Getting a first car, need advices

Helpmeplz

Need some advice from you guys here.

I went to a dealer to see a car I am interested in. Car is about 3.5 yrs old and mileage is abt 65k. Everything went well and I even tested the car, which was quite ok.

Called up the servicing center and they told me that the owner did not return for servicing after 21k. So the servicing docs are missing for 30k onwards.

The dealer told me as long as the STA or AAS evaluation passed, its not a problem.

What you guys think? Other than sending the car for evaluation (which I will do of course), is there any other way to check if the car is properly maintained?

TIA!

I went to a dealer to see a car I am interested in. Car is about 3.5 yrs old and mileage is abt 65k. Everything went well and I even tested the car, which was quite ok.

Called up the servicing center and they told me that the owner did not return for servicing after 21k. So the servicing docs are missing for 30k onwards.

The dealer told me as long as the STA or AAS evaluation passed, its not a problem.

What you guys think? Other than sending the car for evaluation (which I will do of course), is there any other way to check if the car is properly maintained?

TIA!

only 1 owner? when was the 21k as in which date? if same owner, mayb u can try to determine reasonableness of 65k mileage. and i would send to a trusted mechanic, STA/AAS report is secondary ^_^

TIA!

dun go STA...

go AAS

preferably go trusted mechanic

only 1 owner? when was the 21k as in which date? if same owner, mayb u can try to determine reasonableness of 65k mileage. and i would send to a trusted mechanic, STA/AAS report is secondary ^_^

Ya, 1 owner, but the car is sold through a dealer. The problem is that I am a 1st time car buyer, so I dont know any mechanics...

Btw, thanks for all the replies.

Ya, 1 owner, but the car is sold through a dealer. The problem is that I am a 1st time car buyer, so I dont know any mechanics...

Btw, thanks for all the replies.

when was the 21k servicing done based on the agent records? u can agar if the mileage seems reasonable.

u wan to use my mechanic? old school uncle at the shell station before Newton circus..good with jap cars but a fren of mine also let him take a look at a 23yo E30 before he purchased.

Done is early 09. The mileage is not consistent at all.

1st 2 years only 21k. Next 1.5 yrs additional 40k.

PM me his contact ok?

Thanks!!

Any servicing that need to be done to slightly increase FC? anyone can share?

You bought the 1yo Latio or the 4yo?

If 1yo, may consider NPMP from TCM for hassle free and fixed cost.

You might want to join the Latio Club for more tips and lobang.

Edited by Ben5266

Done is early 09. The mileage is not consistent at all.

1st 2 years only 21k. Next 1.5 yrs additional 40k.

PM me his contact ok?

Thanks!!

look for ah Kee 6256 1512 - the shell station before Newton Circus.

but u mus drive the car down..i dont thk he makes doctor visits. good luck!

no need to support parents win half the battle liao... the money saved can be used to finance a regular sedan

u must thank your parents and pay it forward to your kids..

ya, agree with ur statement....when i started working at 25 after uni, 50% of my take-home pay went to my parents....wasn't too bad when single w/o gf....but when start to go on dates, quite tight.

Guys, i a 1st time buyer and also looking for a 2nd hand car. Particularly Suzuki Swift 1.5L.. If there anything that I should take note of when dealing with dealers or direct buyers? When quoted by the dealer let's say 50k for the car, does it means OTR alrdy (inclusive of insurance, road tax, transfer fees and such)?

Which are the dealers to lookout for and which are the ones to be avoided at all cost? :D

Guys, i a 1st time buyer and also looking for a 2nd hand car. Particularly Suzuki Swift 1.5L.. If there anything that I should take note of when dealing with dealers or direct buyers? When quoted by the dealer let's say 50k for the car, does it means OTR alrdy (inclusive of insurance, road tax, transfer fees and such)?

Which are the dealers to lookout for and which are the ones to be avoided at all cost? :D

ins and transfer fees not included...rest shld be in.

Hi bros out there, have been riding for the last 5 years, and finally planning to get a 4 wheeler.

I hope with ur experience and suggestion, i will be making a fast and a wiser decision.

I have been scouting in the mart online for the pass few weeks, and was very tempt to get a close to 4 years old Latio Sports.

Price Tag was around 40k. I worked out the maths and realise i will be paying about $460 monthly if i were to downpayment 10k. OMV was about 16k.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Then there after i when to the auto mart at ubi.. saw a couple of latio sports, 2009 model, price tag around 55k. OMV 18k

Worked out the maths again with 10k downpayment and 8.5 years loan, monthly approx $510.

Difference of 50 bucks monthly, and can drive 3 years more.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I also got fren who advices me not to put any downpayment. But I was thinking if i have got 0 downpayment, monthly will be quite xiong for me.

So to down or not to down??

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I believe these are some of the questions that are not only bugging me, but to those newbies who are interested in getting a ride in this COE insane period.

Ur opinion is appreciated!

Hope fellow forumer can help, and give me some guidance.

Just buy lah.... so many rubbish comments.

Even if you loan with 40k, the sums adds up with a few k more. Given the zero interest rate environment, it doesnt matter as monetary value keeps dropping. I put zero down and all my cash into stocks... [laugh]