Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 hello all, really need all bro's help with this. i'm really quite fed up with PML, not that i dont like their service, but i know the car and i know something is wrong but they keep saying "nothing is wrong" or "computer diagnostic is ok". zzz. here's the problem: i have a 3 yr old 320i, and when i start the car up and drive around, everything's ok. after a while, the fan or something giving a fan noise starts coming up from my engine compartment, so loud until i sit inside my car with windows close can also hear the "vheeeeeeng" sound from the fan. when u hear from outside its like an aeroplane engine noise -.- ok la not so loud, but u get the idea. it's too loud for a normal car. so here's what's next. I bring to PML for at least 5++ times liao. from before warranty over until now past a few months after warranty still havent solve the problem. first time they say radiator got fault, which makes sense since maybe engine too hot then fan need to blow faster (is it?). ok fine that was before warranty over, FOC change of whole radiator. but then when i drove back, the next day problem still there. so send back, they said dunno what's the problem. after that few days i was too busy, so had to use the car. i send again after maybe 1 month? they say computer say no problem. so i figured, they may not see the problem since the car doesnt have the problem until after a while of driving then the noise will come up, so i sent again and told them. then after a week of sitting in their workshop, they said got some problem with air-con pump and dunno what, charge me $800 cos no warranty liao. ok lor, LLST just pay cos also my fault i nvr tell them it's after a while. lagi best, the next day still got the loud fan noise -.-. i told them once the noise come up, i'll bring in and show them. they said ok, so i brought it in and they had their mechanics ready. i left the car there for 1 day, and they replied saying nothing wrong, just the fan sensor a bit off and think the car overheating so make the fan blow faster. !!!! then last time i change the aircon thing $800 for what? till today i still havent wrote in, planning to do so soon and get my money back. but GUESS WHAT?!?!? (no points for right answer though haha ) the stupid fan noise is STILL THERE after about 30 mins of driving, and it ROARS like an aeroplane (not exhaust noise hor haha). seriously, any of you out there ever faced this stupid problem before? I really wanna go PML and fix my car problem. If not everyday i drive around i also scared the car suddenly catch fire -.- Please help! thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 haha my mom merc had this problem too. when new the car very quiet but when a year pass the fan also become very loud . IMHO i thing most conti cars are like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 my Alfa got this too, some more got echo really like aeroplane. Mine is a 3.2 V6 was told got 2 fan blowing :p think abt it not bad leh sound fierce. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 haha my mom merc had this problem too. when new the car very quiet but when a year pass the fan also become very loud . IMHO i thing most conti cars are like that Agreed,most Conti cars fan sound like very loud...maybe you can switch off the A/C.,the fan will be quieter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 Why didn't you just replace the fan that was causing the problem? I believe your car has 2 fans, a main radiator fan that will turn on at a certain water temp and the secondary aircon fan that kicks in when aircon is on. The sound you hear is probably the bearings within one of both of the fan units that have worn out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 17, 2010 Author Share October 17, 2010 (edited) Why didn't you just replace the fan that was causing the problem? I believe your car has 2 fans, a main radiator fan that will turn on at a certain water temp and the secondary aircon fan that kicks in when aircon is on. The sound you hear is probably the bearings within one of both of the fan units that have worn out. haha yeah in carpark with echo really sound like aeroplane. i tried turning off air-con but still have the sound. so if there were to be a problem i guess it's still due to the radiator bearing? PML called me a few days ago and ask me to send in again tmr morning.. so should i just ask them to check the bearings too? Edited October 17, 2010 by Ishiwgao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 haha yeah in carpark with echo really sound like aeroplane. i tried turning off air-con but still have the sound. so if there were to be a problem i guess it's still due to the radiator bearing? PML called me a few days ago and ask me to send in again tmr morning.. so should i just ask them to check the bearings too? ya mine too, but is after driving, i swticgh off my engine is like 1 min the fan still running like nobody busniness. a few time i go pump petrol then the uncle tell me, boy , u forget off your engine! lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 Radiator fan running after engine is cut is normal. Furthermore yours is FI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 17, 2010 Author Share October 17, 2010 Radiator fan running after engine is cut is normal. Furthermore yours is FI. after i off my engine, the fan will stop after a few seconds. like how u turn off a normal standing fan la.. will slowly slowly stop. so... means not radiator fan ah oh no im getting lost and confused haha. hmm.. so this means that i shouldnt be worried about the fan noise anymore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 (edited) hello all, really need all bro's help with this. i'm really quite fed up with PML, not that i dont like their service, but i know the car and i know something is wrong but they keep saying "nothing is wrong" or "computer diagnostic is ok". zzz. here's the problem: i have a 3 yr old 320i, and when i start the car up and drive around, everything's ok. after a while, the fan or something giving a fan noise starts coming up from my engine compartment, so loud until i sit inside my car with windows close can also hear the "vheeeeeeng" sound from the fan. when u hear from outside its like an aeroplane engine noise -.