HDB: Rental Demand Still Strong?

SimonTan

I was thinking how to profit from the new rule. Discussion with my friends and colleagues.

Fact:

It seems that gov is restricting people from owning two or more properties from Monday onwards.

Also limiting HDB from being rented out easily (HDB must stay 5 years, cannot rent out etc etc).

So there will be generally be a reduced rental units on the market come 2011 as people are not easily allowed to buy extra units.

Fact:

The problem is that RENTAL from FT/PR/new citizens are supporting the rental market for the past 5-7 years.

If there were no rental support from this group, I cannot believe how the hell speculators are able to rent out their extra units to earn rental incomes for the past years.

So how can this rental demand going to disappear from now onwards? I mean there WILL still be incoming FT/PR/new citizens yearly right?

If these group of people are NOT able to find available HDB/Condo rooms to rent, where will they go to?

So if suddenly the 'poor' are prevented from owning 2 or more extra properties, then I forsee there will be a lack of spare HDB/CONDOs for rental come 2011 onwards.....HOW?

I think rental rates will shoot up the roof when available rental units are cut due to lesser people owning 2 or more properties.

It will be a vivcious cycle, as it will then become worthwhile to once again for speculator to risk to buy additional properties to earn the higher rental income.

So looking at the impending reducation of HDB/CONDO units for rental purpose.

So I have come to the conclusion that I will ask my father mother myself to divorce and separetely each buy additonal HDB. And rent it out to FT/PR in 2011.

HUAT AH.

I was thinking how to profit from the new rule. Discussion with my friends and colleagues.

Fact:

It seems that gov is restricting people from owning two or more properties from Monday onwards.

Also limiting HDB from being rented out easily (HDB must stay 5 years, cannot rent out etc etc).

So there will be generally be a reduced rental units on the market come 2011 as people are not easily allowed to buy extra units.

Fact:

The problem is that RENTAL from FT/PR/new citizens are supporting the rental market for the past 5-7 years.

If there were no rental support from this group, I cannot believe how the hell speculators are able to rent out their extra units to earn rental incomes for the past years.

So how can this rental demand going to disappear from now onwards? I mean there WILL still be incoming FT/PR/new citizens yearly right?

If these group of people are NOT able to find available HDB/Condo rooms to rent, where will they go to?

So if suddenly the 'poor' are prevented from owning 2 or more extra properties, then I forsee there will be a lack of spare HDB/CONDOs for rental come 2011 onwards.....HOW?

I think rental rates will shoot up the roof when available rental units are cut due to lesser people owning 2 or more properties.

It will be a vivcious cycle, as it will then become worthwhile to once again for speculator to risk to buy additional properties to earn the higher rental income.

So looking at the impending reducation of HDB/CONDO units for rental purpose.

So I have come to the conclusion that I will ask my father mother myself to divorce and separetely each buy additonal HDB. And rent it out to FT/PR in 2011.

HUAT AH.

Can your father disown you too so that you also can buy another unit? ^_^

Anyway, want to divorce also you think so fast meh.... Need to separate for 3 years first then only can proceed to divorce....

Edited by Tjkbeluga

HUAT AH.

Does not work. You can separate and buy HDB. But MOP 5 years, meaning you can only rent it out in 2016.

But, you could go and buy up pte properties for rental, if an only if you have stay in your existing HDB for 4y 10 months, like Joseph22 or you currently stay in private.

If your MOP is still far from 5y, you can only suck thumb, miss the boat.

With this new policy, HDB is really reserved for citizen only.

FW, FT needs a place, go rent/buy pte property.

Damm it.

Looks like I am too late in the game to profit from the HUGH demand in rental due to reduction of properties available from speculators and HDB owners!

Those with existing extra units or rich speculators will HUAT big big.

no matter what,

if you have HDB,

must always live in one....

cannot live in your other pte apartment....

Eh? I thought you can buy a private once your MOP is up?

If lesser people selling their HDB due to MOP5, then resale flat will dry up! Will it not create a demand and even higher COV?

That's why they also roll out 25000 or what ever new units to satisfy the demand.

To prevent short term spike, they shorten the building time to 2 years. So, hopefully, some couples will hold back their wedding a year or two. This will release pressure to the existing resale market.

Singapore Govt quite smart also la.

As what Tigerwoods said, they judge the hdb demand poorly. They should have get 10000 units ready this year, in anticipation of the high demand when IR is ready. But they did nothing.