Moredhel 2nd Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Dear Bros, I understand that msot stock radiators are made to take the heat from both the EO and ATF/MTF and I"ve been advised by several WS and experienced bros that this is actually not enough to handle the cooling especially when you're driving long distance during a hot day. Someone mentioned to be that it is possible to install water cooling sprays that some intercoolers use for the stock radiator. Anyone knows where that can be done along with the relays and cabin controls? I'm considering changing to an aluminium radiator but looking at other options. Any bros can advise a newbie? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 i am interested too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 (edited) Can, you can even DIY yourself. All you need is a fine nozzle and a high pressure pump and thermistor that will activate the pump when temp rises to a certain degree. Ebay actually sells those intercooler spray kits you can buy and install it yourself. If you are even more KS, can go for CO2 spray instead of water. However, I don't see the need for that and its a pain to top up water all the time. If your stock radiator is insufficient, its either radiator is too small or there is insufficient air flow over it. You can get a bigger radiator at low price from ebay. Don't need to go for those $600 branded ones, its just a waste of money...... Edited October 7, 2010 by Mini-itx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeleburacer Neutral Newbie October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 http://www3.wind.ne.jp/snowbravo/gesc_cgi/...ry.cgi?field=12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 8, 2010 Author Share October 8, 2010 (edited) Can, you can even DIY yourself. All you need is a fine nozzle and a high pressure pump and thermistor that will activate the pump when temp rises to a certain degree. Ebay actually sells those intercooler spray kits you can buy and install it yourself. If you are even more KS, can go for CO2 spray instead of water. However, I don't see the need for that and its a pain to top up water all the time. If your stock radiator is insufficient, its either radiator is too small or there is insufficient air flow over it. You can get a bigger radiator at low price from ebay. Don't need to go for those $600 branded ones, its just a waste of money...... Jeleburacer: Steady lah. Looks quite easy to do. But I tot you gave me jap porn site link. ^^ It's just the wiring up to he cabin that is lay chey. I prefer to spray it manually so I'll probably do a relay switch with a pulse delay module. Something like a wiper pump system. Thanks for the link. Itx: Top up water easy easy. Pump petrol time top up can leh. Or can do a rainwater catch tank, but bay no space to put. Mai CO2 lah. Scared of chemicals. And must put tank. Later kenna by ROV for having CO2 tank in my car. Then emmision cannot pass. I want also put Nitrogen Oxide tank right? Larger radiator I also want. But in the end cost alot. Also dunno if bracket can fit. Can fit later must get bigger cooling fans. Then must uprate the motor to run the bigger cooling fans. Then after that to control the cooling fans I must get the fan control unit. Then after that to run the fans at optimal I must uprate my alternator. Then I must uprate my battery to efficiently store the charge from my uprated alternator. I think spray still better. ^^ Edited October 8, 2010 by Moredhel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 Dear Bros, I understand that msot stock radiators are made to take the heat from both the EO and ATF/MTF and I"ve been advised by several WS and experienced bros that this is actually not enough to handle the cooling especially when you're driving long distance during a hot day. Someone mentioned to be that it is possible to install water cooling sprays that some intercoolers use for the stock radiator. Anyone knows where that can be done along with the relays and cabin controls? I'm considering changing to an aluminium radiator but looking at other options. Any bros can advise a newbie? Thanks! what car are u driving? tat u want improved cooling? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 Don't think it would be useful replacing the radiator without replacing of the thermostat - Thermostat opens gradually at a specific range of temperature, if the radiator is highly efficient, it would be useless if no hot coolant goes through it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 8, 2010 Author Share October 8, 2010 what car are u driving? tat u want improved cooling? I'm not driving any sports/power car if that's what you mean. Driving a humble B&B 1.6 car. No turbo. No SC. For now. But I'm thinking and learning ways to improve the engine efficiency and FC and better cooling is one of the core mod steps to prevent overheating and other more extreme stuff from running lean with advance timing over long distances. Also interested in combining the spray with some sort of cooling system to lower the temperature of my engine bay for 2 main reasons, to reduce heated intake air temperature and my engine bay gets super hot with the lousy design ventilation and no vent mods allowed on the side fenders and hood(for safety reasons, the LTA says). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 Don't think it would be useful replacing the radiator without replacing of the thermostat - Thermostat opens gradually at a specific range of temperature, if the radiator is highly efficient, it would be useless if no hot coolant goes through it. ATF coolers got thermostat one meh? Cause I thought TS is talking about his ATF radiator. If water radiator, just get a bigger one lar. Ebay selling lots of them at low prices. I am using a cheap china made ebay radiator right now and not problems. Much thicker than stock radiator. Btw, thermostat will not aid cooling if radiator is unable to extract heat out of the water. Can get bigger fans though. Again, ebay.... Lots of them... Ebay is really my friend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 Redline water wetter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 I'm not driving any sports/power car if that's what you mean. Driving a humble B&B 1.6 car. No turbo. No SC. For now. But I'm thinking and learning ways to improve the engine efficiency and FC and better cooling is one of the core mod steps to prevent overheating and other more extreme stuff from running lean with advance timing over long distances. Also interested in combining the spray with some sort of cooling system to lower the temperature of my engine bay for 2 main reasons, to reduce heated intake air temperature and my engine bay gets super hot with the lousy design ventilation and no vent mods allowed on the side fenders and hood(for safety reasons, the LTA says). Some steps to cool your intake. 