about how a certain country did it in 2.5 years. easy to get carried away with the chest thumping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 "Small mention" I think most Americans won't even notice it. they will! cos some of them don't even know we exist!! hahahaha. ah well.. but seriously it really depends on their level of interest in the games. it's the games bringing attention to SG more than the other way round i feel. side note, i watched most of the ceremony and learnt of the existence of quite a number of countries that i never even heard of before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 i wonder how much to host the SEA games....... i guess most people will think it is a waste of money too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Ok. Tell me within these 2.5 years what was built up from scratch? Which stadium or pools or running track was totally newly built just for this YOG? If it's just refurbishment, then half a year is more than enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 One thing's for sure, YOG Opening Ceremony sux big time. Damn lao kwee watching it, no creativity at all. PATHETIC!! I rather watch my goldfish poop. What do you think? IMO.....they have put in alot of the effort....well if they don't spent on these...they will certainly spend on other things.....better than lose $$ in investment....e.g ABC learning.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 I don't get it.... why the negativity...why the need for people (of all why American) to recognize or acknowledge our effort....THe fact is as a nation we are forever in History...THe first country to host Youth Olympic Games... Why bash your own countrymen? Why bash your children, nieces, nephews or cousins or any relatives tat volunteered n took part in the preparation n the actual events? What pride does that give u or what does tat say abt ur mentality??? No doubt they had been over budgetting, some food catering screw up...but tell me if u had known any big scale events tat never had any hiccups? Come on people, if u are Singaporeans, juz sit back n enjoy wat our little nation is capable of....we can be sore abt gvt issues/policies, stupidity or inconsistency of our leaders...but when credit is due...PLEASE STAND UP N ACKNOWLEDGE.... if u r really so sore abt the current gvt, let ur vote decide in the next election...Do we have a better alternative? OR when the crunch comes, all the loud voice people become ballless?...ok abit overboard... I don't agree w a lot of gvt policies too, but I acknowledge all our people committment n dedication in ensuring tat YOG is smooth flowing!! Hormat Senjatat! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 I don't get it.... why the negativity...why the need for people (of all why American) to recognize or acknowledge our effort....THe fact is as a nation we are forever in History...THe first country to host Youth Olympic Games... and again s'poreans ask why ang mos are treated like elite... when they unknowingly also seek acknowledgement from ang mos as a measure of success good gracious... singaporeans..... you can do better than this ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...