- ok la not so loud, but u get the idea. it's too loud for a normal car. so here's what's next. I bring to PML for at least 5++ times liao. from before warranty over until now past a few months after warranty still havent solve the problem. first time they say radiator got fault, which makes sense since maybe engine too hot then fan need to blow faster (is it?). ok fine that was before warranty over, FOC change of whole radiator. but then when i drove back, the next day problem still there. so send back, they said dunno what's the problem. after that few days i was too busy, so had to use the car. i send again after maybe 1 month? they say computer say no problem. so i figured, they may not see the problem since the car doesnt have the problem until after a while of driving then the noise will come up, so i sent again and told them. then after a week of sitting in their workshop, they said got some problem with air-con pump and dunno what, charge me $800 cos no warranty liao. ok lor, LLST just pay cos also my fault i nvr tell them it's after a while. lagi best, the next day still got the loud fan noise -.-. i told them once the noise come up, i'll bring in and show them. they said ok, so i brought it in and they had their mechanics ready. i left the car there for 1 day, and they replied saying nothing wrong, just the fan sensor a bit off and think the car overheating so make the fan blow faster. !!!! then last time i change the aircon thing $800 for what? till today i still havent wrote in, planning to do so soon and get my money back. but GUESS WHAT?!?!? (no points for right answer though haha ) the stupid fan noise is STILL THERE after about 30 mins of driving, and it ROARS like an aeroplane (not exhaust noise hor haha). seriously, any of you out there ever faced this stupid problem before? I really wanna go PML and fix my car problem. If not everyday i drive around i also scared the car suddenly catch fire -.- Please help! thanks. Can be they lack of expertise? Can be they give excuses not to entertain warranty? Can be both? Edited October 17, 2010 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 ^^Well you can always try and determine which fan unit is the noisy one and change that one only. I don't understand the reason for changing the aircon compressor, radiator etc. which is not the cause of the sound. Sounds like carrot-head-chopping to me. However, I think the problem will come back as most BMW and MB fans I have come across operate very noisily after a while. Could be due to our hot and humid climate. Another alternative is to install an aftermarket radiator fan from maybe a Jap/Korean ride which may be more suitable for our climate. Another suggestion is to go down with a friend who knows about cars as a back-up/support to prevent the wool being pulled over your eyes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 after i off my engine, the fan will stop after a few seconds. like how u turn off a normal standing fan la.. will slowly slowly stop. so... means not radiator fan ah oh no im getting lost and confused haha. hmm.. so this means that i shouldnt be worried about the fan noise anymore? you were complaining about the loudness or the extent of the noise but i was saying that the fan can still operate even though engine cut. Cos i read a small label on the radiator block on my car that says bla bla warning fan may suddenly operate even though engine is switched off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 17, 2010 Author Share October 17, 2010 ^^Well you can always try and determine which fan unit is the noisy one and change that one only. I don't understand the reason for changing the aircon compressor, radiator etc. which is not the cause of the sound. Sounds like carrot-head-chopping to me. However, I think the problem will come back as most BMW and MB fans I have come across operate very noisily after a while. Could be due to our hot and humid climate. Another alternative is to install an aftermarket radiator fan from maybe a Jap/Korean ride which may be more suitable for our climate. Another suggestion is to go down with a friend who knows about cars as a back-up/support to prevent the wool being pulled over your eyes. i dont think it's the air-con fan as i said i tried to off but no use. and YES i dont find a need for the air-con compressor. after thinking i really think kena =( hmm.. so my best bet now would be to change the radiator fan to jap fan? i have no friends who know SO MUCH about cars that they can see if ppl there trying to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 17, 2010 Author Share October 17, 2010 you were complaining about the loudness or the extent of the noise but i was saying that the fan can still operate even though engine cut. Cos i read a small label on the radiator block on my car that says bla bla warning fan may suddenly operate even though engine is switched off. oh ya la. haha i wasnt trying to imply anything la. sorry sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx2010 Neutral Newbie October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 AFAIK, some BMW cars have 2 sets of fan. 1 which is either electric engine driven which is used to cool the radiaotr. Another set is turn on when radiator gets too hot or when ac is on. My previous E36 and E39 fans are very loud when running at full speed too. However, they should not be running 100% all the time. If the fan noise is continous even when you are on highway, you should bring it to WS for a check. It may be overheating or fanswitch is not working properly (once it triggers the fan to on, it doesn't off it anymore). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 17, 2010 Author Share October 17, 2010 (edited) AFAIK, some BMW cars have 2 sets of fan. 1 which is either electric engine driven which is used to cool the radiaotr. Another set is turn on when radiator gets too hot or when ac is on. My previous E36 and E39 fans are very loud when running at full speed too. However, they should not be running 100% all the time. If the fan noise is continous even when you are on highway, you should bring it to WS for a check. It may be overheating or fanswitch is not working properly (once it triggers the fan to on, it doesn't off it anymore). i highly doubt it's overheating? cos bring there so many times they say no problem. it may be fan switch, but like i posted in the first post, they say got some switch or some sensor got prob so they reset it, dunno if it's that. will go check with them tmr. and. welcome back to forums! Edited October 17, 2010 by Ishiwgao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 ya mine too, but is after driving, i swticgh off my engine is like 1 min the fan still running like nobody busniness. a few time i go pump petrol then the uncle tell me, boy , u forget off your engine! lol This is a programmed cooling sequence... But it should not kick in unless you have been driving hard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear October 17, 2010 Author Share October 17, 2010 This is a programmed cooling sequence... But it should not kick in unless you have been driving hard. this isnt related to me right? as in my problem ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...