1. CAI, I don't mean open pod, just CAI, have a duct outside engine back to take in cool air. 2. shield and insulate your intake pipes form the engine heat. 3. Get a phenolic intake gasket. This will reduce your intake manifold temp. 4. Paint or shield your intake manifold from engine heat. 5. Shield your fuel rails and pipes from engine heat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 ATF coolers got thermostat one meh? Cause I thought TS is talking about his ATF radiator. If water radiator, just get a bigger one lar. Ebay selling lots of them at low prices. I am using a cheap china made ebay radiator right now and not problems. Much thicker than stock radiator. Btw, thermostat will not aid cooling if radiator is unable to extract heat out of the water. Can get bigger fans though. Again, ebay.... Lots of them... Ebay is really my friend. I re-read again, TS talking about radiator. Like I said earlier, bigger radiator is useless if the thermostat don't open and let the water flow from engine to radiator. You're right that thermostat don't aid cooling if radiator is unable to extract heat out of the water. In the first place, under normal conditions, the stock radiator will do the job of extracting heat and maintaining it at the right temperature. No doubt you can get bigger fans and extract as much heat from the water thereby lowering the coolant temperature. However, bear in mind that if the temperature is too low, engine oil might not work effectively. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 Dear Bros, I understand that msot stock radiators are made to take the heat from both the EO and ATF/MTF and I"ve been advised by several WS and experienced bros that this is actually not enough to handle the cooling especially when you're driving long distance during a hot day. Someone mentioned to be that it is possible to install water cooling sprays that some intercoolers use for the stock radiator. Anyone knows where that can be done along with the relays and cabin controls? I'm considering changing to an aluminium radiator but looking at other options. Any bros can advise a newbie? Thanks! As long as yr cooling system is working as it sud, u can b stuck in a jam at hot afternoon sun n yr temp gauge sud stay just beow e 1/2 mark, which is e normal temp. If yr temp gauge shows much hotter than normal, there is something wrong with yr cooling system like fans/thermostat faulty or too little coolant or blockage at exterior fins r water channels clogged. Either way u need to send to a good reliable ws to check. I dont advise putting those snake-oil stuff. It is a waste of yr $. Also u usually get overheating while stuck in a jam. If u r moving along at a reasonable speed, the moving air sud b able to cool e coolant in yr cooling system unless it is faulty. There is no need to change yr stock radiator as it was designed for yr car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 i am interested too Fr yr case, i can re-route yr windscreen washers to spray water on yr radiatrs n inside yr cabin to keep yr engine n u cool. Another option is place a bucket of water in yr back n once in awhile u come down n pour some water on yr engine block n on u n yr passengers to keep cool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 yap, agree, nowadays, stock cooling system is good enough to handle most situation... Unlike 30 yrs ago, u caneasily see car breakdown during traffic jam... 1 of the hot spot is causeway.. i still remember my father always worry that his dutson 120Y overheated when stucked in jam.... unless your car is more than 10 yrs old, or you have heavily moded your engine.... with proper maintainace of the radiator (change and flush the coolant according to manufacturer requirement), the stock radiator should be able to handle the heat generated from the engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 I'm not driving any sports/power car if that's what you mean. Driving a humble B&B 1.6 car. No turbo. No SC. For now. But I'm thinking and learning ways to improve the engine efficiency and FC and better cooling is one of the core mod steps to prevent overheating and other more extreme stuff from running lean with advance timing over long distances. Also interested in combining the spray with some sort of cooling system to lower the temperature of my engine bay for 2 main reasons, to reduce heated intake air temperature and my engine bay gets super hot with the lousy design ventilation and no vent mods allowed on the side fenders and hood(for safety reasons, the LTA says). Why wud u want to play around wh yr air/fuel n ignition timing settings? U r only looking fr more trouble. If u dont know what u r doing, u gona burn yr valves n pistons which means a big overhaul n lots of $. As long as yr temp gauge does not go much higher than normal, u r fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 As long as yr cooling system is working as it sud, u can b stuck in a jam at hot afternoon sun n yr temp gauge sud stay just beow e 1/2 mark, which is e normal temp. If yr temp gauge shows much hotter than normal, there is something wrong with yr cooling system like fans/thermostat faulty or too little coolant or blockage at exterior fins r water channels clogged. Either way u need to send to a good reliable ws to check. I dont advise putting those snake-oil stuff. It is a waste of yr $. Also u usually get overheating while stuck in a jam. If u r moving along at a reasonable speed, the moving air sud b able to cool e coolant in yr cooling system unless it is faulty. There is no need to change yr stock radiator as it was designed for yr car. I fully agree. Stock radiator is good enough for stock N.A. car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 yap, agree, nowadays, stock cooling system is good enough to handle most situation... Unlike 30 yrs ago, u caneasily see car breakdown during traffic jam... 1 of the hot spot is causeway.. i still remember my father always worry that his dutson 120Y overheated when stucked in jam.... unless your car is more than 10 yrs old, or you have heavily moded your engine.... with proper maintainace of the radiator (change and flush the coolant according to manufacturer requirement), the stock radiator should be able to handle the heat generated from the engine... TS hand/backside itchy only. Cooling systems fail only when there is a fault in e system. My 19 year old corona also never overheat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...