Odometer changed.

Rastaman01

now make me scare to consider buying a 2nd hand car liao... i tink even sometimes buy direct from owners, they may noe of ws to help them tweak oso...

-.-

Buy bmw lor, more difficult to temper but still can be done.

buy 2nd hand with warranty also ok..... else send to workshop specialising on the car for checks.

Edited by Voxy28

my 2 Cents advice for 2nd hand buyer.

If you are buying car from second hand dealer that is showing about 50k-80k mileage , think the safest thing is to changed your timing belt and water pump. Also change transmission fluid. Would be very safe. Cos if timing belt snap... then bye bye to your engine. If transmission fluid is not changed , Then you will have trouble ... you wont know if they have dilute it and make it look lighter colour.

Btw, wat i notice in sgcarmart... all the car seems like wont hit 100k but all my frens and me drive 3 years easily hit 90k..... thats will i find it hard to believe.

Maybe for different cars its different. but for my wrx which I bought brand new, after driving for few years, I swapped the whole instrument console for a 2nd hand optitron type. The mileage is diff from what is read from the OBD. So I think the ECU does record

Subaru's different. The ECU will record the mileage. Most of the other Jap cars can do a simple reflash, the Odo and ECu reading will change accordingly.

Jul 2008 Altis is the pre-facelift version? How come so fast shock adsorber kaput? Mine they change the battery for me during servicing for free.

2008 facelift version , ya ... i also wander why kaput so fast ..... that why i think odm is changed ... :angry:

funny thing is tyre also change at 39K .... with AD [:(]

the mech at AD sometime just don't bother .... i complained brake spongy and the next thing they do is call and said need to change front brake pad .... so LL change ... when i saw the old brake pad ..#$%#$%%$^ ..... still way to go before changing ... then i complain how come after changing still the same ... their reply ..... altis brake is like that one !!!! and that i need to pay !!!

mk

Edited by Mksoo

Hi guys,

With the new law coming on for consumer rights, I hopemore people will take on these car dealers. Best is to report to police for fraud and let them kenna criminal charges. hee hee.

Hi guys,

With the new law coming on for consumer rights, I hopemore people will take on these car dealers. Best is to report to police for fraud and let them kenna criminal charges. hee hee.

Really took donkey years for this law to come in place. But we are not lawyers, who knows there are some loopholes that they can wiggle out.

just some sharing... my fren sold his getz for $11k... and sold by dealer for $21k plus. Mileage was not adjusted cos his was low. but given a dealer to earn $10k just to buy n sell off... is a huge profit. some more buy around scrap value. want to not earn also very hard...

some more if they dont adjust mileage , we will buy anot... example year 05 jazz with 165000 mileage. compare with same year and adjusted to 70000.

but with their huge profit, they can provide a super $2-3k major servicing will be more fair to us.

just some sharing... my fren sold his getz for $11k... and sold by dealer for $21k plus. Mileage was not adjusted cos his was low. but given a dealer to earn $10k just to buy n sell off... is a huge profit. some more buy around scrap value. want to not earn also very hard...

some more if they dont adjust mileage , we will buy anot... example year 05 jazz with 165000 mileage. compare with same year and adjusted to 70000.

but with their huge profit, they can provide a super $2-3k major servicing will be more fair to us.

That is why I only deal with a friend... his cars no adjust one even for other people. The only thing he does is to make it look newer and repair the car if required.

Alternative buy from PPSL or Republic Auto... bec they take in low mileage car anyway. The other one is BW... but all 3 sells mainly premium cars.

IMHO, money is better spent in assessing the condition of the engine and car as a whole rather than the mileage chalked up. A lot of factors, high mileage could meant that the previous owner did a lot of highway driving, eg Malaysia rather than stop go as in Singapore. Wear and tear are higher in stop go than continous driving. I know of a colleague who shifts his car every 2 hours to keep his ride in the shade. Could not imagine the wear and tear from starting a cold engine. The mileage also could be a doctor or tai tai moving from place to place making housecalls or playing mahjong. There is nothing new in car dealers adjusting the mileage to squeeze out a few more bucks from buyers.

agreed. A well maintained high mileage car, with oil change & servicing etc every 5000 km, overhaul etc, engine may actually be in better condition than a car that is low mileage but nvr chg oil, nvr maintain etc.

Kind of like those car ads that state 'lady owner'. Personally I would not buy from a lady owner, as from my experience, the only time they send the car to the workshop is when it breaks down....hahahah....would rather buy from an enthusiast, at least chances are they would have taken care of the car.

Subaru's different. The ECU will record the mileage. Most of the other Jap cars can do a simple reflash, the Odo and ECu reading will change accordingly.

so lesson 1 : Buy Subaru....at least can check the real mileage :D

agreed. A well maintained high mileage car, with oil change & servicing etc every 5000 km, overhaul etc, engine may actually be in better condition than a car that is low mileage but nvr chg oil, nvr maintain etc.

Kind of like those car ads that state 'lady owner'. Personally I would not buy from a lady owner, as from my experience, the only time they send the car to the workshop is when it breaks down....hahahah....would rather buy from an enthusiast, at least chances are they would have taken care of the car.

thats a good one... never buy from a "lady owner". no to offend any lady. but quite true :P

I think quite true. One of my mom's friend car broke down. Then cannot start again so call tow truck send to the workshop. The workshop told her cannot start because too little engine oil or smth like that and thats why cannot start. Then my mom's friend started saying that she had just top up the petrol why so fast no more. She don't even know the car need to send for servicing.

bought my used car (2008 july Altis) in Oct 2010, dealer said under AD warrantly and ask me to call ..... then AD said i'm not the car owner ... cannot reveal .... ...

till i get the car .. AD reveal ... last service done at 39K 6 months ago .... 6 month later ... odm read 42K ..... [:(]

well ... if based on 39k for 21 month ... after 6 month in normal usage .. should be ard 50K .. but will anyone changed the reading for just 8k ????

but anyway ... since under AD warrantly ... i send it back to AD for servicing ...(also cheapskate .... i complain here noise there noise and hope they change some parts .... in the end only change rear shock absorber) .. tell me battery will die anytime but cannot change for me cos reading is ok ... :wacko:

like you guy mentioned .. AD no personal touch .... u ask they reply ... else they just go thru normal procedure

mk

I be straightforward. Firstly, you are under the assumption that the car is being driven all the way till the day it is sold and handed over to you.

For all you know, it might have been parked at the dealer's lot for a few months. Altis isn't exactly the hottest car around considering that there are about 988,492,762 of it in the market.

Secondly, the bolded phrase already shows the kind of mentality that you have. Just because you throw a few bucks to them doesn't mean that they will bend over for you. Price is what you pay, value is what you get, and yada and yada,..

Some cars are stuck at dealer's lot for over a year or more. It becomes permanently transferred after 1 year. Some cars are sold even before entering the lot.

I've seen cars that clock 30+K over 5 years, also cars that clock over 200+K over 3 years (an Airwave).

IMO, willing sellers/willing buyers... it is a fair deal.... that what the car dealers live on. Everyone must make a living.

if its a fair deal ...willing buyer wont believe car dealer.... there will be once and not again... everyone making a living but not thru a dishonest way....

where got 80% of the resale car market all owned by lady.

got my kia cerato for 1 year just realised my odometer tampered with. 3 year old when i got it, it was roughly 29k mileage. now felt engine very shakey when to check with a few workshop, they say engine mounting need to change, most likely mileage is 80k at least.. felt so cheated..