Roberttan 5th Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 First set was a Avanti RS (Advan RS Replica) My friend's 2nd set of Replica rims SA67 Replica: Now is on Sa-- replica :P YOU can spent so much $ on your brake and yet bought the Websport rim anyway you websport rim i think is original but now they coould be produced in TAIWAN (out source) also are you runnning on YOKOhama tyee? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 YOU can spent so much $ on your brake and yet bought the Websport rim anyway you websport rim i think is original but now they coould be produced in TAIWAN (out source) also are you runnning on YOKOhama tyee? Not mine leh, hahahaha i also say him. buay tahan. for my i spend on Rims cannot afford brakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 yes my frend running Yokohama S-drive, that is a Racing Sports RS02 NOT the original Wedsport SA67. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 I don't think there is significant wear on replica or cheaper Taiwan or whatever brand wheels (rims), if you drive normally in Singapore road. Branded wheels like Volks, BBS, are very expensive, easily a few K. Even some center caps can cost over 200 bucks a set. Unless you are brand whore, or really go for some weight savings, the cheaper wheels will do lah, in my humble opinion. Of course, you will look like silly if you drive a Ferrari & use a 15 inch Advanti wheels, or overkill on a QQ on 18 inch volks racing TE37. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 correct me if i'm wrong, but one major difference in the price between the expensive and cheap rims are the manufacturing process used to make them.. as far as i know, the real rims are usually forged, meaning use force to hammer them down to size..these are usually have the best mechanical strength(and thus can be made lighter)..this process is very energy consuming, and the machines are not cheap.. the other more common (and cheaper) method is via casting and machining..these usually do not have the superb mechanical properties of those made by forging.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Advan cast their rims but still ex :( Prodrive are all forged :) Taiwan or Jap rims all will damage but the latter may be slightly stronger. The paint/chrome quality of Jap rims will last longer and wont fade over time. Pay peanuts get monkey. If you want your rims to flush to your fender without the need of spacers, go for jap rims where u can pre-order what kind of offset you need to flush. Your car looks stupid with tuck rims, even how nice the rims is, it looks like a tortoise on 4 small legs. YUCKS! i just hate that kind of looks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Advan cast their rims but still ex :( Prodrive are all forged :) Taiwan or Jap rims all will damage but the latter may be slightly stronger. The paint/chrome quality of Jap rims will last longer and wont fade over time. Pay peanuts get monkey. If you want your rims to flush to your fender without the need of spacers, go for jap rims where u can pre-order what kind of offset you need to flush. Your car looks stupid with tuck rims, even how nice the rims is, it looks like a tortoise on 4 small legs. YUCKS! i just hate that kind of looks. brother just to correct you, NOT all Prodrive rims are Forged OK(dont want to mislead here) no matter how we share our views and still you yourself have the final say. JUst remember 1 thing,you should know what you doing or buying. 一分钱 一分货 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 One important factor contributing to the lifespan of the rim is the tyre profile. The thicker, the better for the rims. Rims equipped with low profile tyre are more prone to damages; be it forged or casted rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lectrosphere 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 was urs offroad pigkarp rims leh, different leh... heavy duty designed for bashing lol hmmm... but de casting n material use should be same as replicas bah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lectrosphere 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 First set was a Avanti RS (Advan RS Replica) My friend's 2nd set of Replica rims SA67 Replica: Now is on Sa-- replica :P wah... looks serious... so big chunk broke off! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 wah, din know replica rims can break till like that... Macam plastic... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 First set was a Avanti RS (Advan RS Replica) My friend's 2nd set of Replica rims SA67 Replica: Now is on Sa-- replica :P your friend ok or not ? using mcgard nuts with replica rims . but i have to agree , u pay peanuts you get monkey. i am using the same set of prodrives on my ride coming to 5yrs now.still going good . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 hmmm... but de casting n material use should be same as replicas bah? maybe same. but ur rims surely designed for rugged use and heavier loads so everything will be thicker (ie, stronger) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 correct me if i'm wrong, but one major difference in the price between the expensive and cheap rims are the manufacturing process used to make them.. as far as i know, the real rims are usually forged, meaning use force to hammer them down to size..these are usually have the best mechanical strength(and thus can be made lighter)..this process is very energy consuming, and the machines are not cheap.. the other more common (and cheaper) method is via casting and machining..these usually do not have the superb mechanical properties of those made by forging.. Not necessarily bro. Take OZ's for example. They're cast (so are BBS's IIRC). They can achieve the same mechanical strengths of forged wheels. The difference is they weigh more. One thing I've noticed about replica's is that they're either more brittle (and light), or if they're not, they're off balance (so more weights are needed for balancing). If I drove exclusively in SG then the former shouldnt make a difference unless I hit a curb hard, no craters potholes to really worry about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 hi bro, dont know how true tat replica rims cant tahan long... but my alloy rims which i believe is the same material as you lasted me for a good half year without any problems... i go up kerb and occasionally go offroad wif these rims of mine so far so good though i heard they will wrap under pressure... but mine no problem Have you seen how thick your tyres are? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 just changed to this set of rims, Wedsports Replica SA-67R, 17" Maybe my fzd jealous............said replica rims cannot tahan for long...........over time..........sure outta shape one True or not I know and like those. You'll be fine. Just beware impact damage like potholes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched September 6, 2010 Author Share September 6, 2010 (edited) tks Elfenstar. got a colleague who got the similar replica rims as mine for 3 years or so............still going strong for the rims,even go JB eat/pump/shop also fine....17" what but true lah....................if kanna big potholes..............can kiss the set good bye liao but again.....................i also got see authentic brand rims damaged...............those laying at rims shops and a few by the roadside, so whether which is better..............depends on luck Edited September 7, 2010 by Kungfu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 your friend ok or not ? using mcgard nuts with replica rims . but i have to agree , u pay peanuts you get monkey. i am using the same set of prodrives on my ride coming to 5yrs now.still going good . hahaha...........it was a group buy organise by me for the Legacy people so just buy lor. not very ex la, better than trading rims with bricks right? :D ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...