Beyondaction Neutral Newbie October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 you gotta drive an alfa at least once in your life. Hi there, totally agree!!! I'm driving a 156 JTS now. Loving every sec of my drive in it. Went holiday and drove a ford for 2 weeks. Come back and drive Alfa again is damn shiok!!! (FYI, I drove a 3500 cc Ford Falcon during holiday). Nothing beats the feel of driving an Alfa as you accelerate from 0 to 100 with low rev over 5000 rpm!! So, I would strongly recommend 156 for those who is budget constrainted. Thinking of 159 next, but not sure if the driving feel is still the same. Cheers!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 Just get those EG/EK for coe cars if you are looking for performance and does not have a wide budget. Their parts are quite common despite needing to visit the WS many times. Thats provided if you got the time of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 there are always three arrows just before a traffic light white line. if, by the third arrow (the one furthest from the white line), the lights don't turn amber, you will be safe to clear the junction. Else, (if lights turn amber before you reach the third arrow), you definitely need to stop. Yup. This always works even with a very slow car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leezld 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 Hey, Mazda 2 hatchback..nippy speeds and sporty design..my personal recommendation! Lup on some 16 inch advanti rims with CF bonnet and you have ur very own budget sports car :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 If you have seen most cars, take left field and go to Skoda. The new ocatavia with TSI might suit your need. Main concern is resale value. It comes from the same stable from VW (drives the same, same engine, interior etc) which is a good (solid built, conti feel, TSI engine, DSG) / bad (reliability, badge engineering) thing depending on your angle. Alternatively, but forsaking brand and ADs, you can get a better performance car for the same price range. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 If you have seen most cars, take left field and go to Skoda. The new ocatavia with TSI might suit your need. Main concern is resale value. It comes from the same stable from VW (drives the same, same engine, interior etc) which is a good (solid built, conti feel, TSI engine, DSG) / bad (reliability, badge engineering) thing depending on your angle. Alternatively, but forsaking brand and ADs, you can get a better performance car for the same price range. skoda is ok just that if you want more atas ride then go VW. but with TSI you can always MTM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 skoda is ok just that if you want more atas ride then go VW. but with TSI you can always MTM From TS opening thread, VW is over his budget. btw, wat is MTM?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 Ignis sport Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 Hi all, Need recommendation for cars that suit these requirements: 1. Four doors, five seats 2. auto/manual also can 3. 2nd hand ok 4. depreciation < $6000/year 5. no made in China 6. COE cars can consider 7. Would prefer a more sporty ride: e.g. very important factor is 0-100 time. but i don't care about top speed. 8. Preferably a flat rear floor So far seems like only Lancer GLX Sport can make the list except for flat rear floor. Any others? Thanks in advance! Other suggestions given: Suzuki Swift Sports Subaru WRX (insurance may kill) Mazda 2 Alfa 156 (slightly out of budget) Alfa 159 (a lot out of budget) try Peugeot or renault... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 try Peugeot or renault... Do not wish upon others what you do not wish upon yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 Do not wish upon others what you do not wish upon yourself. these car got problems? I looking one for my dad for weekly marketing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 these car got problems? I looking one for my dad for weekly marketing. Not too sure but you come across as a Bimmer guy. Personally, I would stay away from P, R & C from what I percieve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 (edited) Not too sure but you come across as a Bimmer guy. Personally, I would stay away from P, R & C from what I percieve. yes... I like bmw.. but sometimes I dont mind frenchies. Hmm.... I heard good things about Megane.. and my bro drive the Peugeot 307. Apparently they are not too bad. Given if the dep is the same or even lower, I take the Megane due to percieved safety reason compared to say a Swift. Sometimes my kids will take a ride in grandpa car so better get a mini tank.... My priorities: 1. safety 2. space 3. maintenance 4. FC Edited October 29, 2010 by Voxy28 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 yes... I like bmw.. but sometimes I dont mind frenchies. Hmm.... I heard good things about Megane.. and my bro drive the Peugeot 307. Apparently they are not too bad. Given if the dep is the same or even lower, I take the Megane due to percieved safety reason compared to say a Swift. Sometimes my kids will take a ride in grandpa car so better get a mini tank.... I see where you are coming from and you got a point. I still have my my reservations on Peugeot. But in that bracket, I'll go Jap or Skoda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 I see where you are coming from and you got a point. I still have my my reservations on Peugeot. But in that bracket, I'll go Jap or Skoda. VW Polo 5 yr old about dep 5k.... http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...523&DL=1293 I go check it out... still prefer German... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akazhun Neutral Newbie October 29, 2010 Author Share October 29, 2010 Just get those EG/EK for coe cars if you are looking for performance and does not have a wide budget. Their parts are quite common despite needing to visit the WS many times. Thats provided if you got the time of course. i thought of those before. but then i don't have time to keep visiting workshop. spare parts shouldn't be a problem though since so many on the road. so i need something reliable, hopefully visit workshop only twice a year for servicing can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akazhun Neutral Newbie October 29, 2010 Author Share October 29, 2010 Hey, Mazda 2 hatchback..nippy speeds and sporty design..my personal recommendation! Lup on some 16 inch advanti rims with CF bonnet and you have ur very own budget sports car :P i like the new Mazda2 hatchback too! green color very chio! as for modding, let's just say from my experience in modding, stock is best. modding is too time and $ consuming. especially custom made parts! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akazhun Neutral Newbie October 29, 2010 Author Share October 29, 2010 Ignis sport don't really like the looks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...