Nitekid Neutral Newbie November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 It may not be their only car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 If the owner has another car which he is using for his daily commuting, and the Porsche Cayman is only for fun driving during off peak periods, I think it makes perfect sense to register it as a red plate. 17k might not be a huge amount to him, but it's still saving. yeah lor.... $17k can buy a brand new AP offshore diver or brand new IWC Big Pilot antoine de st exupery Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 maybe the owner does not even needs to work... juz get a fun car and drive during off-peak hrs... normally rich man/business man can dun go office so often mah... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 People like to think that the mega rich spend money carelessly. I'll like to say it's often the opposite However, their money are often spent wastefully by their children Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 (edited) I own 2 normal (black plate cars) for daily use. I just bought an OPC for weekend-only use - marketing & grocery shopping and for my children's use. I may buy yet another OPC sports car or cabriolet for weekend recreation. For each OPC that I buy, I save $17K, plus a heavily-discounted road tax. So why pay more to LTA, when I won't even use these cars on weekdays? My spouse and I already got 2 German marques for weekdays / daily office commute. Edited November 2, 2010 by Jolie888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 C-class AMG si bo?? only use for F1 as safety car C63 AMG only use as medical car lah but mine also not AMG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 I own 2 normal (black plate cars) for daily use. I just bought an OPC for weekend-only use - marketing & grocery shopping and for my children's use. I may buy yet another OPC sports car or cabriolet for weekend recreation. For each OPC that I buy, I save $17K, plus a heavily-discounted road tax. So why pay more to LTA, when I won't even use these cars on weekdays? My spouse and I already got 2 German marques for weekdays / daily office commute. Hao Lian... I hope Garment slap high Carbon Print Tax on you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richardlimbs Clutched November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 I own 2 normal (black plate cars) for daily use. I just bought an OPC for weekend-only use - marketing & grocery shopping and for my children's use. I may buy yet another OPC sports car or cabriolet for weekend recreation. For each OPC that I buy, I save $17K, plus a heavily-discounted road tax. So why pay more to LTA, when I won't even use these cars on weekdays? My spouse and I already got 2 German marques for weekdays / daily office commute. Lots of rich folks in this forum~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Now now, dear man, control your anger....no man is created equal, no human perfect, but most women have big mouths. Hao Lian... I hope Garment slap high Carbon Print Tax on you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Chicken and egg thing. These people may be rich precisely because they are very careful with their money to begin with. No money but lead a lifestyle like you got lots, then you will never actually have lots of money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Some only in the ...........Virtual sense....... Lots of rich folks in this forum~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Salmon 1st Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 (edited) Guess most of the post here have covered the possible scenarios. Just like my neighbour, staying in a 5 room flat and driving a brand new Mercedes S350. Initially my thought was, wah the price of the car is almost equivalent to his house. Why spent so much? Might as well spend on property. After much thought, perhaps he already own a few private properties... Edited November 2, 2010 by Salmon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 such case is usually 2nd or 3rd car, and/or the car owner is car collector or enthusiast. all the basic transport needs fulfilled by the 1st or 2nd car. this car is to satisfy his thrill for a high performance car which he takes out for a spin occaisonally say on sunday or night time. since the car is used sparingly and at times he can choose not to incur ERP, he thought why not save another 17k by having it red plate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Guess most of the post here have covered the possible scenarios. Just like my neighbour, staying in a 5 room flat and driving a brand new Mercedes S350. Initially my thought was, wah the price of the car is almost equivalent to his house. Why spent so much? Might as well spend on property. After much thought, perhaps he already own a few private properties... for business man, hard to say.. sometimes they have to buy nice car and present a good image to show they have money so that people will do business with them. dressing well, driving a presentable car, etc all these are very important... because must remember nobody is going to pay you a salary and nobody owes you a living even if you are poor. very different than when you're an employee in a big company. from young age i already learned from my indonesian friend that in indonesia, if you do business, you can never show that you are poor even if you are bankrupt. otherwise all your business partners and customers run far far away. it is not much different in singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 for business man, hard to say.. sometimes they have to buy nice car and present a good image to show they have money so that people will do business with them. dressing well, driving a presentable car, etc all these are very important... because must remember nobody is going to pay you a salary and nobody owes you a living even if you are poor. very different than when you're an employee in a big company. from young age i already learned from my indonesian friend that in indonesia, if you do business, you can never show that you are poor even if you are bankrupt. otherwise all your business partners and customers run far far away. it is not much different in singapore. yeah, but if salesman leh? should they also drive a 'good enuf' car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 yeah, but if salesman leh? should they also drive a 'good enuf' car? boss, depends on what they are selling.... i think you give your salesmen a white colour volvo V70 hearse each right? good boss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 boss, depends on what they are selling.... i think you give your salesmen a white colour volvo V70 hearse each right? good boss Well, instantly can collect the merchandise nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 YOU have always been a "rearend" sales man, thus explaining your "Caymen" caveman. yeah, but if salesman leh? should they also drive a 'good enuf' car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...